Shaft elongates

A man reading the electricity meter (PHOTO: FILE)

NAIROBI, KENYA: The Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) has restructured the subsidised tariff currently targeted at low income electricity consumers in a move that will see many that have enjoyed the low-priced power locked out. They will instead pay higher charges.

Under a new billing structure by ERC, the lifeline tariff has been capped at 15 units of power per month from the current regime where low-income earners had a leeway of up to 50 units, and pay at subsidised rates.

Poor households will also pay a higher rate for energy consumed in the new harmonised tariff of Sh12 per unit, compared to the current rate of Sh2.50 per unit.

ERC has however scrapped the fixed charge that currently stands at Sh150 per month. It has instead factored it in the per unit cost of power.

The new tariff, which ERC expects to be used for August billing, has also reduced power prices for the wealthy domestic power consumers.

Households that consume over 1,500 units a month are charged Sh20 per unit but will now pay Sh16.50 a unit. The same charges will apply for people with less spending capability - consuming more than 15 units.

READ MORE

Power cost reduction fails to live up to State’s promises
Kenya Power seeks MPs help on theft
Kerosene prices go up, again
The new tariff that will take effect in a month’s time is expected to be much simpler, and will give clarity to power consumers on how they are charged for their electricity.

“There have been numerous complaints by electricity customers on the complexity of the tariff regime whereby the billing has not been fully understood,” said ERC when it published the new tariffs, which will go through public consultation in July before implementation starts in August.

“For example, prepaid customers have been receiving varying units for the same amount of money within a billing cycle. This is mainly due to the existing graduated tariff structure for domestic consumers and the application of fixed charge.”

Under the proposed tariff, the energy industry regulator said prepaid customers would not get varying number of tokens whenever they spent the same amount.

For example, if one spends Sh1,000 for the prepaid units, they will always get a constant number of units.

…Tano Terror

unafikiri nani atalipia hii?

[MEDIA=twitter]1013782188465250304[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=twitter]1013364523670097920[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=twitter]1013353170318356481[/MEDIA]

Peasants expect more shafting bila lube of course.

Ferk this ferking government. I wish Alshaitan would blow their greedy asses to hell. I was listening to Capital FM where a certain dick from city hall was busy discussing how the new taxes that they want to implement are “social taxes”. When will we say no to this BS?

it doesn’t matter,they can milk us as much as they want

Hujuma. What if we said no…and marched these greedy pigs out of office. You be sure hio pesa itaingia kwa mfuko ya mtu…maybe inform of a tender .

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dg2w5svXkAAIiMq.jpg
[ATTACH=full]181094[/ATTACH]

And they will not show anything done with those taxes.Tano Tena @Grundy ata kama you were in the other camp during electioneering period.Sema Tano Tena,With Kumi bora loading thereafter

Peana mkundu ukamuliwe roho safi,hapa hakuna resist,but jitetee kiasi uwaambie wavae lube atleast.Na wewe ndio unasema Uliam tena.Hizo nyama zako utamulika usiku na kanyitiraa ukicheza

Go and tell them. Hakuna haja ya kupiga kelele hapa awhile you have this opportunity

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dg6evQNWAAA6Wfc.jpg

Where has this guy been buying his units?
Because Sh691 has never given me 50 units.
For many months now, whenever I buy Sh1000, I get forty something units.

There’s something I’ve not understood. If this new tarrif is meant to simplify things, does it mean it also includes all taxes?
Is 16.5 the final price per unit, or will taxes eventually raise it to something else?
For instance, that 12.75 they are quoting as the old tariff would eventually end up being something like sh21 after fixed charges and taxes.

mimi nmekubali,wamekuwa wakinikamya na hii stima,hii month inaisha nilihamua sitaspend anything above 500,;nikaweka 400/- nilipewa 11 units zenye ziliisha after 2 weeks.i am all theirs to choose which style to use

Si mulifurahia SGR. sasa niwakati wa kulipa. Toeni surauli mkamuliwe na serikali.

Conflict of Interest

“ describe the situation in which a public official or fiduciary who, contrary to the obligation and absolute duty to act for the benefit of the public or a designated individual, exploits the relationship for personal benefit, typically pecuniary”.

“A fiduciary” takes care of money or other assets for another person(s) - Taxes

By accepting hospitality and who knows what else from the power company, members of the Energy Committee committed an ethical breach in duty of care to the electorate. And should do an honourable thing and resign as they can no longer be honourable custodians of what constitutes the interest of the public.

When you see them start taxing even the mutura guy time is ripe for a revolution.
[ATTACH=full]181104[/ATTACH]

mlisema kuinstall solar system ni how much.

nimecheka tuu…you have given yourself to them. Its very sad

Siri ni you buy tokens at the beginning of every month and be sure itakumalizia mwezi. If you buy twice, cost per unit increases. For example you buy for sh500 now and 20 days later you buy another for 500bob the difference in units will be huge, utapiga simu KPLC kuwatusi. Fir my prepaid meter, I buy tokens worth 2500 on average na inamaliza mwezi comfortably. If I try breaking into two instalments, inaisha by the 23rd day. But maybe kuna ujanja nyingine someone can tell us. As for postpaid meter, hapo ujanja ni kidogo. These guys estimate bills