The idea of a democratic system in Africa is a foreign concept that was not meant to be. Whatever freedoms we believe to have is an illusion of control by other bigger similar governments that chain you through systems of aid reliance, debt and the threat of annihilation.
The dream our forefathers were chasing is not the reality that is on the ground. The volatility of such systems have made African governments vulnerable, its people have been induced in western illusions and demagogue in achieving vaulted dreams.
If we look at history we can witness that Monarchies were the essential glue that helped empires and kingdoms grow. And even today they’re monarchies that exist and are helpful to society in many ways.
So my question to you today Ktalkers should African countries ditch democracies and go back to Kings and Queens?
Wewe Leo ndio umepewa talking points ya dynasties.
No monarchs, no rulers, if you want to rule zoea watu. Learn how to talk to people, meet them, listen to them and build your campaign centred on what they want done for them at the grassroots. Hapo ndio tumefika in Kenya politics.
And who will be this Royal family to produce the Kings. I can only accept it if you designate me as the Royal family in charge of producing the kings and queens
:D:D:D:D:D… If you entertain the idea of monarchies then you are a dimwit… Monarchies, based on history, were built by blood sio siku moja mnaamua ati so and so is now our king… Even Caesar was unable to establish a monarchy in ancient Rome.
There’s a reason why most African societies were ruled by a council of elders and not kings. Sisi sio wazungu. The African tribes that had kingdoms were small and all were characterized by inter-clan conflicts on succession matters.
Stop being ignorant about your own history… Go back and research on better governance models, stop romanticizing monarchies
I mean how are kings chosen? They must be anointed by a saint or religious leader, or given the political approval through the ruling class which gives them divinity to rule over the people.
If we’re talking about Kenya then it won’t be the Kenyatta family… For such a decision it must be a unanimous decision made by a council of elders from each tribe. They’d be laws in place to ensure that every part of the nation gets fair development etc. And they’d still be a Senate who will oversee the Kingdoms development.
The idea of a Monarchy is not dimwit they’re still in alive and well today, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the rest in the Middle East, Emperor of Japan, Queen of England, the remaining Royal Families still alive in Europe, King of Morroco, The remaining king of Buganda, King of Eswatini, etc. These Monarchs by not have many state powers(except the middle east and UK and Europe) but they still hold a lot of clout behind the scenes and power in those upper-class societies.
Every government is built on bloodshed that is human nature.
And you think kings and queens can’t talk to people or address grassroots issues?
Kenyan politics is skewed against the people if I had 1 billion dollars I’d have paupers and peasants shouting my name day and night in all village hamlets. What i’m saying is Kenyan politics is all about who has money.
It says a lot that currently the only monarch that is even tolerated or liked has no state power. They are just ceremonial. Yes they are very aloof and boring. Humans can’t have someone lord over them for life. They had God himself walking this streets but he was told no, leave and let us pick one of our own. The best form of national leadership is short term. Do your part and handover to the next person.
This is one really naive post. Reread history. Most great nations of the world advanced when they got rid of their monarchs. The Americans, the French, the Russians, the Chinese, the Brazilians etc.
African monarchies have been by and large, complete failures. Very few protected their people against colonialism and most have ended violently. Egypt’s Mamelukes ended up losing Sudan and supremacy over the Suez Canal, Rwanda and Burundi monarchies generated the chaos that is seen today. Haile Selassie and Menelik’s blundering cost his nation a seaport.
Eswatini is nothing more than a HIV ridden shithole. Bugandan delusions of supremacy ended up with Idi Amin ruling the country.
Monarchies are a retarded form of government. They ignore the reality that everyone is human and no one is special. The few countries that retain monarchies today are entirely democratic. The exceptions that aren’t are vicious dictatorships that need to either rely on massive natural resources or start wars to keep their oppressed peoples away from chopping their kings&queens heads off.
So you’re here quoting ceremonial monarchies to justify your argument… Ama your proposed Kenyan monarchy will be functional with a God-chosen king who will guide us into prosperity
Even the greatest monarchy, the British one, has been reduced to a tourist attraction and being among the largest land owners in the UK… WIthin the next 50 years they’ll be kaput.
:D:D:D… Ati we establish a monarchy in Kenya in the 21st Century, @MortyTuumbo this is as oblivious and retarded as it gets… This is how a nation regresses never to be spoken off ever again
The British Monarchy like all European Monarchies and Aristocracy project there soft power globally. Just look at all the plebs who were glued to there Tv screens globally talking about the Royal weddings.
What’s retarded is people went out to vote. And already screaming for a revolution and coups. 2 years later.
All I wanted was a serious discussion not insouciant ramblings of fools.
I was giving examples of monarchies still around. There’s 3 countries in Africa at the moment with monarchies. One is a constitutional and the other 2 are absolute.
My entire argument is should African countries go back to there old ways? Before the British/French Empire destroyed them.
Actually, the British monarch holds a lot of power, it is just that the monarchy chooses to exercise those powers through a Prime Minister.Should she or he choose to take back those powers(and they have in the Past.Think Elizabeth 1. Considered one of the most powerful monarch Britain ever had)
Africans moved away from the Congo because of the Congo empire and decided to live in small villages with their own chieftains. It means monarchs are not for us. Based on our history it is better to have well funded community level governments.
Africans were not purely monarchical. In advanced african societies, such as that in the land between river Thuchi and Timau to the east of Mount kirinyaga, in other words, Miiru, there were no kings and queens, there existed a central committee that ruled people. In Miiru, clans, which consist of people sharing family ties through male lineage, have their own council/committee. at each level there is a committee so that even subtribes have a committee. there is then an overarching central politburo of representatives from all subtribes, and this is called the Lean Council(Njuri Ncheke).
The system illustrated above was better than the king of england and his monarchical system. the white people were actually unable to crack it because all land was owned by the councils. The evidence of the miiru conquest of the invading Royal British army is lack of a history of colonial settlement in miiru. Despite meru having more rainfall and being warmer than the leeward side of mount kenya which is nyeri, and being more fertile than anywhere else in kenya for coffee farming, there were no white settlers. The miiru also beat them jungus at the governance debate and there existed no king to bribe. the miiru actually expelled the queen and his band of thugs when they decided to send white administrators to towns rising in the land of miiru. the first mordern tar-macadam inroad the Lean Council of Miiru allowed into their land was in the 1980s.
The Kikuyu neighbours got a proper beating because they lacked any known form of government or organisation to this day. they relied on ragtag armies and bands of militias to resist and the white man just did the divide and rule approach on them. the most supreme form of organization known among the kikuyu today is mungiki and maumau. thats how these kenyan brothers fell to the settler.
Now the kalenjins put up a resistance, but it was their royal man against british royal man. to this day they havent gotten all their land back. if you want to see the evidence, its the plantations between kericho and kisii.
No need to talk about the maasai because they were sold by that king of theirs when he was bribed with cowrie shells jungus collected at the coast. they have never gotten organized again.
kambas tried all kinds of witchcraft against the train but too bad it didnt work.
luos were sold by their ruoths for a few zebu calves and dried fish.
luyhas hatuongei. ati muzee aliwauza vile alipewa thermos bwaku anaitwa aje? mumia? remind me priss.
This is the true history of our peoples. kujeni munipige mawe sasa wenye mnapinga.