MMNN
I have given this a two-week cooling off period for perspective; I was rather angered by it all at the time.
After a Kabete policeman who had stopped me at Kinoo couldn’t find my car registration in their speeding book he came round the car and eventually decided one of my rear tyres was worn. The tyre was indeed marginal, it had hit the tyre wear indicator in the grooves. He asked me “Sasa tufanye nini?” I ignored what he was implying ( a bribe) told him I would take a warning and change the tyres. He declined and decided to write me a notice to attend court.
The following Monday I appeared in court no. 5 at Kibera before Magistrate Derrick Kuto. Signs that I might be in more trouble than I had anticipated started when he shifted from cases transferred from other courts and started to hit traffic offenders with eye-popping fines. Four guys who were touting got a fine of KSh 40,000 each or 3 months in jail. Another 3 guys the same. A driver who had caused obstruction and done something else got 40k for each count. My time came. I pleaded guilty and was asked to speak in mitigation. I requested leniency and said a few words. He hit me with a fine of KSh 30,000 or 3 months in jail.
I had been told to expect a fine of up to 10,000. I was gobsmacked. I was led to the side of the court with remandees and convicted guys. A cop came and asked me if I was ready to pay the fine. I offered to pay by MPESA. He said cash would be easier. Eventually I was called to the desk in front of the magistrate to pay the fine. As I started to do the transaction using the PayBill number posted on the wall, I was told by the orderly not to use it and she then entered an agent number into my phone and asked me to put in the amount and PIN. I was taken back to my seat and eventually given a judiciary receipt. And just in the nick of time because as I got out of the court the cops started clearing the way to come through with remandees and convicted persons who hadn’t paid fines.
So… there is something fishy going on in Magistrate Kuto’s court. At the most benign, there is a problem with how the payments are made possibly set up to profit private enterprises from transaction fees instead of using the judiciary PayBill. At worst there is a suspicious combination of harsh hefty fines and questionable handling of fines paid.
I was encouraged to write to the judiciary ombudsman and a services email. None responded. I was lucky to be able to pay and get out of there. The judiciary keeps parroting its commitment to non-custodial sentences and strengthening the rule of law. You won’t get that by jailing touts for three months and giving people incentive to pay bribes on the road and avoid court.
Hii story umetoa huko Tuko.co.ke
Well pia screenshots blaari nugu
[ATTACH=full]189077[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]189077[/ATTACH]
Aki ya Ngai Syombua katimba ka! niukundambua umuthi
[ATTACH=full]189078[/ATTACH]
hahahahaha
I deal with white policemen
They let me go once they realize i am polite and law abiding and not a violent nigger
The things i have gotten away with due to some sweet words…
‘Lot’ ni wewe.
[ATTACH=full]189079[/ATTACH]
Panya ii.
[ATTACH=full]189080[/ATTACH]
silly courts
Pipi ya rot aringeuka akawa chumvi, chunga sana jakimio
Village Chieth, Chunga sana.
Saitan.
Ibilisi.
jakipash unasumbua. umefika stage gani hapa?
Cosmas, kuja pole pole.
Komba mwiko.
Very misleading title ogola alikata na kitunguu anakuja kupiga kelele meff yeye.
You offer to suck them dix
Bwana Pamba bwana,hizi tabia ziishe…ama unafikiri 2345 iko mbali
Chief,
All the evidence is there. If that Paybill is personal and frequently used to divert those hefty fines, DCI should be able to trace the money to an individual. No point just pasting it here.
Huyu Kativui most probably ni Sila…
That playbill no no longer works and on part of hefty fines you can’t be fined more than what’s prescribed in the law and lastly if ogola has a right of appeal within 14 days , apambane na hali yake bila kusumbua wakenya na akumbuke kutengeneza gari .
So Safaricom is aiding and abetting corruption?
Kumpata Mwenye Hio paybill ni very fast
Kwa ufupi ukipigwa fine lipa cash bila kusumbua ogola = @Meria Mata