Scratching Peoples Cars

What is the best course of action if a neighbor’s child scratches your car?

My response is based on whether ni mtoto wa singo matha or not. So kindly elaborate.

1. Just go repair your car and forgive + forget.

2. Just go repair your car and inform the kids parent and also tell him cost of repair.

3. Just go repair your car and inform the kids parent and also tell him cost of repair and demand payment hapo hapo.

4. Just go repair your car and inform the kids parent and also tell him cost of repair and demand payment hapo hapo with matusi and parenting lectures

5. Just go repair your car and inform the kids parent and also tell him cost of repair and demand payment hapo hapo with matusi and parenting lectures while repeatedly refering to the kid as chokora, kinyangarika etc.

6. Just go repair your car and inform the kids parent and also tell him cost of repair and demand payment hapo hapo with matusi and parenting lectures while repeatedly refering to the kid as chokora, kinyangarika etc while threatening to attack him and his wife physically.

There you have it.

Thread closed

Next…

Ideally, the parent ought to pay for repainting costs, but some ignorant people feel too entitled to do so. They want to feign ignorance of the cost of their child’s bad behaviour so you can bear the cost. If it’s a person who’s understanding, get a quote from a car bodyshop, show it to the parent as you settle on the payment. But as you see from @RV Pundit the common thread is Go repair your car…because most neighbours are—ama wacha tu.

Are you sure it’s a specific child? Because you find those children playing in large groups and it would be unfair to victimise an innocent one in the group.

Solution ni uache kuishi na peasants :smiley:

I often experienced this when I was living in plots with peasants. In such cases, the best thing to do is to approach the kids and warn them in very harsh words. Warn them until they feel afraid and let the parents be informed that you were very infuriated. Don’t confront the parents directly coz some are full of arrogance and madharau in such cases. Don’t demand for money or cost cover from parents. Just do it yourself. With time, the kids will fear to come near your car.

Was it done innocently( kids <5yrs) or a stubborn one in grade 3 onwards?

watoto wanahitaji spaces za kuchezea, ni time yako kuhama

Mbona unaishi rental apartment?

Ni kuhama ndugu. If u need peace of mind live in own compound

Sctrach his wife , assuming[ATTACH=full]437325[/ATTACH]

I don’t like the way people here are prescribing kuhama like its something people automatically do when some bloody kid scratches your car.

Another unnatural and awkward situation brought about by modernity and artificial urbanization. In African traditional living those kids could be related to you in some way, nieces, nephews, cousins whatever…

You had a license to properly discipline them as part of continuity and prosperity of the clan. We failed at properly blending positive aspects of our traditional culture and positive aspects of the technologically advanced culture.

Ati “we failed” ? !!!
Its not like we had opportunity to evaluate, pic and select the positive/negative aspects of anything.

Our culture’s were demonised wholesale

Tombaaa mamake kama malipo. Kesi baadae.

Hehe unanikumbusha tukiwa watoi tunatoa gari pumzi. Hehee cut your losses bro. Me niliwacha gari yangu kando ya barabara. Sijui ni nduthi ilipita imebeba oversize load that scratched the side of my car? Nilijam but i blamed myself for parking on the rd way.

Kuwa kama Chief in the area gari yako ni moto wakuotea mbali

Let kids be kids. It is their nature to scratch cars and draw on walls. Alternative is uhame otherwise one day their football will land on your windscreen.