Secondly,
Here is the unfortunate (as always) changamwe refinery tale.
Changamwe ilikuliwa na cartels but was not exactly making losses, having been built in the 1960s, it was old and the equipment needed upgrades to process modern crude oil better.
But new equipment needs a lot of money na cartels washakula pesa, so it became ineffecient at processing over time, and at times certain fuel would be contaminated by other fuel types during refining, which is not a good thing.
From here it started making losses and then it became economically unviable to operate it and cheaper to just import better quality fuel from more modern refineries.
So ikafungwa.
Onefools diagnosis of the refinery’s cause of death: Mkenya lazima aibe.
As for the Turkana oil, I have no idea what’s going on there, but I am sure about two things.
- Kuna wizi tu inaendelea mahali.
- We need a refinery and working pipelines to benefit locally, which hatuna.
Our oil is the waxy type. How many refineries in the world can handle it? And yes, it is not in the commercial amounts, otherwise yuess wangekua wanaitaka. Why would they come for yours yet they can just knock next door in South America hapo Venezuela and get what they want?
Kibaki ndio alifunga hio refinery, which of course, didn’t have the capacity to refine our own oil.
Could not handle unleaded fuel. Needed serious overhaul
Great Bwana @Ndindu , these are the discussions we expect the nincompoops in cabinet to be spending sleepless nights over!
- We have oil in Turkana, how can it benefit us? Can we use it to make tar for the roads and other petro-chemicals?
- Uganda, South Sudan are our neigbours and have oil, can we collaborate and refine it locally and benefit from the proximity? Budget is about US$ 15 billion for a 300k bpd refinery (Oil Refinery Cost Range and Pricing Guide 2026 – Well Built Florida)
- Egypt, Nigeria and Angola have oil, how can we get it from there to avoid these Middle East shenanigans?
- Why don’t we have oil reserves to cushion us for at least a year?
- There should also be a push towards electric, solar and other renewable energy sources as we reduce dependency on oil!
In turkana their setup is not designed to handle unleaded petrol..teir infrastructure storage tanks, pipelines, trucking systems is designed for crude oil which is very different from refined fuels like unleaded petrol
SHIORT ANSWER NI, HATUNA RUHUSA KWA SASA. WE CUNT EVEN MINE OUR COAL NDIO TUSICHAFUE HEWA YET SODOM STILL USES COAL TO PRODUCE ELECTRICITY
Its about short term 5 year election cycle thinking - the Kshs 150 billion used for Talanta Stadium can set up the clean coal mining! We do not want to put in the work. We do not want to prioritise!
The big question is, Why is the setup like that? Must it remain like that?
Thread iko sawa
Learning something.
Apparently, the decision was made because it was cheaper to import already refined crude oil from the gulf countries.. such as Dubai (where G2G applies). This makes sense in the short-term (months-long), but is quite poor in the long-term.
Now we have the strait of hormuz multiplier effect, with the Americans looking unlikely to let go of certain aspects of their military equipment.
Socialism sucks.
Definitely since it was designed specifically for upstream production that means gettin crude oil out of the ground and transporting it but not distributing finished fuels
setting up a full unleaded petrol system in Turkana would likely cost between KES 90 billion and kes 110 billion …whether that oil can recover such money if ktalk billionaires dares to invest on it, it’s far guaranteed and mostly under current conditions it would be difficult for Turkana oil alone to recover that kind of investment
Yet hii Ksh 90 or 110 Billion ni sehemu ya pesa kidigo iliyoibiwa na kufichwa ng’ambo.
SHA/SHIT si ilikulwa 104B maybe only 4 Billion was used the rest 100 lost.
Thread closed
Unless someone has visited the site and found no ongoing activity, i will not believe anything govt says. They told us we had no major minerals yet mining is going on 24/7 including in our national parks.
foreigners walinunua refinery yetu, wakaifunga, then wakauzia government tena, tukaachiwa mkebe
More proof that bonobo leadership can’t industrialise if left to their own devices.
That’s a reassuring company name.
we are using 40 billion to build bomas hotel, 100 billion to buy a register for recording sha claims, oil refinery kidogo ya 150k barrels per day ni affordable, na inaeza kuwa financed na NSSF, ama tuuze asset ingine vile tuliuza kenya pipeline.
It is not cheaper to import from Dubai, ni conditions tuliwekewa na parasitic owners of capital, sio choice yetu.
country zote za Africa lazima zipeane mafuta yote ikiwa unrefined kwa companies za wazungu, then end product lazima tuinunue na dollars.