RENT TRIBUNAL

Kuna landlord ameni zungusha sana… He owes me upwards of ksh. 100,000 as rent security / deposit for a small godown / store i had pale industrial Area…

Kuna procedure i can follow through RENT TRIBUNAL COURT to get him to refund…

I’ll appreciate help.[ATTACH=full]399921[/ATTACH]

Business Premises Rent Tribunal should help you… Why not get a lawyer to advise you before filing?

Just ensure you have documentation before proceding… kama ilikuwa agreement over a handshake na exchange of mulla, then just move on.

He needs to attach all agreements and statement of accounts from the time he took over tenancy to the time he left (after giving formal notice)… etc… Also so that he paid all bills, etc… Yaani loads of paperwork and correspondences and hand them over to a lawyer who will review them before taking action…

Mi hushindwa mbona mafia ya Kenya haiingilii such lucrative “businesses.” Landlord (ama any debtor) akikuzungusha na uko na some effidense ati amekatalia pesa zako, mafia wanakulipa alafu hiyo deni inakua yao. Kutoka hapo wanaanza kucharge huyo mushienzi interest ya 5% PER DAY. Watu wangekuwa wanalipa madeni haraka sana ukiwaambia utapeleka kesi kwa hao majambas.

Man,you are ruthless:D:D:D:D:D:D

And the these mafioso will extort you after they deal with your debtor… Never get involved in some things unless you can control the outcome…

You’re a landlord who refuses to refund tenants’ deposit, so I expect this line of thinking from you.

Be your own mafioso. Mtu akikumess deal na yeye

This is business of gangs like Mungiki and Gaza. You dont want us to go there

There is a simpler route. Go to tribunal offices at view park towers. Tell the receptionist to help you fill the necessary documents to file a case for your refund. Damage less than 2k official fee and another 1k za macho.
Have your landlord served. Two possible outcomes. One, Landlord anaogopa case especially if he is in the wrong, calls you, pays your money back and you are happy.
Two, landlord decides to challenge your claim. Don’t panic. Get all documents you have related to your claim, tell the same tribunal receptionist to refer you to one of the lawyers who hang around there. Damage, about 3-5k per representation.
Trust you me, those juakali lawyers know more about the workings and connections of the tribunal than your regular lawyer, and are also cheap.
Lastly, the rent tribunal is very sympathetic to tenant interests especially if your claims are honest, so you are 99 per cent assured of a refund.
Total damage for above consultancy, 5k to my M-PESA.

There is a simpler route. Go to tribunal offices at view park towers. Tell the receptionist to help you fill the necessary documents to file a case for your refund. Damage less than 2k official fee and another 1k za macho.
Have your landlord served. Two possible outcomes. One, Landlord anaogopa case especially if he is in the wrong, calls you, pays your money back and you are happy.
Two, landlord decides to challenge your claim. Don’t panic. Get all documents you have related to your claim, tell the same tribunal receptionist to refer you to one of the lawyers who hang around there. Damage, about 3-5k per representation.
Trust you me, those juakali lawyers know more about the workings and connections of the tribunal than your regular lawyer, and are also cheap.
Lastly, the rent tribunal is very sympathetic to tenant interests especially if your claims are honest, so you are 99 per cent assured of a refund.
Total damage for above consultancy, 5k to my M-PESA.

Vipi transporter? Leta hekaya za South Sudan

That is true… they are “street-wise”… I agree with your advice. But is the Business Premises Rent Tribunal there too? I thought it is only Residential Premises rent Tribunal that is based there

Yes it is there.

just get a lawyer to issue a demand letter…

Wow… Thanks you guy…

Mayb i can side chat you for more details…

There are pointers.

-after paying a deposit of 120k…he never issued an ETR reciept…

-5 months worth of rent as well… No ETR or formal reciept was issued… But i have the mpesa transactions…

-i wanted to involve KRA as well…

In the rent tribunal court, All you need is prove that you paid, and M-PESA transactions are enough prove.
And that court listens to you and is very reasonable + landlords fear litigation.
KRA route sounds malicious plus it is not the agency tasked with getting refunds from landlords.