My arrest and disappearance of Nancy at Syokimau Terminus was a nose crush in my life. I risked being jailed in the name of a chick and thirsty of thighs, I reflected on Mwangi Ruheni’s Across The Bridge, the trepidations and humiliations that Chuma underwent when he was arrested for abducting Caroline (Kahuthu daughter). his case was understandable Caroline was from a rich family and loved him and she was ready to defend him. Nancy was a fox, she ran away and left me boiling under the hands of police. The ways of a wicked man are narrow I was left at the mercy of gods.
From my young age I have learnt one survival tactic, deny deny deny, that was the only option to slide from lions’ den. I had spent like five minute in the cell when a senior police officer accompanied by a young Chinese came to interrogate me. “who are you, wewe ni terrorist eh!” the officer demanded in an authoritative voice. “Terrorist! My name is not terrorist” I replied astounded. the ocs stared at me in a horrible manner. The Chinese guy asked him in a mixture of an alien language and signs i should hand my ticket. “where your ticket and where did your accomplice go to” he asked “I was alone, that girl I met her yesterday here when I was buying my ticket I don’t know her” The ocs looked confused “why were you arrested” “I don’t Know”. after checking my Id and ticket the two were convinced it was a mistaken arrest. I was released under numerous apology and for the first time in my life, the police called me sir. the Chinese guy gave me one thousand and apologised. they led me towards the train which was almost departing. I hurried my way in before they found out I was a lier.
within seconds I was in coach No.8 and trying to locate chair No. 86. Everyone seemed confused, some trying to fix their luggage on the roof rack as some pushed big bags underneath their chairs. i was quick to locate my chair, I was dumbfounded to learn the train chairs were facing each other like long forgotten matatus that we used to travel in during high school. They rekindled the nightmare i always underwent when guys on the other chair stared at me like a picture. two girls sat next to me and the oposite chair was till unoccupied when the train left. after few distance people settled in their seats. my mind was still preoccupied with my narrow escape and Nancy wrath. my sense returned when i heard a familiar voice. she was Joyce. Joyce was my girlfriend three years ago when I lived at Mwiki. when she one evening told me she was expecting my baby i left that night with only clothes I wore never to return to Mwiki again. I changed my phone line and hibernated away from my responsibilities. her voice almost made my heart stop. there she was in the opposite seat a child on her hands another girl and accompanied by a man.
The day of monkeys’ death all trees become slippery. I wished the earth would open up like maimahiu and swallow me. I stole a grimace towards her and the baby in an attempt to see any resemblance to me, but the fear overtook my agenda. I decided to move away and disappear amongst hundreds of people inside, but my move was wrong. Joyce scream froze my steps and I stagnated on the chair like electrified. The drama unfolded. never estimate a wounded woman. she threw words and claws along my way, attempts by neighbours to calm her were futile. She was all over me. It was police officers inside the train who contained the situation. I was taken to coach four in a small cell and Joyce and her friends were also summoned. I cursed the devil, I regretted failing to adhere to numerous signs that my journey was doomed. I wished if police at the terminus arrested me, they could have saved me from current tribulations.
after a long case, it was decided that I should be dropped at Mtito Andei and handed over to police back to Nairobi. That when I realised Joyce had reported me as missing person. After I run away from Mwiki Joyce tried finding me all over the country but she could not locate me, she reported me as a missing person. she also revealed to me that the night she told me she was pregnant she was only joking to see my seriousness about her. she confessed that she got married after few months to the guy she was accompanied with and they were going to Mombasa for a holiday.
I was handed over to police back to Nairobi. i was taken to Mwiki where they recorded my startement and i was realesed with stern a warning never to joke with sheria.