Regional balance

hata kama huwa tunafunga macho sometimes it is too much, shiny eyes mutuambie if this is right with you. James Macharia has appointed 3 members of the nairobi metropolitan transport board from within Gema na yo top it off all the permanent Secretary within his ministry are from the same area. I think hata uhuru is not making an effort ya kuficha his tribal bias[ATTACH=full]156990[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]156991[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]156990[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]156991[/ATTACH]

They are appointed to that board by virtue of being the substantive PS’s of the relevant ministries that will supervise the authority work. The key word is “board” who only meet 10-12 times a year to approve the authority management decisions and follow up on their progress. They hold no office and will meet only in the boardroom. So far Nairobi Metropolitan Transport Board management is yet to be fully filled. We only know of Bitange Ndemo as the CEO. That said this are not the only board members of the authority, more will be appointed in time by President Uhuru. Gov. Sonko will also propose a few individuals from his cabinet to join them with the approval of State House.

this is indefensible boss, it paints a very bad picture to the public. uhuru anafaa aache hii ufala in public gatherings anasema let’s shun tribalism lakini yeye ndio anaongoza ukabila kenya

Inasemekananga hakukuwa na regional balance during voting, so you shouldn’t expect it in public appointments. Not that I support it though.

Btw @spear sasa hiyo Namata si ina-usurp functions za KURA? Urban/Metropolitan roads and transportation.

so you have gone round and round with your words to tell us nothing and defend the indefensible. upuuz

In my opinion, KeNHA, KURA and KERRA should all be merged into one roads authority but different departments. In the future I would even wish all infrastructure under one authority. Save on red tape, duplication of work and wages. They are already moving into one building next to JKIA so the time is right.

NAMATA is necessary as it coordinates all mass transport infrastructure projects in Nairobi under National and County governments. Its roads and rail at the moment but in the future it could as well be cable wires cars and subways. Instead of everyone doing their own uncoordinated projects, Namata does the master plan and implements it in full.

I used to think Uhuru studied at foreign country and hence would be less tribal and have better understanding in the handling of a diverse ethnic nation like Kenya. But what I am seeing in Uhuru is complete opposite . I just pray he doesn’t lead the country to the dogs

Personally, politics of fear is what drives regional balance. Its useless. When Okemo was Finance minister, did it help western? When Koskei was at Agriculture did it help North Rift, when RAT was PM did it help Nyanza. I would rather have 22 Matiangi in all ministries and they perform well to uplift all Kenyans that to have my tribes men there just for ego. Any CS appointment benefit him/her, their family first but we await to see what policy they will achieve so that all Kenyans can benefit.

That said politics demands you reward your base first then the rest. This is not a perfect world and so I’m not naive to its realities. Therefore expect the base first then the rest whether we agree to it or not. For example on the opposition the communities supporting Jubilee government were told openly to lie low.

In politics you reward those who supported you.

uhuru ndio aliomba kazi atafute 22 matiangis from each community hawezi wakosa

Sawa, but don’t assume this ones aren’t them already. Let’s await to see NAMATA score card in 2022 to judge.

I wouldn’t want them to be merged. KENHa and KERRA are doing good work. KURA are lazy mofos.

BTW, how do these guys know a certain road falls under County, KERRA, KURA or KENHA…?

KURA is the most incompetent authority in Kenya now. I do agree on that

@spear na hii?
[ATTACH=full]157030[/ATTACH]

But there are like 47 PSs. So 12 are Kikuyu 25% of PS froom a tribe who make up 20% of Kenya.

Considering some tribes are hell bent on non-cooperation and alot of civil disabedience, how do they expect a fair share in a realistic world. You cant have your cake and eat it.

But truth be told in the deep fleshy parts of covernment where media light dont shine, Kikuyus hold too much of the powerfull seats. Tea ladies and Supervisors arent equal.
NASA is even more tribal, Nyanza dominates, talk about preaching water and drinking wine. No wonder Kalonzo anahepa

The people who steal government documents and forward them to the opposition to fight the same government they are serving shouldn’t complain when they are left out of senior appointments .
Let them wait for their ‘cabinet’ to be named and get appointments there.

By grading. Class A-B KeNHA, Class C-D KURA, Class E-F KERRA.

This debate will never end with our generation, maybe our kids generation. Giving one’s tribesmen a position is not rewarding a community but that person. He/she however now has the opportunity to help all with their good work, service to all. In Molo we were neighbours with one Franklin Bett. It is a very multi ethnical area. He was then a powerful state house comptroller and after he was cabinet minister several times. In those few decades he only had power in his house and the road was graded to his gate only. Its only in the last few years that we got the road tarmacked and finally power lines arrived to all homes. At least former President Kibaki made Primary school to be free and paid part of outstanding farmers debt to KCC and NCPB. The balance was paid out in 2016. My tribes men is silly pride, give me someone who delivers.

True,
There is even a probability that if one knows his tribesmen will support him just because he is from their tribe, he can turn out to steal from them more than a person of another tribe. Case in point the corrupt when caught quickly retreat to their tribe and make them protect him, convincing them that the tribe is being targeted. When merit is ignored, incompetent people are hired who only feed their stomachs and think of securing their financial future. Everyone loses in the end.

I think some of us have totally believed the our tribe getting positions narrative, and I don’t think it will end anytime because the worrying part is that those peddling the tribe and appointments angle are educated guys, people who have access to information, people one would expect to be more minded about qualifications and deliverables rather than a persons name