Safaricom a true definition of a hungry tiger... Always innovating.

Safaricom introduces M-Pesa transaction overdraft ‘Fuliza

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/companies/Safaricom-introduces-MPesa-transaction-overdraft/4003102-4834770-view-asAMP-yspq3e/index.html

Safaricom #ticker:SCOM will from next week introduce an overdraft facility for customers after M-Pesa and data services pushed up its half-year net profit by 20.22 per cent to Sh31.5 billion.

The overdraft service — known as Fuliza — that was piloted in October, will enable customers to send money or pay for goods and services when they have insufficient balance in M-Pesa wallets.

The telco is betting on the facility — a loan version of Okoa Jahazi for airtime and data bundle — to sustain its business volumes amid fears that steep increases in taxes could slow its growth momentum in the second half of the year.

The Nairobi Securities Exchange-listed firm on Friday reported that it earned Sh35.52 billion from globally-acclaimed M-Pesa in the six months to September, an 18.2 per cent jump from Sh30.05 billion a year earlier.

Growth in data services slowed in the period, expanding by 10.8 per cent to Sh19.45 billion while voice revenues were nearly flat, increasing 1.4 per cent year-on-year to Sh48.03 billion.

The overdraft facility being rolled out in partnership with KCB and Commercial Bank of Africa (CBA), will attract a daily charge of 0.5 per cent of the borrowing as a top-up to enable M-Pesa clients complete transactions.

KCB and CBA, which have leveraged on M-Pesa platform to offer instant mobile loans (MShwari and KCB M-Pesa respectively), will use algorithms based on transactions such as M-Pesa deals and airtime use to set a limit on amount which can be accessed by individual customers.

Chief executive Bob Collymore said the overdraft limit could be as much as Sh50,000, depending on the value of transactions.

“For example, if you want to buy goods worth Sh5,000 but you only have Sh4,500, you can borrow the bit that you don’t have (Sh500) within the limit that you have, just like an ordinary overdraft. You keep doing this again and again until you hit your limit, so it’s not that you borrow with us again,” Mr Collymore said in an interview.

“We don’t have final, final approval [from central bank] yet but we expect by middle of next week, we will have it. It’s a bit of a milestone for the three of us (Safaricom, KCB and CBA) and the pilot has shown that customers really like it.”

The overdraft facility is the latest of a raft of innovations that leverage on M-Pesa to generate additional revenue for Safaricom.

The prices for airtime, data bundles and money transfer services, Safaricom’s main revenue streams, have gone up after government increased taxes by almost one half in September.

0.5% a day ni 15% a month, hoping it’s simple interest. Si afadhali ukope kwa zile chama za wamama who charge 10% per month

Safaricom are in deep shit money laundering…hapa kuna pesa Mingi I doubt they are clean. Jana walinitumia I can take 20k mshwari and I don’t have an mshwari account nor asked them for a loan

So what’s the difference between this and Mshwari?

They are always collecting data about your transactions and analysing it. They are totally confident that you can easily pay that amount.

Nashangaa pia, but I think their reasoning is this is easier for users and I bet their cut of the interest will be bigger

Data is a gold mine ! In right hands it can be used to determine or influence many things that’s why Facebook is able to “suggest” the pages you should like or groups to join, targeted advertising and many more! The downside is that the people we trust with the data do not give a bat’s ass fuck about privacy! They sell it to third parties who bombard you with promotional texts and all inconveniences

True, companies like safaricom (Vodafone) have intricate details about our lives, taste, finances and relationships.

and porn tastes

:D:D:D of course.

Sasa na Kenyans have become addicted to Tala, Mshwari, M-kopa, Okoa Jahazi, etc. you do not ecpect them to read the details?

Some even borrow for multibets and boast aboit it hapa hapa Ktalk.

huyu ni @PrimalFear