The only reason why whites receive special treatment, even here in Africa, is because they are more financially empowered. The only way to end racism is to empower ourselves financially to the same level or better than whites. No other method will truly end racism anywhere in the world when different races have significant differences in their economic power. Example: When I was a student, before Westgate was attacked, we went with a friend to planet yogurt tukapewa samples, but there is no way we could have afforded the expensive yogurts. Tukiuliza maswali mob za ujinga hapo before leaving, more than five white people and two indians came and bought cups of yogurt at Ksh 500 each. One jungu actually had two cups before leaving. Some Kenyans are well-off, but the fact is, most are not and that is what makes us get discriminated as a whole. I don’t support racism, but sometimes I understand the business side of it which 99% of you will never understand. My point, just stop shopping in areas where you are not welcome, after all, nobody is forcing you. I wouldn’t go to a shop if I felt under-appreciated.
Jiweke kwa hii situation, uniambie what you will do. You open a restaurant offering tasty African cuisines in Lavington or Westlands. For some weird reason, whites and Chinese flock your restaurant and kitunguu inuke sana. You are rolling in like 3 mil per month in that outlet. Suddenly socialites wenye huishi kennels za Kileleshwa and some Kasarani/Roysambu wannabes wajue wazungu hukuja hapo sana…good news travel’s fast na watakuja “kutega” hapo. Your sales decline exponentially because the few Africans who come (mostly slay queens), never buy anything expensive, and spend hours ogling at white customers. White customers leave and soon thereafter, slayqueens leave too because there is no business anymore. That is why some restaurants restrict Africans, mostly because slay queens give restaurants a bad name. I have personally interacted with someone who is an investor in such establishments, and that is the reason they gave. The African women are usually toxic to their businesses because they chase away the moneyed clients (mostly white). By the way, you will hardly see a case where a lone gentleman was prevented from accessing a high end restaurant…it is the women mostly that get chased away. You are a businessman first and an African second, so mimi ikibidi nizuie Africans kutumia biz yangu kama wanaharibu mchuzi I will do so without apologies. You might hate me, but at least I am honest about it.
Mostly slayqueens they got to brag on instagram and look for clients. Where else will they get them kama sio huku kwenye “jackpots” ziko. Try telling a Roysambu socialite asiende hizi joints unakuwa unachezea mbuzi guitar.
Something that i hate with a passion is when i go to a restaurant frequented by whites and you can see “our own black ladies” treating the whites better than you, it’s as if you are begging.
Any restaurant that i notice that kind of shitty behavior, i swear by my clans name never to step in there again…its nothing personal.
One thing these businesses should know is that day by day the Kenyan blacks are rising in “income, education ,sophistication and so increasing their spending”, trying to target some few whites is missing the maths completely
A supermarket business is hardly high end, I doubt it can be kept afloat by white customers only, so this thesis is irrelevant to this particular thread.
Indians owe it to white people for their high socioeconomic position in Kenya. Remember it was the white people who placed them above African people so expecting them to be loyal and sensitive to the people they consider lower caste is to expect too much. To Indians, white people and Indians come first. Last in line is Africans.
Jomo Kenyatta should have demolished the caste system that was created by the British but Jomo didn’t do it.
There must be a business reason why they desire to attract white clients. For example, a certain line of products could be popular among white customers and could have high margins compared to what most African customers buy, but you wouldn’t see that because you are an outsider. There must be a financial angle, trust me. If the supermarket has a furniture department for instance, and most African customers buy groceries and cheap items, targeting white clients could help increase sales of high margin expensive items. The supermarket has branches in areas where whites are in plenty. I don’t support racism, but I know there is a business angle to it.
Hehehe, sijui nikasirike coz. they employed someone straight from Gujarat with little knowledge in English or the fact that they are focussing on guys with a skin colour I do not posses