RUTO Akazima Internet What VPN Would Work? Maybe Only Satellite Based Connections

Kenya’s connection to the rest of the world in 98% via submarine optic cable that lands at the coast. RUTO akinyonga hiyo line mtado??

THURAYA… who remembers this early 2000’s satellite phone

Still around.

Many phone manufacturers will include satellite connectivity in their devices. Apple has already started this.

VPS na Proxies?

In my previous life, at some point nilimanage BGP ya a large ISP.

I had the capability to shut down traffic ya inchi mzima to the outside world mbaki na some sort of an intranet :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Degree less retards like @Uzo and @Jimit hawawezi jua hii mambo…

Tell us about the interesting things you did as a degree-holding tech that wielded so much power in a position of immense national importance. Hio ya ku-shut down traffic anyone can do even an intern. They just need to not know that the F they are doing.

How does what you have just told us set the two of you apart?

HOT AIR. Hata na jaba hii tumekataa

fart-grin.gif

Actually at one point in time that was a possibility. ALL internet in the country was routed via JamboNet, the only tier-1 service provider in KE. Tier-2 SPs like Nairobi Net and Iconnect etc. routed their traffic via Jambonet. At the time there wasn’t even an excahnge point in KE, meaning that even access to local sites had to be routed overseas then back into the country. Its not too far-fetched to hypothesize a single device or multiple devices under the same provider could be turned off to disconnect the entire country from the rest of the world.

Of course all that changed over the years but even now the CA and the relevant ministry can order an internet switch-off with a threat to withdraw a license of any provider who does not comply. I don’t really know the legalities around this, maybe @auctioneer or someone else can dig through his employer’s law books and tell us.

What statute(s) can the gov’t use to order an internet shutdown? Which ones can be used to challenge the same in court?

Lakini ujue it can still be done unilaterally ju Kenya sio nchi ya kufuata sheria

We don’t have courts in kenya. Zakayo anatambariza iyo kinembe ya CJ mbaya sana.