The school are closed and this in many communities marks a session where many undergo rites that act as a symbolic end of childhood and begining of adult stages/connecting with the traditions and customs of your people, that have been in existence for thousands of years, this is depending with the background.
I saw in some parts of the country, the exercise it’s being done in churches, a thing that is cropping up in many other areas.
In some parts of the republic, fusion of rites of passage and religious beliefs are as old as the practice.
Ours is considered a sacred thing and community elders have to be consulted, and they in turn consult various traditional tools, the current readings of the constellations isn’t favourable to the rites of passage, disappointed boys who were awaiting their turn have to wait until an all clear signal is given by elders.
In light of this, I saw a debate by guys from the mountain some castigating churches that have undertaken the responsibilities of conducting the rites, claiming that churches are milking money as usual from their Kondoos. Other supporting the churches, what’s your opinion on this elders?
I think 90% of men here skipped that rite of passage. Its important in life as it start the process of maturity mentally and physically.
Mimi I was told we were going to hunt and taught how to live like men, I got excited. It turned out to be 2 weeks of beatings and lectures with terrible food in between. Lakini ilisaidia.
I thought there are no such ceremonies this year kiptoyot komas kasit @Tarantinoh aka Josphat
Even me if i got you would have given you a sweep and 2 hot slaps ndio ukuwe mwanaume…
^^^Here is one of them, a clear sign that age and maturity are mutually exclusive.
In Meru, the ibĩchĩ are taken to hospitals for the cut and then to church run hostels for 2 weeks of indoctrination of course at a fee, then the homecoming where the parents invite all and sundry. Of course you go with some tidy sum of cash as a present. With the cash, some parents have no problems with form one fees
IMO in this time and age bora the cut imefanywa. Be it kwa river, hospital, medical camp ama wherever. Gone are the days ilikuwa lazima ma adventures and all the stuff that goes with the rites. Though I don’t support the biashara aspect that this process has been turned into.
… says the man who is beaten like a burukenge by his wife coz of drinking out with the boys. did you stop taking refuge in the police stations for fear of going home when drunk???
And staying in the bush for a week or two cannot be compared to the harsh lessons one learns through life experiences. The religious or traditional rites of passage they just indoctrinate teenage boys.
Hapana tambua kukamuliwa na serikali na raiya ati right of passage ,wangu napeleka hospitali nakurudisha nyumbani.
PCEA na AIPCA ya akina Archdeacon Gashui wamezidi kwanza
link please, nimejifunga leso
PCEA wamekuwa ka ekwite wanahustle sana.
hii ngombe ya jubilee chieth ilienda kujificha police station after kulewa. ilibidi OCS kuingilia kati and call his wife… @Ice_Cube leta link ya hii hekaya ya @spear
Later SAA hii sina laptop.
[ATTACH=full]204156[/ATTACH]
@uwesmakei ongeza kiPiece ya chupa ya fanta @jakenya ako hapa