Today, village fa.g @Thirimaii asked me why I haven’t retired at age 30. I couldn’t help but pity the guy because like most of you, society has sold a dream to him. Retirement is a myth. If you think that you will ever live without a worry in this world as money keeps rolling in, you are highly mistaken my friend. The best you can do is take breaks in between. The day you retire, is the day that you die. A man is meant to work and stay active until the day he falls. When his body can’t cope, he changes the type of work he does, but he does not retire. The life expectancy of a man in Kenya is just shy of 70 years. Stop worrying about retirement like a p’uss’y and start grinding.
You can solve the money problem and escape the matrix, but you can’t solve the work problem. Warren Buffett, Bezos, etc have already solved the money problem but they still work. They have more money than they need in 10 lifetimes. The idea that money will free you from work is misguided. Work gives you a purpose and money allows you to actualize that purpose. If you lose a purpose in life, you die. That’s why Gates, Bezos, Musk, etc will all report to work tomorrow morning.
Why would anybody want to retire in the first place? Boredom will eat your ass to pieces. Yes you can be globetrotting seeing places and shit, but then you will need serious bank to sustain that lifestyle. I remember a mhindi guy in his 70s used to tell me kazi is what is keeping him alive akiacha kazi his end will be neigh. True enough, he passed away a year after halting his operations.
You are the one on the wrong,when I retire i will move to do other interesting stuffs which am working on right now.
Noone retires to go sit at home.Will still sell my skill through consultancy…where i will be calling the shots in terms of time and conditions.
If that doesn’t work I will be managing my gigz far away from the usual rat race…that is what i mean by retiring
Of course you will engage in certain hobbies and stuff, of which you will need proper bankroll. If not you will try your hand at other hustles, which will not be retirement per se but change of work.
No amount of money will liberate you from work. The only thing money does is buy you breaks from work and freedom to choose the type of work you want to engage in. Billionaires work because there is something else that motivates them beyond the money.
Clearly, retirement is a myth. The only thing money does is giving you the freedom to choose your line of work but its work nonetheless.
If heading a shareholders meeting with thousands of people asking questions, attending numerous meetings and tv interviews is not work, I don’t know what work is. Elon still has to answer to the board, etc. Ama wewe unafikiria kazi ni mjeii pekee. Sio kila kazi inahitaji ugali.
Shareholders meeting once a year? Tv interviews were everything is scripted and they have questions well ahead of time? You rarely know deeply of anything you talk about. If you think mzee kama Warren Buffet or Bill Gates does any actual “work” you’re dumb af.
You are dumb AF if you think billionaires never clock in hours. In fact, you can’t define work clearly. According to your obviously dense brain, work only refers to manual labor.
:D:D:Dthinking a billionaire clocks in work? Billionaires have people who scratch their balls. Unafikiria ati Bill Gates anakaa chini adevelop software ama arectify accounts ama ata sijui analyse financial performance. They employ people to do that all this stuff yaani this is basic capitalism. What’s so hard to understand?
:D:D:D:D let me laugh again ati Bill Gates will report tomorrow morning kwani unafikiria ni babako analipwa endmonth? God you’re so dumb and the funny thing is you pretend you know everything.
Mark Cuban clocks in hours at shark tank even if he doesn’t have to. Why? Because something else motivates him to work and its not money. After all, after appearing in 10+ seasons of sharktank, he has only used less than 1% of his net worth in those “investments”. Clearly, he doesn’t need the meagre salary to host but he does so anyway.
Money wont free you from work because its not the only reason people work. Work is an incurable element of human life. Money just softens the blow and gives you freedom to choose which type of work you want.
When you are giving your analysis, it’s best to try and avoid such people, Musks, Gates, Buffet, Bezos…in your examples. They do not conform to the norm. Hapa you are trying to hard to prove a point. I can count the number of people who will get to their level in one hand. Mark Cuban clocks in as a joke really. He has people working for him in all aspects. Even the decisions he make on Shark Tank are not by him. Use regular rich people.
They are literally the best examples of people who work despite having attained financial freedom. Cuban doesn’t have to follow what the producer says but he does. Using your logic, he could literally just send someone to represent him on the show.
Cuban is a face of that show, without which ratings will drop. You can retire in Kenya, ubaya you will start to deteriorate very fast mentally and physically. So it’s not advisable to retire. Because of inflation, it makes it very hard to retire. Wale wasee walikua na pensions from retiring in the 80s and 90s, siku hizi wanalia. Their money is not worth much. Hiyo ni chakula for one week.