At some point during my student life I shared a hostel room with a Luhya guy whom we shall call Wafula for the purposes of this post. Now, coming from Meru I didn’t quite appreciate ugali until I met Wafula. He taught me how to distinguish good ugali from Kikuyu ugali. From him I learned how to knead and squeeze ugali into a spheroid shape and how to put a depression into the lump for the purposes of scooping soup etc. I learned also that this art of eating ugali from the western part of Kenya required the ugali to possess certain features that would render the same possible. Now, let me go straight to those qualities:
Good ugali must have high tensile strength. This is the ability of the ugali to resist being stretched unlike those ‘rubbery’ things pretending to be ugali that you will come across in Kikuyuland and in my homeland (good thing my people have now learned to employ the Wafulas of this world to perform this important task of cooking ugali)
Breakability: This is the quality of being able to detach a suitably sized lump from the ‘mother portion’ without undue struggle. The rubberlike ugali earlier mentioned does not qualify. Needless to mention Wafula would detach a lump 3 times bigger than mine during our meal times.
Malleability/Plasticity: the quality that allows one to mould the ugali into an earthlike shape by systematically squeezing the lump in the palm of your hands.
Shimorability: This is linked to number 3 above. It is the ability to create a shimo in the ugali. This shimo is used for scooping soup or gravy or for scooping the last portions at the base of plate, pan or sufuria. Normally people use the the thumb to create the shimo. In extreme circumstances the elbow or knee may be deployed. This quality is especially useful to our brothers from Western Kenya.
And now a random image.
[ATTACH=full]174257[/ATTACH]
Now, whether you eat ugali or not and whether all ugali is the same to you or not, we must still bang like bunnies. We will bang Nyambura, bang Gacheri, Adhiambo, Aselli, Amina, Njambi and basically every woman of legal age (18-35). It is a sworn duty that we must fulfil every single day.
So what happens to those above 35 but below 60?
The likes of Guru and pseudonym, am made to believe they are still in need of thorough servicing between those ages.
Cooking Ugali sometimes is a pain especially when you leave the sufuria to ‘kugunya’ and suddenly you find a whole tribe of those small flies that love anything sugary camping on the sides of the sufuria. Getting those things out of the house after they get in is no small task.
You Merians have employed Wafulas to cook the ugali but they offer more than that.They stir your wive’s cookie jars with. their huge cooking sticks.Banging the brains out of your damsels and siring bastards left,right and centre.
:D:D:D:D Sometimes they get so big that they even try and bite you as well. I killed one and it had blood in it or was that tomato juice. I am still not sure to this day.
Some of the starch in the flour probably breaks down into a monosaccharide due to the heat. Kwanza they love wet mukura. Kwani huko coast hakuna hawa wadudu? Try and leave your ugali sufuria next to the window and see what happens.