Sgr

Have just seen the demystification of the sgr on Citizen TV raging from the speed, the naming of the stations, the shape and the general pictorial education. The project is awesome, hapa Jubilee iko mbele. The question remains the cost of traveling.

i heard the question is with a consultancy that is studying the market…

The question is that of how much some of us who will not use it will subsidise that jubilee relic.

Why give it to a consultancy? Wouldn’t it just be easier to look at the prices that akina Modern, Mash and Spanish are charging, amenities and facilities they offer then make a better deal since they want to capture the market? Patriotism and new toy giddiness will wear off eventually when people start crunching their budgets

You don’t pick figures off the air and call them fares. You’ve got to know whether you’ll make a profit and if not then by how much you’ll subsidise.
You’ll also need to know the quality and quantity of manpower required to provide these services.
Quality at affordable prices…thus the different classes.
Na wakati mwingine, try to use at least 5% of what God put between your ears. 10% will mean you’re a genius.

[SIZE=5] Definition of relic [/SIZE]
[ol]
[li]1a : an object esteemed and venerated because of association with a saint or martyrb : souvenir, memento[/li]

[li]2 relics plural : remains, corpse[/li]

[li]3 : a survivor or remnant left after decay, disintegration, or disappearance[/li]

[li]4 : a trace of some past or outmoded practice, custom, or belief[/li]
[/ol]

A blackout on the Island 001.

we are not as unlucky today…:slight_smile:

Resulting to insults to prove a point just goes to show how much of an godforsaken idiot you are, and whatever you are trying to defend, or forestall by insulting me has absolutely no substance. You didn’t even try to understand my question, you only saw an attack and decided insults was your best form of defence. What a shame.

Any one with basic analytical skills will see right through that move.

In the whole workforce Kenya government commands, can they not find people bright enough to do such things and save the taxpayer some few coins that they haven’t pocketed yet? Hell, with all the unpaid psycophants like you, you mean to say basic gathering of data, basic survey of the wants/needs and the conditions the trains will need to meet cannot be done by government crunchers?

Where in my original statement did I say figures will be pulled from the air?

Whether they’ll make a profit and how much they’ll need to subsidise, a whole government can’t do that on its own?

I won’t even continue. I forgot you are a tumbilee idiot.

I think the government is not a village, it has systems. If not so, we should buy our own tractors and make all our roads too and other projects.

Yes the government is not a village. Does that mean that the government workforce cannot be entrusted with such crucial work? Government has a presence in literally every sector, SGR is its project. Yes, they can outsource. Does that mean outsource everything? If it can conduct a nationwide census, what will a simple study be to it?

Inaitwa PPP mzeiya

(…in @Meria Mata 's voice)

Imenipita pale Voi nikiwa na kaimport juu ya lorry.

[ATTACH=full]85231[/ATTACH]

How do we know Meria’ s voice or there are times he posts audio?

import moja juu ya triler na ingine kwa cabin.

The thing that shocks me about the whole SGR issue is nobody is bothering to look at facts. It’s all become about blind political support.

Around the world, the economics of rail is all about moving huge volumes of cargo cheaply. When Kenya was first started as the British East Africa Company, it decided to put up a railway line where experts back in the late 1800’s dubbed The Lunatic express and a famous newspaper columnist observed:

“Aboard the Lunatic Express
What it will cost no words can express;
What is its object no brain can suppose;
Where it will start from no one can guess;
Where it is going nobody knows;
What is the use of it none can conjecture;
What it will carry there’s none can define;
And in spite of George Curzon’s superior lecture,
It clearly is naught but a lunatic line”

In simple terms, road traffic even in China has kept growing in leaps and bounds while their rail haulage has stagnated. In Kenyas case, road investment makes more sense as we don’t have any heavy cargo like steel mines which would warrant such a rail investment.

The Thika Superhighway cost 27 billion to build 50kms of arguably a 10 lane highway. Mombasa is 500 kms from Nairobi. Even if we built such a highway, it would have cost Kenya about 250 billion. SGR is costing about 500 billion for the same distance. What exactly is the value to the Kenyan economy?

Sio kwa ubaya, lakini muta hii ngumi kufanya ‘consultations’ na waiguru na NYS ilikuwa PPP pia.

This is Business 101, nothing to do with politics…or idiocy.

Oh I get it. Since I don’t fit into the class of imbeciles you are used to engaging and cavorting with, you cannot find a way to express yourself without resorting to infantile pettiness and insults. Got it.