I like this radio because it gives underground kenyan artist a platform . NRG tries especially on Fridays but no radio comes close to this though they still have a lot to improve especially on its site. I recommend this to those that love Ke music and to those that have been made to believe by mainstream media houses that kenyans cant make good music.
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D mumechoka kuomba watu msaada social media sasa mumeamua kukuja huku?Good content markets itself na uambia Sonia bado nadai kumubinja shoti saba dry fry
I hope you know what entails making a music. This is not some language where you translate through google translate.
That is so much disrespect to the producer who composed a beat out of nothing maybe even played physical instruments in the background and to the artist who composed lines from his imagination and wrote down the verses and together they spent a great deal of time in the studio to try to come up with a song only for this @little Sesley to come up and say its a translation. Unless its a cover every music is unique, for crying out loud music is an art and no two arts can be exactly the same
Do they play vernacular music? That is the only Kenyan music that is worth listening to. Our hip-hop used to be good but it died a natural death. Guys doing contemporary Swahili rhumba are trying to lift us though.
Kenyan music is shitty coz all they do is ape shit from other cultures that they dont even relate to. The hip hop scene used to be dope enzi za Ukoo flani and the kalamashaka vybes, apart from that zilizopendwa was good stuff lakini hii woke generation ni bure kabisa.
Enyewe akina nameless, nonini, prezzo, k-shaka, mandugu digital, klepto, rkay etc put it down like nobody’s business despite the music not paying so well then. Hii gen z nayo Kuna some gems here and there but hawana that distinct Kenyan sound. Yao they ape too much Hadi rap hujui ni ya huku ama ni grime/Tz rnb . Bure kapsaaa
Even if you look at the people that listen to Ke music you will find that it`s mostly teenagers & those below 25years,this are the true consumers of this music and they also show their support by turning up to this artists concerts and gigs. Anyone above that age and claims to listen to kenyan music probably just listen to mainstream music like the ones you hear on our traditional radio stations like Kiss etc.
For this radio station to put an mpesa till number for donations really shows you how they struggle in this market and not because they lack content but rather the difficulty of selling them out there to consumers which in turn is supposed to attract advertisers and sponsors.