Safaricom finally enters TV market, Launches "Big Box". Hit or miss?

Telecommunication solutions provider Safaricom has launched a decoder that will enable access to TV content and the internet.

CEO Bob Collymore said ‘The BigBox’ will serve as a Wi-Fi hotspot connecting up to 10 users and support data-heavy applications.

“It will give you access to HD TV Channels and allow you to watch content through online video services like YouTube,” Collymore said during the launch at Sarit Centre on Friday.

He said the decoder will also allow subscribers to leverage extensively on the 3G and 4G networks to access content.

“Technology has influenced our day-to-day interactions as well as how we consume content. This, will make it easier for consumers to embrace the concept of edutainment and using internet to meet their needs,” he said.

The decoder’s first payment option will see subscribers pay an initial cost of Sh4,999 with Sh999 in six monthly installments.

“The package includes access to free-to-air TV stations and an allocation of up to 6GB a month in data bundles in addition to free YouTube viewing,” Collymore said.

The second option of a one-off fee of Sh9,999 allows access to free-to-air channels and up to 6GB in data bundles for a month and free YouTube access.

Subscribers who choose this option can also buy bundles of up to 50GB for Sh4,000.

Speaking during the release of the company’s financial results on Thursday, Collymore said the decoder “distributes the superfast connectivity via Wi-Fi to any existing Wi-Fi enabled devices”.

He further announced the distribution of the 4G network, currently available in Nairobi and Mombasa only, to 13 towns and cities around the country by the end of the 2015 calendar year.

Safaricom recorded an after tax profit of Sh31.9 billion for the financial year ended March 31, representing a 38 per cent increase from 2014’s profit of Sh23 billion.

The company’s mobile money service M-Pesa also registered a Sh32.6 billion profit up from Sh26.6 billion in the same period last year.
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/safaricom-enters-tv-market-bigbox-decoder-sh10000-one-fee#sthash.cLAWYg9t.Isw64EpR.dpbs

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CEeXMADVEAEZ30c.jpg https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CEej_G9WoAAQOHM.jpg:largehttps://pbs.twimg.com/media/CEfDcKKUEAE0eru.jpg

Anything safaricom pushes to the poor hapless customer sells.

The last option of 50GB for 4000/- looks enticing

Hope izo bundles mtu utaweza kununua kwa simu ukieka imei fake ya box

vuja __KEDE do yu work for safariCON ???

And it might sell in large numbers like their kabambe phones did.

Internet is supposed to be unlimited, hio ya bundles kwa haileti shangwe

Once they make internet unlimited then i will buy for now ikae… Jana pekee i downloaded 40gb so hii 50 itaisha day mbili?

240p
Bits Per Second (down): 400-500Kb
Bits Per Second (up): 5-9Kb
Data used per 5 minute video: 8.333MB

360p
Bits Per Second (down): 900Kbps - 1.1Mbps
Bits Per Second (up): 15-20 Kbps
Data used per 5 minute video: 13.333MB

480p
Bits Per Second (down): 1.5-1.6-1.7Mbps
Bits Per Second (up): 20-26Kbps
Data used per 5 minute video: 20MB

720p
Bits Per Second (down): 20+ Mbps
Bits Per Second (up): 320Kbps
Data used per 5 minute video: 37.5MB

1080p
Bits Per Second (down): 20+ Mbps
Bits Per Second (up): 320 Kbps
Data used per 5 minute video: 62MB

Aaaaaiiiiiii…Safaricom Offers mi hizi doubt…Isokei, Wale watagrab wa kwanza mtatushow how good it is…

Considering that its mobile broadband 3g,4g…sio that expensive lakini kuna other ways of providing high speed internet cheaply…lakini safaricon wako after our money so hawataki kuangalia hizo options

Not a worthy deal to me. Let me stick to my unlimited internet at 3,000 per month.

si ununue 6gb ya airtel at 2000 / month

Safaricom will soon be in every business like that “Mbugua” (Who is slimmer than @kush yule mnono :rolleyes:)guy in FAIBA ad. I cant wait to see them selling Mutura in GBs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFH-RjROsgw

My monthly usage is like this:
a) 1hr of music streaming per day= 1.17GB
b) 1 hr streaming of HD video=47.9GB
c) emails=1.4MB
Total monthly usage is approximately 52GB
if I use you Airtel package, I need 17k per month. If I use Safaricom, I need 4k per month. Mine is 3k per month unlimited!!! and if am philanthropic I can give it to two of my neighbours pia hao wajiambe without additional costs

It looks like a good deal. I dont think my data consumptoin in the house reaches 50gb in a month, maybe 40gb so i might just go for this. Especially since DSTV are joking…my premium bouquet is 9k now…

what provider is that? Orange?

Yes sir

Miss. sitaki bundles.

Exactly.