I spent the last five years bashing Ruto and pointing to his expansive record of thievery. But, it has now dawned on me that in Kenyan politics, to survive, thievery is a necessary evil. No one is going to follow if you don’t have goodies to dish. You can’t mount a serious campaign if you don’t have dirty money backing you, because every other serious candidate does. So, if Ruto ‘stole’ at any point, it was for political survival and self-preservation.
Now, why is he the best president? This guy seems to be the only president in recent times who has a clear grasp of what’s happening in the country. He has an ear on the ground as well as a clear understanding of the fiscal currents shaping our economy. Kibaki was great, but he was too old and had lost touch with the common mwanainchi. Ruto though has it all. A head for economics. A common touch. The leadership skills and political acumen to herd all the hyenas we have as leaders in one direction, which is exactly what we need in these uncertain times.
Yeah, herd the Hyenas to a grand feast. the only thing i like about him so far in the videos is how green he looks in protocol. he must have been watching uhulu enjoying those privileges in envy… the other day they gave him a ride on Mois favorite parade Land Rover. you could see the anticipation from his body language.
For Ruto to salvage the economy, he has to shaft the common mwananchi. That is his stand at the moment. No subsidies, no tax reduction, and reduced public spending in projects.
It will be at least three years before the country starts “enjoying” his rule.
I think u are either drunk, plain stupid or maybe it’s sarcasm at play
Kibaki first major policy was free primary education, thousands went to school, private academies in slums closed
That alone had a huge impact on almost everyone
Then came the usual weekly TB auctions by Central Bank,he stopped it for almost six months: the results were almost instant!!!
By December 2003, interest rates on loans went to a single digit,so much that people wondered what would have happened had donde bill on interest been passed.
By march 2004 banks were competing in opening new branches, Barclays opened a record 67 branches in less than a year.
Ruto sioni anything that he has done so far that has any meaningful positive impact on people’s lives.
Taxes on most items are up and so are prices of commodities,stima,mafuta… school fees.
Sijui how that can mean he has an ear on the ground
Ruto is a conman and I will keep on saying that.But he is smart and more sharp than Uhuru.That has always been evident even when he was the deputy President.His looting spree was both for political survival and greed.Now Raila would have made the worst President in this country.First the man lacks organisation and discipline, actually the 2022 campaigns were the only campaigns where he seems organised, and that is because of the state machinery.His own campaign manager From 2007 Salim Lone and Sally Kosgei revealed in a meeting with Ranneberger that Raila lacked discipline and that he mostly relies on charisma on the campaign trail.With a struggling economy and a debt crisis, a populist , reformist and indisciplined person like Raila Odinga would have been terrible.