SGR

TDA had a tender out to transport 75000 tonnes of fertilizer. The rate provided was 6.5Kshs/tonne/km (or approximate US 6.5 cents/tonne/km).

http://www.ktdateas.com/...NSPORT%20FOR%202016.pdf

They secured more than 1000 trucks for its transport, first shipment arrived of 38000tonnes and was finished in one and a half weeks. Such is the competition in the industry, and the capacity available in the trucking industry.

Now SGR is said to reduce the cost of transport from current US 20 cents/tonne/km with trucks. The market is already at 6 US cents/tonne if above practical experience is anything to go by.

FYI: Using current railway, a container costs 120K to move from MSA to nairobi, and 90K by road. I dont see the game changer of SGR in terms of transport.

Haiya

It’s NOT about the cost but the safety and guarantee of the container reaching its destination. There are so many UPS and DOWNS on road transport. Unashukuru mola tu ikifika salama.

Your ideology is based on let’s say you have a flight to catch and you start comparing with either going to the airport by Matatu or get a Taxi/Cab. With Matatu its cheaper and you’ll eventually make it to the Airport, but what if you took a Taxi/Cab?

Tafakari hayo.

Someone pulled that U.S ¢20 out of their ass to try further the S.G.R arguement, hapa hii price inakaa kufika U.S ¢4 coz. S.G.R itafikisha mzigo yako kwa terminal embakasi and you will have to get a trick to get your mali at your door.

Ngojea SGR ifike … then the roads become even cheaper then… as you know kenyans they will go for the cheapest… it will be tough to recoup investment on SGR… pesa ilimwagwa. Again, you know that the current train while its slow, not too slow really… its not operating at maximum capacity…so hiyo story yako ya security haiwesmek

Kama hujui the meaning of Kupima temperature or kuosha in trucking-speak then you can’t see the gamer changer

Elimisha sisi.

It’s where a truck driver takes a detour and plays around with the cargo hata seal za kra Wanajua kutoa na kurudisha