The SGR can’t stand on its own without government forcing people to use it. If the government was to stop forcing people to ferry their cargo on SGR, it would fail that very same day.
When eventually the government stops forcing people to ferry their cargo on SGR, it will fail that very day. The effort that is currently being invested in forcing people to use the SGR to ferry cargo is simply unsustainable.
We could have used that 0.5 trillion spent so far on something better. But because the ethiopians got a SGR, we had to get ours too. But I guess the chinese wouldn’t lent us 500B for some other project, especially one that wasn’t creating a job for its people and a market for its products.
Anyway, at least Kimondiu from Makueni got his first even (and possibly last ever) million bob from SGR land compensation. And Kamau from Kiserian has, for the first time since leaving the village polytechnic had a steady masonry-related job. Not to mention Akinyi who has made quite a bit of money selling uji and boiled maize to the SGR workers. It has helped some people, though mostly in very modest ways.
And it surely is good to have an alternative way of transporting people and goods, just in case of anything.
Kijana umejirudia sana. Kwani ulisomea kwa dirisha.
@Kicharo clear analysis as always
Kwani unafungua thread on every topic in Kenya, hizi vitu tulidiscuss tukasahau.
Wacha mkuki akuje
Forcing?
This is all about efficiency. The SGR has exposed Kenya’s lethargy and corruption. A container used to take days to clear so people could hash out deals to secure all manner of cargo. Government has said no to that and all cargo must be shipped to the ICD removing the middle men etc.
As things streamline and people start behaving like in the developed countries with infrastructure. Then that’s when we’ll truly begin to see the SGR was necessary.
Those who don’t change hiyo ni shida yako…
And once Mombasa Highway is upgraded it further build upon the SGR success.
Buda, umeblockiwa na 1, 2, 3, 4,… 9, 10, 11 Committee of Experts members with immediate effect. Wacha ripoti sasa ipelekwe kwa team captain wao. You have 3 minutes to apologize and withdraw this thread.
[quote=“Kicharo, post:1, topic:170907”]
The SGR can’t stand on its own without government forcing people to use it. If the government was to stop forcing people to ferry their cargo on SGR, it would fail that very same day.
When eventually the government stops forcing people to ferry their cargo on SGR, it will fail that very day. The effort that is currently being invested in forcing people to use the SGR to ferry cargo is simply unsustainable.
We could have used that 0.5 trillion spent so far on something better. But because the ethiopians got a SGR, we had to get ours too. But I guess the chinese wouldn’t lent us 500B for some other project, especially one that wasn’t creating a job for its people and a market for its products.
Anyway, at least Kimondiu from Makueni got his first even (and possibly last ever) million bob from SGR land compensation. And Kamau from Kiserian has, for the first time since leaving the village polytechnic had a steady masonry-related job. Not to mention Akinyi who has made quite a bit of money selling uji and boiled maize to the SGR workers. It has helped some people, though mostly in very modest ways.
And it surely is good to have an alternative way of transporting people and goods, just in case of anything.
[/QUOTE[/QUOTE]
Nonsense.
[SIZE=7]Importers losing Sh70 million daily to congestion at Nairobi ICD
Importers losing Sh70 million daily to congestion at Nairobi ICD - Business Daily [/SIZE]
Boss do you have any idea on clearing and forwarding??..containers take longer to clear at ICD than clearing them kwa CFS Mombasa…and corruption level is even higher hapa ICD…
is SGR still booked til December? I have never even fancied riding it.
I’ve sent and imported and exported several products. I know how it works.
ICD main problem is for Kenyans to get premium service they have to pay for it which is wrong. This should come naturally and trained in the job place.
Like I said the SGR is exposing Kenyans lethargy and corruption.
Improve Efficiency and professionalism and a have a better system.