On my way to work I saw this and I just had to take photos decided to ask what was going on, on my mind I was like maybe ni destruction ya mvua but No, the story was completely different…The landlord had already issued them with a Notice to vacate like 3times but the tenants wakakuwa vichwa Nguma wakakatalia ndani.so he decided to give them a surprise welcome in the morning. Hapo Sasa ndiyo Walijua Rafiki ni Yesu,wakajuwa hawajui hata Kidogo but now my question is, is it even right to do such to someone elses biashara? That’s what their families depend on, Why didn’t he go the legal way to have them vacate bila destructions?
I was responding to this - “but now my question is, is it even right to do such to someone elses biashara? That’s what their families depend on, Why didn’t he go the legal way to have them vacate bila destructions?”
Apparently there was an edit to include the three times notice. Don’t you find it strange he is lamenting about the landlord not going the legal way when he knows they had been asked to vacate but they didn’t?
Traders suffered losses on Monday after a Nairobi building at the centre of an ownership dispute was demolished.
The building on Ronald Ngala Street housed about 30 stalls stocked with clothes, shoes and beauty products.
The affected traders blamed the county saying officers should have allowed them to remove their property.
But City Hall Director of Operations Peter Mbaya said inspectorate officers had nothing to do with the demolition.
“Police had a court order to bring the building down,” Mbaya said.
Central OCPD Robinson Thuku said they implemented a court order produced by a developer who wants to put up a building at the same spot.
“The case had been in court for almost five years. After winning, the developer acquired an order to demolish the building.”
Thuku said the traders had been asked to leave but that they ignored the directive.
Some of the traders confirmed that they had been asked to vacate the building but said they were not given specific timelines.
“They could have told us yesterday and we would have removed our items from the stalls. This is a great loss,” Jacob Mungai said.
“We were here yesterday and business went on as usual.The police could have done the demolition without damaging items,” Hanna Muthoni said.
Kama nyumba si yako na umepewa ilani uhame, tafuta sehemu mbadala kuendeleza biashara. Sasa wanakadiria hasara iliyowapata badala ya kukuza biashara. Msiba wa kujitakia huu.
After all those notices then you cannot blame landlord. The court system that Kenyans funds to the tune of billions shillings every year has once again failed us.
Methinks we should get rid of the judiciary if it continues to be a money waster
Ati wanasema wangeambiwa ndio watoe vitu zao :D:D:D:D
Hii Kenya yetu ya “certificate of urgency” na “anticipatory bail”, ata mimi kama ni huyo landlord sigwes take chances. Watafute yule mhindi wa Jack & Jill, na yule wa Nakumatt Thika Road, waform support group.
Nowadays if tenants refuse to get out …of these old structures…you apply for a letter from the health department condemning the building as unfit for human habitation. A notice will be issued for vacation and demolition chini ya maji. Unakalia hiyo notice unaipeana siku ya demolition. Of course OCS atakuwa amepata kakitu ya protection.
I’ve seen this, landlord wanted to kick out a bank branch,the lease had run out and the bank didn’t want to sign ingine long term since they wanted to move to a more spacious premises. Ilibidi bank wakae chini nayeye wampatie kile alikuwa anadai
Ronald Ngara ni wapi ? Anyway tenants pia ni vichwa ngumu , they can get a court order and get a stay for a long time ! so you are forced to do shit like this