Umejibu part of it, yes. Landing in any foreign country must be done at an International Airport. Hio tu ni lazima, juu ya vile umesema bhangi, na pia unaweza kua unasneak mtu hana permission ya kuingia Uganda. Pia ATC ni lazima, juu before uingie Uganda Airspace you should have told them in advance utaingia Uganda airspace from Kenya, umebeba watu fulani, mnaland place flani. Saa taking off ndio sijui. Some countries are strict and all international flights must take off from an International Airports. Na kuna countries hazijali. But Kenya sijui. Na hizo regulations za KCAA hazimention anything about that.
When taking off you communicate to your local ATC. now when you reached ugandan airspace the kenyan ATC tells you " now I hand you over yo Ugandan ATC " So its more or else handing over .when ugandan atc tells you welcome to uganda they expect details of where you coming from , what you carrying and designated places to land for inspection if they feel you are a security risk
Do you know this as fact?
Sasa unanunua drone ya ksh 1,900 ya nini? Hio ni chinku itaharibika na wiki mbili. Siku moja utashtukia tu imezimika bila warning
Interesting. Naona ETOPS ya privates ni 120 minutes lakini haulazimishwi. I didn’t know that.
But anyway mimi siwezi risk heri nispend more time and money on a point-to-point route than kukuliwa na sharks hahaha. Plus I can’t swim banae
Unabeba survival raft and supplies. Adrenaline kibao.
Hamjibu swali lile nyeti because i also wanted to get myself a drone for fun.
si basi utengenezee yako…
If you don’t want to be shot down by jets. Makes sure you’re communicating with the Tower in Nairobi who will overlay to Uganda Control and once you cross border you tell them your approach.
On the drone issue just buy it. And you can use it just do it in an area not nearby a flight path. And fly below 500feet.
If you’re gonna fly higher then you’ll need to get clearance from KCAA and you’ll need a license.
But once you’ve mastered the drone and feel comfortable then head in to KCAA and pay for the license so you’re not pestered by cops.
Just for the record it was a theoretical question. Thanks for the reply though. So your answer is that there is no requirement in Kenya to depart from an International AIrport?
The requirements is have an active flight transponder, working radio equipment, you must relay route and manifest information. And be in contact with Nairobi ATC and as well as Eldoret.
If you divert from route you’ll have F5 jets scrambled from Laikipia. If you cross over into Ugandan Airspace without communicating SU-30mkii jets will be dispatched and you’ll be escorted and forcibly arrested when you land.
Also flying locally in Kenya requires the same steps and procedures even for helicopters.
Oh wow, interesting. Thanks for the comprehensive answer. I think it has satisfied my curiosity.
Just a slight confirmation about flying locally, what if you are in a light sport aircraft or an experimental that does not have a transponder or a glider with no radio?
As long as you don’t got above 1,000 feet. And don’t fly near cities or urban areas.
You’re not required to have such equipment. But for safety just have an emergency crash kit and a beacon.