Sickle Cell Disease in Kenya ( Selimundu)

[ATTACH=full]303947[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]303948[/ATTACH]

There’s a very thorough documentary on sickle cell pale kwa tv. Wanasema it’s prevalent in malaria prone areas.

When a person’s body fight malaria their bodies create sickle cells. @Arnono recently talked about gene editing… there is very advanced research going on to eradicate such conditions as sickle cell via genome editing. Even covid research is being conducted via genome editing.

You don’t get sickle cell from Malaria. It’s a genetic condition you’re born with just like albinism. If both your parents are carriers of the trait you get the disease.

The reason it’s prevalent in malaria prone areas is because (back in the day) sickle cell trait provides some protection from malaria. So non- carriers die of malaria and carriers increase as a % of population.

Wacha ujuaji! Wamesema vizuri it was a mutation that developed over time to cope with the Malaria disease.

I disagree with that theory. If that was the case malaria endemic places and scc maps would overlap. THEY DON’T.

It’s an interesting finding.
Perhaps there is some truth when hyothesized that sickle cell may have come about as the body’s means of dealing with a malaria prone environment. Given that 80% of the sickle cell patients are from the lake region(western and nyanza)
It is the same case with West Africa/DRC where the population has been observed to develop antibodies to ebola.

Is it not the same thing, mutation happens and malaria selects and kills the susceptible increasing the proportion of SCA.

But what would trigger the mutation in the first place if not the urge for the body to defend itself?

What you are talking about is not mutation is something else, the word mutation is defined as spontaneous change in genetic make up. Just a random change caused by chemicals or radiation only that in very rare situation it is beneficial.

Badala ya tubishane bure, tafuta hii documentary uskize real professors and researchers and not you fake UoN guys … akina ‘Doctor’ William Ruto.

Also Google the word CRISPR.

Ndugu hatubishani. You got it backwards, is all.

CRISPR technology does not cause mutation it is used to deliberately knock out genes, that is genetic engineering. You only use radiation or chemicals like colcichine to cause mutation and even then you do not control the type of mutation and where it occurs in genome. So you see what you are describing is genetic engineering to have caused SCA

Sickle cell was a mutation developed by Africans and Asians to fight malaria. And they developed this immunity over many centuries.

Today scientists want to re-engineer the sickle cells in the sufferers of this disease by editing the DNA section of the string that leads to this condition.

That documentary explains it very well and in a precise manner by the actual fellows who discovered CRISPR na sio nyinyi.

That doesnt make any sense. A sickler is more likely to die of malaria than a non sickler. So luos in western having the largest percentage of sickle cell doesnt add up. I’d imagine being a malaria endemic zone, most sicklers in western kenya would be dying of malaria hence there’d be fewer sicklers in those areas. Somebody breakdown this mindfuck

In layman terms from what I understood, @Mjuaji called it a trait which is true, it is like having part of the condition in your genes. In other words you are not fully sick with sickle cell but you unknowingly carry the trait. And with this trait your body is capable of fending off malaria.

If you marry a lady who also has a trait your child gets the full dose and is likely to develop the full disease. (This is an explanation in purely in layman terms.)

Half plus half gives you full dose! :smiley:

You the parents aren’t sick but you have this kamdudu in your blood which helps you fight malaria. But if you mate you’ll produce a very sick baby with a very short lifespan. A terrible disease whereby you can’t oxygenate your body because the red blood cells can’t pass through the vessels.

In Africa you might live to the age of 8 if untreated. In the west if you are lucky maybe 50 years before you body finally gives out to the misery.

Now with genome editing they can delete that trait entirely from a sick child.

Highly advanced yet very scary science. You can even cure stupidity with genome editing. :D:D:D

Now the problem is that no one knows the long term effects of gene editing.

In France in 2000 they tried to edit small babies who were suffering from sickle cell and other maladies but they fucked up and gave them cancer instead. So you have to be very exact about which string you are deleting in the DNA. CRISPR is the wizardry used to do the deleting. It is copied from microbes.