I almost stopped going to church completely a while back but I changed my mindset when I found a church that spoke to my heart. The main message is always about spirituality, religion and the relationship I have with Jesus. I realized that I want to go to church to learn and be ministered to as opposed to being told every Sunday that God will bless, heal and deliver me from all my problems.
I find that’s the mistake of many churches today, focusing on prosperity preaching to the mass target audience who have many problems.
many churches have it backwards. they think that God blesses by giving you cars, money and another car with some more money.
God can decide to make you struggle for the rest of your life. But he’ll keep you healthy.
God can decide to make you anything. He can lift you and bring you down.
God is no joke. He’s not a tap that you open and there’s water.
He’s a complex being that we can’t understand fully. But every step towards it is awesome.
That’s exactly right! Luke 12:15: Jesus said “take heed, and beware of covetousness: for a man’s life consisteth not in the abundance of the things which he possesseth.” The bible also warns us that there will come a time (we’re living at that time) when people will turn away from sound doctrine, preferring to have their ears tickled. They will accumulate for themselves teachers in accordance to their own desires, and will turn away their ears from the truth and will turn aside to myths. 2nd Timothy 4:3.
The greatest wealth of all is the gift of the Holy Spirit. Prosperity preachers prance around in sleek cars, live in mansions etc…surely it is easier for a camel to go through a needle’s eye than a rich man to enter God’s kingdom. Those who have received the baptism of the Holy Spirit have the life of God residing in them. Like a germinated seed that is buried in the ground knowing it will come up and give of its kind; those who die in Christ have the promise of the resurrection. For the One who now lives in them conquered death, rose from the grave and reigns as King of Kings. Oh death where is your sting; the grave, your victory? With Jesus living in us, we have no fear of what tomorrow may bring. Through Him, we have become adopted sons and daughters of God and have power over hell, power over death, power over nature and life eternal!
Well put. I’m not a practicing Christian but I am amazed how easy people want everything. N most of these modern day preachers have mastered the art of roping in the dumb sheep. What are the odds if I was a pastor n said that someone’s marriage is on the rocks or someone is looking for a job that they’ll indeed be someone going through the same. Kama Mungu amekuonyesha hivyo then u should be able to point that person out of the crowd - na sio ile njaro ya Kanyari.
Hii yote ni hekaya …I wish that God existed, I genuinely do. His presence would be an invaluable source of hope and strength as well as peace and happiness.But, I don’t think he does and that realization is perhaps the greatest of disappointments. Be that as it may, reality is still beautiful and I think we should honor the truth.
Jeremiah 29:11King James Version (KJV)
11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.
Jeremiah 29:11New International Version (NIV)
11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
exactly what i spoke about look at how one bible talks of peace and the other prosperity sad affair
In John 10:27-28…Jesus says," My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand."
In other words, there are souls which were predestinated for salvation and those which are meant for destruction. Some souls can never hearken to His Voice because their names were not written in the Lamb’s book of life before the foundation of the world. I pray that is not anyone’s situation. Behold, He knocks at the door of your heart! Will you let Him be born inside of your heart?
I disagree with you. God created us and he loves us all the same way. It is us who make a choice to stray away from him n his goodness. Ur view that there are souls which are meant 4 destruction is misconcieved n misleading and potrays God as an evil person who discriminates n created some beings only to toss them in hell for fun. I advise people to read the bible everyday. Ask the holy spirit to interprete scriptures for you instead of coming up with ur own interpretation. That way u will find that God is not complicated. He is simply someone who loves us all BUT he is holy. To please him we need to live holy lives. In the book of jeremiah he talks to all of us n says that he knew us before we were formed in our mother’s womb n his plans 4 us are good plans. Plans to prosper us n to bless us. YES God wants us to be wealthy. Poverty and lack are curses. They are not from God. Look in the bible n see that All men who obeyed God were prosperous, Abraham, Isaac, jacob, david, Solomon i cud go on n on… When jesus died on the cross he set us all free frm the devil’s bondage. We are no longer poor, sick, depressed but u can only enjoy what Jesus did for us if u know the word of God, you choose to believe. believing means u believe what you read in the bible and avoid trying to reason. If you do so u can never have faith. Logic will question whether the red sea did part, logic will question whether there were manna from heaven that fed the israelites for 40 years, logic will question all the miracles mentioned in the bible. So believing is crucial to ur faith. The bible says without faith you cannot please God. God jus requires you to acknowledge that he is ur creator, honour him, read his word, believe it and obey what he says n ur life will be blessed in all areas including ur finances, ur health, protecting you n giving you a long life full of abundance. Ohh n tithing is a must. Its in Malachi 3:10- it is spiritual n it has supernatural results. It increases you financialy n protects everything you own. But if you don’t understand it, don’t tithe untill you take time to understand its importance and why it is necessary.
I salute all the villagers who have positively commented on the above post, that means a good seed was planted in you probably when you attended Sunday school (3-6yrs is very key), or CU/CA service in your schools, what i would urge you is the following;
Kindly do the same to your children, it doesn’t matter if you are an atheist, do the same as was done to your by your parents, your kids will decide in their adulthood on whether to continue following Christ or not,
When you have attended or heard the word more that enough (three months is more that enough), you should rise to the next level, preach the same word to other people, don’t expect to be suckled (kunyonyeshwa) all the time, don’t be a spiritual dwarf/baby, kama vile huwezi kaa kwa hii kijiji ukiwa new villager milele inabidi upande juu,
Lastly but not the least, usikae kama mbulukenge, i.e. wewe haujaokoka lakini ni wa kanisa, eti tunaishi kwa neema bla bla bla, chagua, decide whether you are in or out siyo kupinga wachunganji ukiwa ndani.
Good thoughts. Please ponder on these scriptures. Yes, God was not willing for anyone to perish but all to come to Him in repentance. However, in His infinite foreknowledge, He knew the end from the beginning.
Ephesians 1:5-6states that God hath “predestinated us according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise and glory of His grace.”
Romans 8:30further emphasizes this election saying, “Whom He did predestinate, THEM He also called; and whom He called, THEM He also justified; and whom He justified, THEM He also glorified." And “their names were written in the Lamb’s Book of Life before the foundation of the world” (Rev.13:8)
Notice Jesus in His prayer to the Father in John 17:9-10, “I pray for them: I pray NOT for the world, but forTHEM which Thou hast given Me; for they are Thine. And all Mine are Thine, and Thine areMine, and I am glorified in THEM.”
Thanks for the scriptures. I know God does not force us to obey him or to follow him. He gave us free will to choose him or the world. He knew that some would choose him n others would choose the world. if every human being chooses God n his ways, hell would only be for the devil n his fallen angels as it was intended for. There was a time when the whole world lost focus n chose other gods n there was too much sin that God came up with the redemption plan to reconnect us again with him. Thats why christ died for us n through his blood we are saved. But salvation is still left as a choice. If God wanted us all born again, believe u me he can cause all of us to do so in an instant. But that would mean interfering with our freewill which he gave us for free. Lets just agree that God has not marked kamau will go to hell, Akinyi will go to heaven n so forth. Lets agree that we as humans are the ones who choose our destination n according to our choices we shall either live forever or perish.
Tithing was mandatory in Old Testament Law. It was given to Levitical priests who had dedicated their lives to the priesthood. Tithes were also used for daily management of the state of Israel. Under the New Testament covenant, the believer gives not under compulsion, but cheerfully and voluntarily. The Apostles did not even teach the Gentiles to tithe. Refer to Acts 15:28-29.
please understand what we are saying…the church has focused on the gospel of prosperity that is give to get…which is very wrong…look at modern sermons…its now how to be successful…how to be rich…instead of increasing the spiritual wealth such as how to pray…how to increase our faith…how to impact positively on the world…as God said all that is of this world belongs to the devil so when 100% sermons are on physical possessions then something is wrong somewhere