SGR double stack...

hehe ama ndio maana anatumia profile pic ya joshua waiganjo.

Yaani we umepungukiwa na ujuaji hadi the only thread you can contribute in ni AOB, wacha machungu nani.

normal has 56 wagons, 20 feet ni 112, but they mix with 40 feet. both double stack and normal carry the same. double stack cannot haul 56 wagons.

KPA recorded 27.2 million tonnes of cargo in 2017. Assuming a 5% or so growth in traffic and SGR recently indicating that it uplifting 40% of all cargo from Mombasa, and assuming 28 million tonnes of cargo in 2018, SGR will ferry cargo in the range of 11 million tonnes. At KES 3.5 per tonne kilometer and Nairobi being circa 500 kms from Mombasa, SGR cargo revenue will be in the range of KES 20 billion tops. Treasury is paying CRBC 12 billion to operate the railway line. We haven’t even talked about interest on debt which will easily be another 10 to 12 billion. If total operator fees and interest on debt are more than total revenues, it only means we are paying huge subsidies from treasury for a project that nobody asked for and is reliant on poor Wanjikus taxes. What shocks me most is even intelligent people are cheering on SGR due to their deep seated tribal bigotry and complaining about increase in taxes and slow economic growth. I ask: would you run to change your mode of transport from a sensible Toyota for a Mercedes that costs 12 billion just because idiots of thieving politicians tell you its a good idea? Let sanity prevail.

Per the above basic calculations

Sasa tuwachane na SGR sababu si viable?

This is not kenya though. You are driving on the right hand side of the road plus those wagons look old and rusty na za SGR ya kenya are newer.

Edit- pole. Nimeona si mimi pekee nimenotice.

Why are you assuming that it’s 40% of all cargo and where did you get the 3.5 per tonne kilometer figure from?

Yaani nyinyi nyote mnaniambia si Kenya ni kama sijui?
SGR does not mean Standard Gauge for no reason.