SCAM ALERT

A similar story involved/involves some 1930s rare copper cooking stove.

Same story, different monkeys :wink:

Monkey Trader story - How stock Exchange works.

Ati true story.
So the shopkeeper kept those ten coins for 2 whole weeks and at no point did he give them to customers as change? Where did the conmen get over 400 1994 coins if they’re so hard to come across? The mzee went around looking for them without success, and for these guys to keep conning other shopkeepers, they must have thousands of these coins. So a small scale shopkeeper in Kenya just has 400k lying idly in the bank?
What I’m saying is…think before copy pasting stuff.

Ever heard of monkey business?

One day a scam was run on me, I was operating a shop of car spares and usually, there is a small bolt with a hole in the middle, in the market we used to buy it at 5 bob or 10bob as a nomal bolt, when we sell.we used to fetch 200/ since it was used as an oil jet in the transmission system by mechanics who knew how to modify the middle hole.

The scam begun one morning when a Mechanic called Nganoine came and pleaded with me to sell his special middle holed bolts at 200/ and give him only 50/ since he needed money desperately. Since he was a usual customer I accepted to take only 3 and gave him 150/ total with that he even promised to bring the customer who will buy those three at 200/ each. So as the day went by he came back and said that I should loan him 450/ and will bring it latter when the customer arrives, and it hit me this guy is forcing me to buy them goods at 200, I am the target customer all along. that’s when I decided this con is over. And asked him when did he ever see a shop being stocked by mechanics stolen merchandise and hakuwai, rudi tena. …
Sasa jamaa fanya ivi, in every new trade you.enter familiarise yourself with the common cons of that trade. Pay to be shown around to know that streets con people then enter in it having a clear view of things.

I can imagine fixing a keg container to the nduthi to collect those vapours… and cool them!