The final product, is there a discrepancy in the two ? Was the cost inflated under Uhuruto?
yes it was inflated, and the naivasha ICD was not in the initial plan
uhuru=pure chieth
If we are paying Ksh 30 million a day, how much will we need paying per day when the SGR hits Naivasha, and Kisumu city Respectively ?
Ni investment ya watoto buda. Bila lube
we are about to give our wives to the Chinese as a mode of payment. Whatever it takes to feed the corruption appetite of the transparent leaders some of us w̶o̶u̶l̶d̶ ̶k̶i̶l̶l̶ voted for.
I think Kibaki’s sgr was Kenya’s SGR hii ya Uhuru ni ya Xi Jinping and his one belt one road initiative which we as Kenyans are paying for. Kibaki’s SGR was more of a link up across the whole of East Africa as first envisioned under Moi and Mkapa, as Kikwete described it in Biwott’s funeral. Kikwete and Biwott were minister’s when these East African corridors were born or so Kikwete claimed. But politicians do lie. But I think the idea on paper was born during Moi’s era and it was a good idea.
I imagine Kibaki’s SGR would have involved other players not just Chinese and would have been a Kenyan product. Hii ya Gathecha amepatia/uzia Chinese.
Kibaki’s nusu mkate SGR also looked like an east african partnership especially targeted at the oil industry especially in South Sudan hii ya Gathecha sijui, the other fuckers pulled out but he still pushes on on his own… hoping to entice them back?!
If I was president since these other fellows have pulled out of the sgr I would have expanded the road network instead. Expand it throughout Kenya and to other east african borders. Expand Mombasa and Thika road and the Nakuru kisumu highways end to end. Then boost air cargo and passenger cargo to and from Mombasa. Reli ikuje baadaye. But that’s just an armchair opinion.
Truck drivers from Mombasa should have their own express highway wakiharibu wanalipia (toll) wenyewe. All the way to Kisumu or wherever.
Also, air is faster and in the long term cheaper. Even the politicians themselves prefer helicopters nowadays. Reli ni za nini? Cheap govt. jumbo jets could clear all the Mombasa cargo very fast. Or just bring it direct from China. Now today you have a very expensive port… and you want to force people in Nyamakima and Gikomba to use your railwayline to bring in mitumba and spare parts.
You still have a great deal to cover in the reasoning curriculum.I am truly embarrassed on your behalf.
Huyo jamaa anaishi Wakanda
So thinketh a mediocre colonized mind. America abandoned the rail decades ago. Siku hizi ni DHL na Amazon na Fedex all served by thousands of aeroplanes and trucks. Thousands of jumbo jets and small planes! Nyinyi mnafanya the opposite. Kurudi reverse.
Ukiingia passenger transport nayo, uliza purple akuambie the last time she drove across states or used a railway line. Huko ni ndege zinaongea. There’s no time to waste. And it’s far cheaper.
Ondoa siasa ya jubilee kwa akili kwanza uone point before commenting, then uvae jubilee googles later. Air transport and drones are the future. Faster is indeed better.
Make your life better by unsubscribing to mass brain washing ideas.
You seriously need to read up more, cargo trains have been doing booming business in the US. All bulky goods are moved by train. Commuter rails are also coming up in a big way as millennial’s don’t want to buy cars. The case of overnight shipping of small packages cannot be a cut and paste, their volume of e commerce is greater than for other countries apart from China. Such economies of scale lowers shipping costs. Replicating it here would be impossible.
PS. FedEx and ups serve a small niche in the scheme of things, you are looking at a tree, we see a forest.
In todays fast moving world if you have a business meeting in Mombasa you can’t rely on the Sgr. Its too slow and inconvenient.
You pay 700 bob or whatever they hiked it to for a 5 hour trip. Then you get to the other side and find those con men taxis asking for outrageous fares… si afadhali hata basi. Meanwhile if you boost the air transport and make it cheaper its a win win for the economy. You dont have to sleep in Mombasa if you have no business there. 40 minutes you are in Lamu, 40 minutes you are back in Nairobi.
If it’s cargo in two days maximum you have your goods from China in yor store in Nairobi… Miracle! Do you know there are people in River road who book goods in December that arrive by ship to Nairobi in April from China?
By the time the goods get to Kenya no one needs them. Dead stock. With an aeroplane you cancel orders and order with efficiency. Businesses grow.
In the developed world there are so many businesses dependent on air, without it they would be wiped out. And we want to be developed like them.
hehehe who lied to you that aeroplanes carry small packages? This is a lie repeated here on Ktalk many a times. Wewe unajua ndege inatoshana aje?
Me I’m telling you from experience, enda U.S. ujionee ndege ndio zinabeba watu na mizigo. Hata China wameanza hivo hivo. Railways used in the U.S. shuttle within big towns and cities to avoid jams. Na kubeba chemicals na coal na car body frames to factories.
Hizi vitu zingine za kwuuzwa kwa duka, ni ndege na gari ndio inabeba. And it’s not about big or small economies it is the efficiency and growth of the economy.
Act now for the future. However, if you act for now you risk backwardness.
There are so many myths and lies sold in favor of railway lines ati they are cheaper they are not!
First of all history has shown clearly that an African country can’t run a profitable railway corporation/business because it will be inevitably bombarded by corruption.
Secondly a railway is not cheap to build or operate. Consider our former railway. The number of people required to run that railway line. To maintain it and operate it… Those who were retrenched were never paid. Ni wazee still asking for pay cheques. Na hakuna pesa.
They complain to this day. Housing these huge number of rail workers was a problem. Akina Kibera zilizaliwa na reli. Look at the footprint of that railway line. It consumes so much land. Angalia Nairobi, one of the largest under utilized land owners: Railways!
Angalia all that land including their golf course na bado they require more land today for their new stations and lines! Hadi matatu za Lang’ata and elsewhere they park on wasted railways land. Railways bus station. Compare that to a well run airport.
Wilson airport does more business than the former railway and requires such few resources. Then after you abandon the railway line, it’s all a huge waste to even reclaim. You can’t dismantle that whole thing. Compare that to an airport.
Railways are very EXPENSIVE. Msidanganywe. VERY EXPENSIVE TO OPERATE.
With cargo airplanes you only need old, retired, passenger carriers and retrofit them to carry cargo. Think Wilson airport but bigger in scope. Aeroplane parts aluminium, cheap stuff you can even machine them in Kenya. You can even retrofit old cargo planes to use ethanol and alternative fuels kama bei ya mafuta ni shida.
You only need a pilot, a co-pilot (if needed) na watu wachache wa kufokea bidhaa. You don’t even need a housing estate or program for the staff. Na mkishindwa there’s no footprint with aeroplanes. You just scrap them. There’s no dismantling of railway line, very little land wasted or required . It’s a no brainer really. Maintenance ni tarmac tu ya runway. Na ndege mzee ni cheap.
You watch too many documentaries…hii yako unless vision 2080.
We are still at infant stage.