Good afternoon my darlings,
I hope that your day is coming along fine. I’m okay too, thanks for asking! They say (who is they?!) the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. Now, let’s not get into the nitty gritties of that statement because we all have different views about it, Ok? Good.
PW has been going through thread after thread, in search of one that hints a recipe or even simply a ka-small ‘Men, this is how to cook’ section but sijapata. I’m not advocating for one to be created but @admin I’m offering to drop few kawaida recipes here once in a while for my beloveds. Ain’t an expert, no qualifications whatsoever…but I think I know a thing or two.
I know some of ya’ll billionaires, millionaire and even thousandaires know how to fix a meal but others haven’t been blessed with that gift. Sijasema ni vibaya kutojua…it’s our task (wanadada) , at least according to me! Haja yangu ni kusaidia mwenye atasaidika. Chukua kitakachokusaidia!
Recipe: Omena
What is Omena? Omena ni zile samaki ndogo ndogo hazijakomaa, tuseme ni teenagers. Very common among the Luopeans lakini these days imekuwa universal meal. Good protein source. Very affordable, kwetu zi huanzia 20bob kuendelea. Bei ya kuongea sometimes. I see it in supermarkets nowadays, well packaged - affordable still. Once you buy it though, kumbuka kuosha.
Ingredients:
• Omena
• Water.
• Milk or coconut cream (optional)
• Garlic/Dhania (optional)
• Two large tomatoes/chopped
• One large onion/chopped
• Cooking oil
• Salt
• Other spices that you like. Mine’s grounded black pepper:)
Instructions:
1. To ‘wash/clean’ the Omena, chagua kwanza utoe uchafu alafu weka kwa sufuria. Pour some water (amount depends on the amount of Omena) and boil/heat for about 10 mins. You can add some fresh chopped lemon in this mix. This is normally done kutoa ukali.
2. On a separate pan, heat oil and add kitunguu. Chunga zisiungue. Zikiwa ready, weka ile omena ndani. (Obviously apa ulikuwa ushaitoa ukadrain ile maji :)). Stir that ‘mkorogo’ alafu weka nyanya juu then ufunike.
3. After few minutes, say 10, add your spices, dhania and salt,…stir thoroughly and let it cook for about 5-7 mins but this time round on low heat. Alafu apa sasa ndio you can add the cream ama maziwa. Let it popni (Luopean for simmer) for 10 minutes and it’s ready to be served!
Best served with ugali/rice.
With love,
PW.