Public v Private Universities

The war between private and public universities is about to erupt.

My opinion:As somebody who went to a public university,my children will go to private universities.
It doesn’t matter which university you went to,what’s important is,do you have money?

The school of life has taught me that money is more important.

Studying in a public university is a whole other hustle. From overcrowded lecture rooms and halls to missing marks and you are forced to chase after a lecturer for 2 years to those frequent student strikes and sometimes university lecturers going on strike and you are just stuck in an awkward situation. A 4 year degree program takes 6+ years to complete. Dont remind the overcrowded hostels and the always missing supervirsors who are supposed to supervise you when writing a project. Communication nayo takes acres and acres of time to be addressed. In private universities, communication is prompt. Usinikumbushe how we were taken in circles when going to collect our certs. We graduated in Dec and we picked our certs in June the next talk of shitty planning.

Private universities are the way to go. Prompt response. People have normalised suffering that they think others have to suffer like them. Ati kama hujaenda public university wewe hujasoma, what kind of reasoning is this?
Ama wanataka mvute bangi pamoja ndo waone ulienda shule?

Anything public is just a piece of shit. From public schools, public toilets, public universities to public service vehicles.

Private are good.

Kuna siku nilikuwa USIU.

Pharmacy labs had very good equipment.

Environment nayo iko sawa.

I think it depends on which public/private university. In my view, UoN/KU/JKUAT are better than MKU and the likes. Lakini kitu kama Strathmore is better than the public universities especially for those seeking careers in finance. USIU is also good mainly for networking value. Kama sio Strath ama USIU just go to a top public university.

What opinion do you hold on matters above you?
We have records kijana, iwinjo?

You dropped out of uni? Ama what’s your point juu sikuelewi Mogaka.

Mimi nilikiwa both private and public… public ilikiwa inankalia tu ghetto nikirudi hizo sides.. kwanza classes, net speed.. alafu loos. Revision nilikuwa nachapia private uni. Kila kitu ilikuwa mufti.

Exactly..

@Voltron is @gaines nyambura.

UoN pekee ndo naeza agree iko better than MKU. Lakini KU na JKUAT hapana. Those are full of junkies and drug addicts. Moi Uni nayo imejaa tribalism ya wakale akina @Jack_Black

I’m UoN pro max bro. I used to only eat at Mamlaka Hall after my run in with muslim girls. Ugali ilikuwanga 6/-.

Jana nimewitness graduation ya some public uni and its finally clicked, ni ya masaffara
Kama mtoi haendi kusomea medicine or engineering, better aende private
Am saying this as someone who went to moi while my siblings were in privates. Haki I have suffered in the hands of shittty civil servants. I didn’t have to go through that bull if I knew the difference from 1st year

This is only half true, because public universities are much cheaper and the quality of education is still relatively good considering the cost. Myself, as a UoN alumnus, I’m having a great time in international politics arguments even though I didn’t do it as a course unit. I regret doing sociology as well.

But I’d still encourage parents to take their kids to universities. The networks formed there are great and can be exploited to shocking degrees.

UoN is out of the question. Kama ni UoN hiyo nayo ntakubaliana na wewe thats its the best public university in Kenya kwanza medicine. Kama si UoN avoid others completely.

I know a few friends who lecture at MKU and the jokes they make about that uni are hilarious. They are both Moi Uni alumni.

USIU has very impressive facilities, kwanza hiyo gym. Hadi Java house walikuwa na agreement kufanya catering for events and to set up a cafeteria ndani ya chuo.
Hiyo environment changes the world view of your kid and makes them have high standards.
MY kids will either go to USIU, Daystar or Strath or waende abroad. There is also a nice tech uni yenye inaadmit mostly post graduate students in Konza technopolis

Kikuyu universities have very basic education curriculum, typically secretarial or finance courses so that Jomo’s people could control money supply.

A clever strategy that is ultimately defeated by greed and the existence of natural wealth in other communities.

Bwana degree MI6 anasemaje?
@Maize_Combuster kuja toa maoni

Imagine earning a whole degree in 18 months, and most of your lecturers are guys who only hold undergrad degrees! KEMU used to do it back in the day. I don’t know about now.
The only private uni people I can listen to are strath, CUEA, USIU, KCA, Daystar, maybe Nazarene. Maybe. Most of the others are big jokes. Anyone who says public unis are bad has not had the displeasure of listening to students from some of those so-called private unis.

Public universities were okay ni juzi tu wameanza kuongeza useless courses na mismanagement but that can be turned around.
How many bright Kenyans can afford private higher education.Most private unis ni watoto average brains with deep pockets.
Anyway in 2025 it’s better mtoto akimaliza high school kuwe na one year NYS program by the time wanaingia uni juvenile behavior is tamed.Hii drug issue ya thika road institutions ni ju watoto wamekuwa class from class one to form four alafu wanarushwa thika road and expected to behave like adults.The freedom is too much for an 844 brain even worse kama amekuwa boarding since primary.

The only Thika Road institution that is almost relevant in the ‘Big Three’ i.e. The UoN, JKUAT and the third slot changes every year. Let the plebians fight it out.