Safety On the Roads (Drivers Edition)

Never drink and drive. Everyone knows that they shouldn’t drive after drinking, but it’s worth repeating. At minimum, drinking impairs your judgement and slows your reaction time. At worst, it causes blurred vision and loss of consciousness.
[li]Any driver with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or higher is considered to be alcohol-impaired in the eyes of the law and if you are caught, you may be arrested, forced to pay a fine, charged with a DUI.[/li][li]You can easily avoid drunk driving by arranging to get a ride home with a designated driver, getting a cab, or arranging to stay at someone else’s house. Drink driving is never worth the risk.[/li][/ul]
Avoid distractions. Being distracted while driving is a bad idea, as you can’t give your full attention to the road and your reaction time becomes slower as a result.
[li]Using cell phones while driving – whether you’re making a call, texting or doing something else – is seriously detrimental in terms of its effect on your attention to driving. If you need to make a call, pull over and stop the car first.[/li][li]Aside from using cell phones, a distraction counts as anything that takes your full attention off the road, whether it’s fiddling with the radio, checking or applying make-up, or eating food. All of these things should be avoided.[/li][li]Also be careful when driving with children and pets, as they can be a potential distraction. Make sure children are secured with seat belts and pets are contained in a pet carrier.[/li][/ul]
Avoid drowsiness. Feeling sleepy behind the wheel is almost, if not just as dangerous as driving while under the influence of alcohol, especially at night. In fact According to a study by Virginia Tech, drowsy drivers are four times more likely to be involved in a crash or near-crash.
[li]Driver drowsiness does not necessarily mean falling asleep behind the wheel (though this is highly dangerous), it can also refer to a driver zoning out for just a moment or two – enough time to cause a serious accident.[/li][li]You can avoid potential drowsiness behind the wheel by always getting a good night’s sleep – eight hours per night, if possible. You should also take frequent breaks while driving (especially if you feel yourself getting tired) to get some fresh air or drink a coffee. Share the driving responsibilities with another driver, if possible.[/li][li]You also need to be very cautious about taking medications which may cause drowsiness. If you are taking a cold medication or antihistamine, always read the warnings on the label.[/li][/ul]
Always wear a seat belt. Wearing a seat belt while driving is essential – wearing a seat belt can the reduce the risk of fatal injury to passengers aged 5 and above by 45%, and reduce the rate of moderate to serious injury by 50%.
[li]Wearing a seat belt prevents the occupants of a car from being thrown around the vehicle or being propelled through the windshield during a crash, thus helping to prevent broken bones, severe head trauma, lacerations and the possibility of being run over by another vehicle.[/li][li]Although you sometimes hear frightening stories about people who become trapped in their car as a result of wearing their seat belt, this is an anomaly and only counts for a tiny percentage of accidents. In the vast majority of accidents, the seat belt will work in your favor.[/li][/ul]
Stay calm. Even though sitting in a traffic jam or dealing with another driver’s bad behavior can be extremely frustrating, it’s important to stay calm while driving. Getting angry or upset will only distract you and make you more likely to do something dangerous.
[li]Avoid doing anything that could aggravate other drivers, like flashing your headlights, beeping your horn, or making rude hand gestures. This kind of behavior can distract other drivers and potentially cause an accident.[/li][li]If another driver does something dangerous or acts aggressively towards you, keep your cool and yield to the other driver, or let them pass you by. The sooner they’re out of your way, the better.[/li][/ul]
Observe the speed limit. It may seem obvious, but observing the speed limit is a vital part of safe driving.
[li]Remember that the higher the speed, the less time you have to react to the traffic around you, and collisions are far more likely to be serious if they occur at speed.[/li][li]For shorter trips (Town Driving), speeding is only going to save you a couple of minutes of time, but it greatly increases the risk of a serious accident. If you need to be somewhere on time, just leave earlier.[/li][/ul]
Follow the three second rule. It’s very important to avoid following another car too closely, as this gives you less time to react if the driver in front of you decides to brake or turn suddenly. For safety, drivers are advised to maintain a distance of three seconds between their car and the car in front of them.
[li]The distance is measured in time rather than feet (or other units of measurement) as it can be difficult to judge distances while driving, and what counts as a safe distance varies depending on speed.[/li][li]To judge the minimum safe distance according to the three second rule, pick a stationary object on the side of the road like a lamppost or tree/bush. When the car in front of you passes this object, begin to count the seconds – at least three seconds should pass before you pass the same object.[/li][/ul]
Be extra careful in poor driving conditions. Being a good driver involves tailoring your driving to the surrounding conditions – whether you’re faced with bad weather, poor visibility, or simply driving at night.
[li]Driving in poor conditions requires you to be even more cautious than you normally would – you should drive slower than the speed limit, maintain additional space between your car and the car in front of you and be very careful around twists and bends.[/li][li]If it’s dark, foggy or raining, you should also remember to turn on your lights – you need to be seen if you want to avoid getting hit![/li][li]Remember to stop and clean off fogged windows to improve visibility. A surface treatment (such as “Rain-X”) can help to improve visibility through rained-on glass.[/li][li]Of course, the safest thing to do is to avoid driving in poor weather conditions altogether. If there’s very bad rain, snow or ice on the road, you should consider staying at home if possible.[/li][/ul]
Be wary of other drivers. When driving, you should never assume that everyone else on the road will act in a safe, responsible manner, or that they will react to a situation in the same way as you.
[li]As a result, you need to be alert and aware of your surroundings at all times, and be ready to react instantly to what’s going on around you. This is known as driving defensively.[/li][li]Some specific bad driving practices to watch out for include: failing to use the turn signal, changing lanes unexpectedly, stopping suddenly, speeding, swerving and tail-gating.[/li][/ul]
Use your mirrors and check your blind spots. Don’t just pay attention to the cars and road in front of you – you should be scanning more-or-less constantly, using your mirrors to watch the cars on either side and behind you.
[li]However, every vehicle has blind spots – so know where yours are, and make allowances for those of other vehicles. Always check your blind spot by looking over your shoulder before turning or changing lanes.[/li][li]You could also consider getting a blind-spot mirror, but be aware that anything in it is much smaller than it appears.[/li][li]Don’t block your vision – avoid putting decals on your windows or hanging dangling objects (like furry dice) from your rear-view mirror.[/li][/ul]
Use your indicators when turning. Always, always use your turn signals to indicate where and when you’re going to turn. This gives other drivers time to react – making it both the safest and most courteous thing to do.
[li]Signal as soon as you decide that you would like to make a turn, then look for a space into which to make the turn, not vice versa. This gives other drivers more time to notice you, and perhaps even open up a space for you.[/li][li]These rules also apply when you are changing lanes, as suddenly switching lanes without giving the drivers around you advanced warning can be very dangerous.[/li][li]Turns into traffic (for example, left turns in right-hand-drive countries) are especially hazardous, and should be avoided if possible. Plan your trip to make turns with the traffic whenever possible.[/li][/ul]
Be cautious around trucks. Trucks are a special hazard; their drivers cannot see other vehicles as well as you can in a car.
[li]Therefore, it’s important to give trucks extra space – you can do this by observing a six second rule (instead of three second) when driving behind a truck.[/li][li]Be extremely careful when overtaking a truck. If there is an accident between a car and a truck, the driver of the car will be the one most at risk.[/li][/ul]
And Finally
[ol]
[li]Be courteous. People will not expect it, and it will help create good will on the highway, where it is needed so much. If you’re in a traffic jam, it’s so easy to let a few cars into your lane. It won’t make any difference in your time, is much safer, and makes the day so much easier for them too. They will be encouraged to help others too. Make highway driving a pleasant experience.[/li][li]Always yield to pedestrians.[/li][li]Drive in a way that other people can figure out what you are doing. Make sure what you are trying do while driving is reflected by what you are doing. Other drivers can not get in your head, so all they can know is what you tell them with your actions. Turn signals, break lights, hazard lights, and whether or not you are accelerating are the only things that they can read. If you use them all properly, you should be able to clearly communicate exactly what your intention is.[/li][li]If there’s an accident or scene on the side of the road, be particularly careful at these instances, because likely most everybody else is looking at it too, and not paying attention to their driving. So watch out for rear-end collisions, etc., particularly in these circumstances.[/li][li]Check both ways when pulling onto a road, even if you’re just taking a right. Sure it’s easy to see no cars are coming when you look left, but it’s possible a driver could be passing a car coming from the right, being in your lane.[/li][li]Some of the common mistakes that people make, that you can watch out for, are:[/li][ul]
[li]Trying to beat red lights (or just not seeing the red light at all). Watch to make sure all traffic has stopped before going out into an intersections; don’t trust them to do it correctly necessarily.[/li][li]Not looking thoroughly before switching a lane. Never drive in a car’s blind spot.[/li][li]Signaling to do one thing, and not doing it (i.e. an oncoming car signals they’re going to turn, but then goes through the intersection).[/li][/ul]
[/ol]
LETS BE SAFE GUYS, NA SHETANI ASHINDWE

20 Likes

Thanks. This thread should be featured as a sticky hapo juu bwana @admin @old monk. Too many accidents this weekend and some which didn’t make it to the media. Another thing is that you should not put too much pressure on your tires above what is recommended if it is 30 psi let it be 30. Too much pressure is the leading cause of tire busts. The recommended tire pressure is indicated on your driver’s car door
http://www.cartalk.com/sites/default/files/advice/images/ctTire1.jpg

15 Likes

ulibuy axela?

Iko kwa vision 2020 :stuck_out_tongue:

Nice list… Emphasis on this as well:

Respect other road users. This includes cyclists, motorcyclists, skateboarders et al. This is very important because they do not have the kind of protection that you’ve got and any close interaction could result in death and a possible manslaughter charge. Keep distance and overtake carefully

Use your side mirror and rear view mirrors frequently. I have escaped accidents twice by checking my rear view mirror to spot a danger before it gets to me.

My driving survival skills:

1. I once followed a miraa car for the thrill of it and learned a good skill on the use of hazard lights. At night use hazard lights where there is a bump ahead and where vehicles reduce speed suddenly or whenever a vehicle has stalled on the roadside.

2. Avoid being followed by trucks just switch lanes or overtake the car infront…just don’t be followed by a truck. If no way out, leave a sufficient space in front of you. So that if the truck’s breaks fail you can at least find space to maneuver. I once avoided being crushed on 'Mombasa road by employing this manoeuvre. the guy who took my place on the road wasn’t too lucky

3. If you’re following a truck leave sufficient space in front so as to allow other road users to overtake and take up your position.

4. Respect lorries on roundabouts, keep your lane always on roundabouts. Don’t overtake lorries unless you are sure there is sufficient space for them to break once you’ve taken up the new position.

5. Understand and plan for your exit points before you enter the roundabout. Be ready to hoot furiously to anyone who is not following their lane and stepping into yours.

6. At night if driving on a narrow road indicate right whenever you see an oncoming vehicle to show the width of your car.

If you want to learn defensive driving skills just watch how Mercedes-Benz owners drive especially E and S class drivers. They know not many drivers or insurance companies will repair their car to the required standard so they keep distance and watch out for other drivers. They won’t even follow a dirty car on the road.

15 Likes

Exactly!

@The_Virus sticky for how long?

leo tu. it has been a bad weekend bwana

Sawa

My two cent,please park the car before you receive a call. When you are through please inform the guy on the other end you are driving hence will not be able to pick for a given period.
When pressed(kukojoa/kupupu) also don’t be a hero/heroin.Park kando and do the needful.

[ATTACH=full]46882[/ATTACH]

if you have to drink try to drink as close as possible to where you live mahali ata hufai kupanda gari

Maybe they are just mature enough to enjoy the ride? Good points though @Gio

Hiyo ya indicating when turning is most ignored rule. How can someone suddenly stop to exit and not indicate. I hit one juu ya hiyo upusi though he later became my best friend.

leta hekaya in a new thread uweke kwa motoring ama sex and relationships

buy a car with enough airbags, minimize number of long distance trips, be courteous, realize that that thing you call a car is only metal

we propose under sex and relationship’s

Was that before or after he came inside you?

Sorry I am multitasking like crazy. After he came, hehehe wewe ni chizi.

Its called tujuane episode