SGR Miscalculation

Was the SGR extension to Naivasha really necessary? Personally i do not see the economic sense of SGR ending in a dry land in Narok with the argument of having a dry port with no any major industries there geared for export market. Basically SGR is just importing goods and dumping them in Naivasha for on wards collection by other neighboring countries. I don’t think this is worth Ksh 250 billion that was spent on it. In my own opinion we should have used lets say 200 billion to construct a dual carriage way from Nairobi to Malaba with various interchanges among major towns such as Nakuru and Eldoret and build a bigger inland port in Nairobi. The SGR from Mombasa to Nairobi was necessary in my opinion because statistics show that 70% of imported cargo ends up in Nairobi and 30% to the rest of the country and other countries such as Uganda , South Sudan, though i doubt the cost used in construction. The other 50 billion or whatever we should have utilized to construct a mass transit system for Nairobi or a sub way. I find it shameful that at this point it time in Nairobi we do not have any efficient public transport system and are still relying on unregulated lawless matatus such as the 14 seaters within the cbd

hii kitu ya SGR tuliikataa hapa lakini wewe @langatkipro na @spear gave us all sorts of justifications…tufanye nini sasa

I gave justification? I think I only did say it would make sense had it reached Malaba and connected with Uganda and not ending inside a dry land in a village huko Narok

The whole SGR thing was bad economics…all Uhuruto projects were conceived with one aim only; to loot public money…we knew that way back in 2012

Mimi bado nangoja ifike kimilili, From Nairobi one hour nimeland

I am of the opinion we need all these things and more. We need airports, railway lines, highways, tech cities, underground trains, power plants, solar energy farms, wind farms, inland ports, water reservoirs etc
The biggest problem is the president we have. If we had a president who was not trying to amass family wealth through national projects we would be doing much better. Ile wizi ilifanyika building SGR will be a case study for university students in the years to come.

The issue, Raila explained, was that on inheriting the project, Jubilee cancelled an SGR tender already signed of Sh227 billion then awarded a new one to the same China Road and Bridge Corporation at a higher cost of Sh350 billion.

Hapo papo somebody or a few people pocketed Kshs 113 billion shillings. Isn’t that something?

Industries follow infrastructure. Hujawahi sikia hiyo? Wakati the British walianza kujenga railway from Mombasa to Kampala kulikuwa na industry gani huku hinterland? Industries zote zilianza kujengwa once the railway was completed. Build the road or railway and the industries will follow. That is why most major towns are located along the railway line. Mombasa, Nairobi, Kisumu, Nakuru, Eldoret, Nanyuki etc.

You have a very valid & pregnant point. Looting & plundering of debt acquired then Wakiaga, Omolo & Njeri etc living in penury MUST pay through their nose.

Alafu hiyo mazematic ni 123B.

Na ruto je?

Na ruto je?

Wazee wa kijiji walikuwa wamekataa hii maneno

[SIZE=7]Africans should not govern themselves ![/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]304822[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]304823[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]304823[/ATTACH]

Mzae huko kimilili do we even have elected leaders kweli. Hiyo place iko behind in terms of maendeleo

sgs terminates in naivasha Konyagi property,so we shud understand and move on hadi next oreso, hoping sio dynasty

Use a thief to catch a thief, odm was against this SGR thing and were for a dual carriage from mbs to malaba, but innocent jubilee supporters trusted too much. And the opportunity to enrich themselves presented itself, ruto on other hand was grabbing every little thing his hand would come across. All pretending to be busy with developments but in reality it was all about creating opportunities to steal.

At least Lagat ameokoka na amekubali, hio jamaa ingine bado inajipiga kifua saa zile Jubilee ishapororomoka.

The whole SGR affair is rotten. Its economic feasibility is overplayed and the cost is grossly exaggerated. When you consider the debt, unemployment levels, companies that have closed shop, and punitive taxes, the dent that those two criminals will leave on KE’s economy will take decades to undo - if it ever is. Naivasha-Malaba already ran into financing problems because the government cannot prove its feasibility and Uganda is hesitant to build its line up to Malaba. So now the plan is to renovate it instead, which makes you wonder why the same approach couldn’t be used for Msa-Nbo-Naivasha instead of building completely new lines or just lay down a proper dual-carriageway highway complemented by inland ports. But when this thievery was called out critics were branded anti-development. When their credentials and records were brought to question in 2013 and 2017 critics were drowned out with Tano Tena, wembe ni ule ule, and other clueless hymns. Play stupid games win stupid prizes.

who did you vote in the last 3 elections,who are you planning to vote 2022?