[ATTACH=full]182179[/ATTACH]
Kuwa serious buda. Are you quoting the same contract that Magufuli tore to shreds and awarded some Turkish company to undertake the project that anyone is yet to see its progress?
A dispute over a tender to build a $7.6 billion standard gauge railway linking Dar es Salaam to neighbouring countries has provided a tense backdrop to Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s visit to Tanzania on January 22-23.
Although EXIM Bank of China has signed an agreement with Tanzania to finance the 1,259km line, a Turkish firm is believed to be the front-runner to clinch the contract.
EXIM tends to tie its financing to Chinese contractors getting the job.
Chinese foreign minister Wangi Yi visited Tanzania two weeks ago to canvass for the tender, but government officials were said to have offered no guarantees.
Last year, Chinese companies had won the tender to build the railway before the process was cancelled over irregularities and fresh bids invited.
I think this tz train is a myth. That said, Kenya government needs to give Kenyans a clear timeline of skill transfers from the Chinese. These Chinese are now everywhere and if we thought the British colonials were evil, the zambians can testify on just how much more demonic the Chinese can be
I have had the chance of working in Tanzania for some time. All i can tell you is this. This project is not feasible, and can never be realized. Trust me. Not even in 50 years. Tanzanian leaders are primitive and lack exposure. Most of them do not have any education beyond high school. They are not visionary, they are more scared about Kenya thhan developing their own country
1.Uganda DID NOT withdraw from the Kenya agreement The Chinese told them that if they did not link their SGR with ours then they would get no funds from the China Exim Bank
2.Tanzania and empty promises since 1961.This song about the Tanzania SGR has been sung for 5 years.How has the,Turkish arrangement gone so far??In 2025 this song will still be sung
3.Ethiopia has TRAMS not trains.Their freight trains look no different from Kenya’s
4.Ethiopia train stations look like,they went back in time to get an architect of the Victorian era.
The discussion was about Kenyan Railway not Ethiopian; post was for mere comparison of nature and progress of rail projects. Ethiopia managed to build an electrified Standard Gauge Railway for less money than Kenya, whose SGR is not electric.
The 750 km Ethiopia-Djibouti project cost $3.4 billion, built by two Chinese companies, the first to be electrified in Africa. Compare that to Kenya’s Standard Gauge Railway phase 1 at Sh327 billion, almost the same as the Ethiopian line, but more than 100 km shorter,(internet source) – the question that was paused in 2016 and still stand is this: Has Ethiopia built an inferior line or is Kenya not getting value for money or is our money being stolen? Perhaps we have too many bridges or the train stations are so flamboyant, costly to build due to design and material. We need to evaluate.
Tanzania is seeking a reasonable or cheap deal, they are always very suspicious and are not keen at been duped. Ug may not be too keen at Chinese control; there could be outright war in the stations if the Chinese treated them with disregard.
Kenya main decision makers were brought up on a golden plate, mostly out of touch with the real world. They have no idea about sleeping on an empty stomach, they don’t mind throwing a few billion shillings away, if it spares the time of negotiation and scrutinizing contracts, they have more important things, shopping and holidays to attend to.
wewe ni kichwa malenge kabisa. How do they build HSR to link mines? It’s clear from the article even without digging further this rail will just be cargo rail. And cargo rail does 80kph, so cut your high speed rail crap in tanzania.
edit: that’s an article from 2015, 3 years ago. Where’s the progress so far. silly.
That was a response to a query/comment. Only transparent transaction have no debates anything else, issues will keeps on recurring.
[ATTACH=full]182251[/ATTACH]
it’s not about burying head in sand. We debated this costs comparison kitambo tukamaliza. Leta issues zingine kama the operational costs and mistreatment of kenyans tutaongea.
Exactly. Now we should be debating how Matiang’i is allowing Chinese drivers and gardeners to get work permits. Not to mention how all of a sudden Kenya is full of Chinese
Hasn’t this been analysized and DEBUNKED a long time ago??Are you from Tanzania or South Sudan where news reaches a decade later or something??
1.In Ethiopia, THERE WAS NO LAND COMPENSATION!!!In Ethiopia land is owned by the Government .They simply had to resettle those on the rail path elsewhere.In Kenya, we have had to pay tens of billions of Shillings in order to compensate land owners. We even demolished schools and moved entire graveyards in the coastal region
2.The highest cost in phase one was the fact that between Voi and Mtito Andei, the railway line is basically on several bridges in order to limit contact with wildlife. The Ethiopian railway on the other hand has very few bridges.
3.Why is everyone making it as if electrification is everything???The Ethiopian railway is only 40km/hr faster than our own. It is not like they got a Maglev line !!
4.Ethiopia got 32 freight trains.We have 50.
5. I will emphasize again, Have you looked at the Addis Ababa Railway Station???. Google and then Google the Nairobi or Mombasa SGR stations.Ugly as Fuck!! Also we built 33 passenger and Passing Stations. Ethiopia built 18!! All of the Ethiopian ones akin to the Nigerian Kubwa Station that looks like a restroom at Mtito Andei.
6.Last but THE MOST IMPORTANT!!!
The Kenya SGR allows for DOUBLE STACKING,the Ethiopian SGR DOES NOT!!! .Meaning that capacitywise, we have a railway that can handle double that of Ethiopia. We can handle more passengers and freight as the passing stations allow trains to overtake each other more frequently on the Kenyan SGR line than the Ethiopian one.
7.Also, our SGR can be electrified. Kenya Uganda and Rwanda agreed on this.In fact the Uganda and Rwandan side will be built electrified from scratch while we will use 50 billion to electrify ours