So I have been living in this 1 bedroom flat. Rent was at first ksh 15,000.So six months in they increased that ikawa 17k. Thought it’s just 2k not worth the hassle so I just paid it up. Around a year later hivi which is now they have increased rent hadi 20k for the same 1 bedroom. What angered me most was their demand letter. It was very rude and basically said they increased the the rent to that point after doing a market research and finding 1 bedroom averages 20k - 25k in the area. The flats they talking about are new and have nice features which they actually don’t. If they said the increase in rent ni coz they want to add other amenities in the plot I would have found it understandable but wameongoza just because other plots are charging that much.
My question Is this legal? Can a landlord just increase rent whenever he wills like that? Am thinking of moving out.
When I was a young boy before civilization ifike kwetu, there were these face me type of matatus (Moja ya Nyamumbo Investment na ya Onyangi investment-Mungu laza hawa mabuda mahali pema) that were plying my home route.
You know they used to be quite overloaded coz of their availability.
Then there were these Urban Bred descendants who visited home on rare occasions. They used to complain alot ati they cant stand kufinywa na wamelipa pesa.
The makanga would remind them how ‘near home was’, proudly he would tell them shuka mpande zenyu kama hamjiskii na hii.Hapa sisi kasi nafanya namna hii. Hapa akuna uchinga
That’s one of my plans eventually. For now I am just exploring the legality of the whole thing I educate my fellow neighbours . There’s a mini protest going on in the plot. Tumekataa kulipa hiyo rent, sahi tuko giza wamekata stima.
Landlord can only review rent upwards similar to the average. rate on inflation in the past 12months. Download and read the rent act.
So in your case, he’s only supposed to review up by 2k. But if you point this out, he may as well introduce other charges that will wipe you out. So not worth the hustle
You and your neighbours can file a suit at the Rent Restriction Tribunal. The landlord is only supposed to increase the rent to cover any rates increase that the landlord pays for the premises. Rates = water, light or conservative charges such as refurbishing of the premises, new sewage system etc.
If you have the energy go ahead. Kenya isn’t one of those places where rule of law works so I don’t know how far you’ll go with the case assuming you succeed.
To what end my fren. So you win the case. The landlord then writes you a polite notice that he wants to renovate HIS property so he is giving you 3 months notice to vacate. What next??
Just move out into those beautiful ones that cost 20k instead ya kusumbuana na landlord. If they tried that shit with me nangoa milango niende nazo in the dead of the night.