It’s not a surprise to us. I hope afinye kila mtu kwanza hustlers ndio next time kuna demos waingie streets pia wao.
The cost will be passed to consumers. Cost of food will rise. KK government is a scam. Meffi
That figure is porojo. It will be optional for those who would like to meet the Kenyan safety standards ( KS 1758) for export or sell to renown supermarkets to fetch higher prices as it is in international standards ( ISO certified).
Visit AFA website for more clarification.
Atalipwa na mamake. GĂŻti kĂŻu.
So mama mboga na hasoras now cant suppy sukuma wiki to supermarkets without paying sakayo 97,000?
They will as usual but remember some consumers who value their health have learned the hard way after losing their family and friends due to untreatable cancer and will not compromise their safety again.
The two products will be on shelves. One with traceable flow from day one in the farm to the spoon branded as KS 1758 certified and the other one sprayed with banned harmful PPP & PHI not observed on the other shelf.
The choice will be yours.
Agriculture is devolved, this code will be implemented by County Agricultural board officers, or ?
Hapo sawa. Maliza small scale farming kabisa Zakayo. Food production tuachiwe sisi land barons.
We’ve seen the script before with KRA and and KEBS stickers, they’re everywhere, Hadi in Chang’aa dens kina @Abba wanaweka Hadi Kwa vikombe na mikebe za kimbo hawajui izo sticker ni za kazi Gani.
Each product has a unique code for traceability purposes.
Frequent random samples will be taken either openly or secretly by KEPHIS then taken through thorough advanced tests, incase of any contamination, A PIN which allows a grower to access his market will be deactivated, a notification will be send to the producer to recall all his products from the shelves then dispose safely ( documented) using his finances, then stop supplying his products under KS 1758 until a thorough audit and mitigation measures are observed.
I am in fresh horticulture export business through proxies and what I can assure you is that KEPHIS don’t compromise coz they are not the sole wapimaji, Europeans both in Kenya and Europe Sio mchezo, watarudia kupima and remember 10% of all produce are randomly selected and tested for conformities.
There is Kilimo House in National government headquarters with National Agricultural Officers.
Different government organs will team up. I.e AFA, KEPHIS, KEBS, .. it’s possible for county & national government not get directly involved in this. Wataingilia upande wa normal taxation tu.
Sisi watu wa Atkins diet tuko tu sawa, bora wasijaribu kugusa
![]()
We all support the Quality Control efforts. It is the failure of the systems along the way that we don’t like.
Kwa Duka yangu ya Cereals, KEBS insisted that they should certify my weighing scale at some cost, and that was that, they didn’t care the quality of cereals I was selling, for all they cared was collecting the weights charges. Same as my Wines and spirits as long as I paid KRA their dues, I will cook my stuff and put up the fake KRA/KEBs stickers and sell.
Back to your argument, Kephis and GoK are only serious because they are accountable to EU, due to the retest done as soon as the products land there.
GOK is not accountable to Kenyan public, that’s why you can spray DDT on your farm, use human waste for manure and still sell your stuff locally and you’ll not prosecuted.
Are we expecting them to be competent ?
It’s so because KS1758 is not practised there so KEPHIS won’t step there ( Trespass).
Some supermarkets in suburbs serving Europeans and other foreign nationalities living in Kenya are embracing it.
Let’s hope this initiative to spread it to willing players get embraced.
So it’s okay for Kenyans to eat shit but Europeans to eat the good stuff? No wonder our bodies are stronger and resilient
Yes.
Because other independent private bodies will do the retest to ensure it complies.
It was then when we were consuming natural foodstuffs but now things are different esp for urbanites who buy 95% of food from unknown sources.
It’s the reason the government is stepping in to enlighten the “ordinary” and implement it to those who will see some sense in it.
Lakini govt apologists and bloggers mko na kazi mingi sana. The same govt that cant provide clean water and solid waste management ndio watakuwa na capability to police farming? Are you even aware that we have Chinese haammers with KEBS quality stickers that disintegrate on first contact with nails?