I got this recipe from the lovely mkamba @Mkufuu and it has become a favourite. I’ve made some tiny modifications and it has worked out well.
Ingredients
[li] Medium sized butternut pumpkin[/li][li] Wheat flour[/li][li]vegetable Oil[/li][li]Water [/li][/ul] Method
[ol]
[li]Peel the pumpkin and cut it into pieces[/li][li]Put the pieces in a sufuria with enough water just covering them then boil till soft[/li][li]Mash or puree the butternut into a smooth paste.[/li][li]Put the smooth pumpkin paste in a large container, add flour little by little to the butternut paste (you may also add water ). Make sure that the flour mixes thoroughly into the paste[/li][li]Knead the flour and butternut paste till you form a dough (the dough should be a bit sticky)[ATTACH=full]23307[/ATTACH] [/li][li]Make small balls that can be rolled into chapatis[/li][li]Spread the ball on a flat surface into a small chapatis…then apply oil on the top surface[ATTACH=full]23309[/ATTACH][/li][li]Roll back the flat chapatis and coil them into a ball[ATTACH=full]23312[/ATTACH][/li][li]Let it rest for 30 minutes[/li][li]Spread the recoiled ball on a flat surface into a good chapati[/li][li]Heat a pan and add little vegetable oil…Place your chapati on the pan [/li][li]Let the chapati heat up for a minute…Don’t let it turn brown[/li][li]Turn the chapati and add some more veg oil[/li][li]Let it heat up till it browns…then turn to the former side[/li][li]Let it heat up till it browns and there you’ve got lovely butternut chapatis.[ATTACH=full]23310[/ATTACH][/li][/ol]
Anyone with a kickass recipe please share. I would like to try out some new recipes.
Wow…you’ve really put a bright smile on my face this morning. Totally love this…Just the way I like chapatis…
For those who don’t have a blender/food machine like me…Just mash the boiled butternut using a traditional mwiko in a ceramic bowl (it’s tedious though).
If you wan’t extra soft chapatis use ice-cold water from the fridge to knead your chapoz…I don’t own a fridge so I don’t use cold water. Some use warm water personally I don’t like it because I tend to use more flour…
And if you are health conscious use olive oil, sunflower oil or coconut oil…These are expensive but a healthy lifestyle is a choice. For most foods that I cook I don’t use any oil and if I do I use just a teaspoon but anyone who tastes my food would think I have.
Thanks @Unicorn for giving this recipe a nice twist. I love it… More recipes please!!:):)
Ingredients
[li]Meat[/li][li]Firifiri[/li][li]Nyanya na kitunguu[/li][li]Hoho[/li][li]Dania[/li][li]Ginger[/li][li]Garlic[/li][/ul]
method
[ol]
[li]Akisa gas au stove[/li][li]Kata kata kitunguu na nyanya[/li][li]Weka nyama kwa sufuria(recycle,sio lazima iwe safi)[/li][li]Weka kila kitu na uongeze maji.[/li][li]Boil for about 1 hr or until everything is tender [/li][li]Remove your shirt na ufunge mlango[/li][li]Serve with a loaf of leftover supaloaf[/li][li]Bon appetit.[/li][/ol]
my mandatory weekend breakfast; one apple mango, beef mince omelette with onions and one green chilli, half avocado, large tomato and half an onion blended to a smooth paste, potato wedges deep fried…taken at 1030 to eleven I am good to go until supper…
@Wilco15, thats how it should be down. hii mambo ya sijui wait till the onion turns brown apana tambua, we don’t have all that time to waste. @Mundu Mulosi weka recipe ya ukali hapa
Time the hen. Immediately it starts shouting,know it has laid the egg. Whilst it is still hot,crack the shell and pour it’s contents down the throat. Return the empty shell for the hen to sit on. Give the hangover 30seconds
UGALI
Washa jiko na uwekelee Maji hadi ichemuke
Weka unga na anza kukoroga hadi ikuwe ngumu
Funika alafu ngoja hadi ile harufu ya kuungua uisikie
Basi itowe kwa moto na Kazi iendelee