Reason for kibaki boom era

• illicit flows of somali pirate cash ( piracy was all time high), somali illegals skyrocket during kibaki era.
  • illicit Sudan cash flow
    -West opening door for aid which was stopped during moi era

Kenyans shouls cut slack uhuru and stop comparing his term with kibaki. Uhuru entered when west had pulled road blocks and his only chance was Chinaman.

Now West saw the “choices have consequences” wasn’t working and have resorted to using IMf to intimidate gov.

Seriously?

endelea kutetea muthamaki,sijawahi ona reason ya kujenga another rail,a new train would have fitted in that old tracks,you cant notice the rate if inflation,everything is going to the dogs.

We need a dislike button !

How is illicit cash good for a small economy like ours

Seriously? The one-metre gauge with sharp bends that limit speed? SGR was a project whose time had come. Labda useme tendering. Hii ya highway ndio sijapenda. A104 needs a highway more than it

Illicit dollars is money.

One build several flats and money enters circulation, trickling down to fundi and hawker. Finally returns are clean like wool and is banked, borrowed by honest Kenyan. And it circulates like any other money!

It’s actually FDI

the problem is 1/8th of the loan dio inafanya actual sgr project,i am not an expert in economics or such shit but i am sure we have a problem,we are heading zimbambwe path with our shilling tusipochunga…there will never be a president like kibaki,that is why wazee are better than vijana since hawataloot sana,

Anika proof of 1/8th.

I refuse to believe that money laundering is good for the economy…first it drives out legitimate FDI
secondly it drives up inflation…look at rents and even house prices
Thirdly it denies the government taxation since these crooks evade paying any taxes

I used a eighth to show the small amount actually used,not specific.but hope whatever they are doing they have good advisors so that they don’t take us mugambe way.do you think SGR has changed the way we used to travel and transport goods? i personally don’t think so the huge running cost per day notwithstanding (arguing from layman’s point of view though, not to be taken serious)

Inflation alone is a disaster for the economy. Money loses value which essentially means everyone becomes poorer, local currency loses value too making imports more expensive leading to external debt being repayed more expensive, capital flight by foreign investors follows because disposable income for the populace goes down which leads to decrease in demand, interest rates go up too making credit both inaccessible and unaffordable for SMEs which are already contending with low demand, tuseme tu moneylaundering for a developing economy like ours leads to a slowdown and if left unchecked a collapse of the economy.

I suggest you stop arguing based on personal opinions. Coz if that was the case, even thika road and the bypass roads would not have happened, just to save money, but then what? Zero expansion?

Proof of the small amount actually used. Guess work za majani hatutaki

wewe hauko kenya,was 327B the initial budget for the rail,ever heard joho taking about an extra 100B unacounted?ever heard of the reason for the fallout of uliam and jim reason,ever heard that the cost is 3 times the cost of the intetnational standard? either the thing was inflated or china is shafting us,either way i dont thing it is helping us that much like the other projects mentioned above like thika road and the by-passes

This is the most irresponsible and stupid sentense i have read since Uhuru’s wakora stunt

I give this post 2 :meffi: out of 2 :meffi:

buses do 6 hours on A109, faster than the train. the freight train will kill our economy. for every freight train carrying 70 containers, 70 truck drivers, each with 5 dependants, have been rendered jobless. every train with 70 containers, a petrol station which fuels 70 lorries has been driven out of business. silk and belt road is an initiative of dragon people, reli haikua plan ya uhuru or kibaki.

OK, where is the slack we cut

Wait… Someone is saying that money laundering is good? You should check how excess liquidity affects economies.