Rent Tribunal

Late last year I moved houses.in hurry. I couldn’t find time to meet the terms set by the then contracted agency firm.

I passed by the firms offices last month to be informed that the property is no longer under their care.

The care taker who used to work there left. The current Caretaker flatly refused to acknowledge the receipts.

How is the rent tribunal accssed and at what cost both in time and finances?

Kwani umesota? Move on. Hio kesi yako ni ngumu.

USIKUBALI KUMOVE ON HIO NI KUPROMOTE IMPUNITY , SUE THE CHIETH OUT OF THEM UPEWE MPAKA DAMAGES

Most case huwa zinaruliwa in-favor of maLandlord/birrioneas. But just try your luck.

There are two tribunals that deal with tenant/landlord disputes.

1. The Business Premises Rent Tribunal.

As the name suggests, this tribunal deals with disputes in respect of business premises. However its jurisdiction is limited to tenancies where the tenancy period is not stipulated in a contract or where the tenancy period is for five years or less.

1. The Rent Restriction Tribunal.

The Rent restriction tribunal deals with disputes in respect of residential premises. However its jurisdiction is limited to residential premises whose rent is Kshs 1,500.

Every other tenant/landlord dispute must be litigated in the normal courts.

P.S
You have admitted here that you moved houses hastily without complying with the conditions in your tenancy agreement. That, son, is called breach of contract. You will be litigating from a very unfavourable position. You will most likely lose. I wouldn’t bother litigating if I were you.

Let it go…it will cost you more time, resources, and headache.Especially since you failed to “meet the terms set by the then contracted agency firm.” Just pick up the pieces and pray one day you will be a landlord :slight_smile: otherwise utazungushwa hadi uskie kizungu zungu

Have you tried jungle tactics? Like asking for the deposit while sharpening a machete?

fellow elders have spoken…

:eek::eek::D:D:D. You are a wild one.

2,500/=. Kijana, listen to dingoo. You may save time and money

Unajua pecuniary jurisdiction ya rent restriction tribunal? Kwani unaishi kwa hao ya ndoro?

what i know is that hii nairobi ukimove houses you will be lucky if you are refunded half the deposit fcuk landlords they come up with flimsy reasons like repainting the house mark you you havent even scratched the walls ati replacement ya window panes , labour cost, power etc just let it go na kama plot unaishi unaona utasumbuana na agents wakati wa kuhama koroga cement and flash it down the toilet atleast the landlord will utilise it properly to unblock the sewage(advice from buyer beware)

Si ungekalia deposit

Soma hii

RENT RESTRICTION ACT
[Date of assent: 24th August, 1959.]
[Date of commencement: 1st October, 1959.]
An Act of Parliament to make provision for restricting the increase of rent, the
right to possession and the exaction of premiums, and for fixing standard
rents, in relation to dwelling-houses, and for other purposes incidental to
or connected with the relationship of landlord and tenant of a dwellinghouse
[Act No. 35 of 1959, L.N. 700/1961, L.N. 627/1962, L.N. 765/1963, L.N. 768/1963, L.N. 2/1964,
Act No. 37 of 1966, Act No. 29 of 1967, L.N. 17/1970, Act No. 1 of 1971, Act No. 9 of 1971,
Act No. 5 of 1981, Act No. 20 of 1989, Act No. 25 of 2015.]

1. Short title
    This Act may be cited as the Rent Restriction Act.
  2. Application
    (1) This Act shall apply to all dwelling-houses, other than—
    (a) excepted dwelling-houses;
    (b) dwelling-house let on service tenancies;
    (c) dwelling-houses which have a standard rent exceeding two thousand
    five hundred shillings per month, furnished or unfurnished

please make a video when you do this :D:D:D:D:D

Sikuwa na bishana na wewe about the application of the rent restriction act. Please soma swali langu.

mtakuja kujenga zenu ndiyo mtajua tunajinyima ili tuwatengenezee makao

Mujamaa kwanza wapi mbica ya finished one roomed mojo?

hizo one roomed huwa nazijenga ndio maskini kama wewe apate makao

Ok