So far only 3 balloons: Kitui, Bungoma & Kisumu.
You can get further details of the balloons via https://www.flightradar24.com/HBAL163/247c494a
So far only 3 balloons: Kitui, Bungoma & Kisumu.
You can get further details of the balloons via https://www.flightradar24.com/HBAL163/247c494a
but the way these “ballons” drift across vast distances will they provide the required signal strength and bandwith? kwani hawa wasee hawajaweka geolocation equipment kwa hizo ballons. I see them significantly change locations each day using that your flightradar app. And are they 4G balloons?
saa hii naona baloon tatu ziko uganda na moja pekee ndio iko kenya.
Izi vitu hucontrolliwa aje?? Ama ni penye upepo uko bendera ufuate
Why can’t these balloons be positioned particularly above the same place over earth like parking orbit sattelites?
at this time, 3 were in Uganda! Hehe.
I wanted to use Telkom in our area, kumbe ballon iko Uganda.
In May 2014, Google X laboratories director, Astro Teller, announced that, rather than negotiate a section of bandwidth that was free for them worldwide, they would instead become a temporary base station that could be leased by the mobile operators of the country it was crossing over. This was based on work done by the Access Field Development Director, Kai Wulff who was involved in fiber and broadband roll-outs in Emerging Markets from the early 2000s. (Kai Uwe Wulff, Kenya Data Networks’ (KDN) first Chief Executive Officer joined Google in the role of Access Field Development Officer.)
On December 30, 2017, a Loon Balloon crashed in Nthambiro, Igembe Central, Meru County, Kenya.
In March 2020, Uhunye did a free advertisement for Balloons in the air.
(Also interesting, there are no flights at this time. During the day, I could see an army plane leave Nanyuki Airbase.)
I dont its worth all the hype. It doesn’t help in any way. Kama 1 second iko hapa the nwxt iko UG. And Telkom thought that may help wakaincrease cost ya bundles. Gunia tu
I wonder why Google doesnt own a satelite even kwa Google Maps a company making billions
Paslms 19:1
Wewe kombamwiko, how does google owning a satellite and psalms relate?
Google has the money and tech to launch multiple geostationary satellites to provide internet for free or at whatever cost they feel like. I think the distance for low earth orbit satellites which is between 300 - 1000 kilometers brings a major obstacle because of latency issues.
They can only play catch up to Elon Musk and his StarLink project.
Technically, what would traverse that distance without latency problems?
mf ! Read the verse
Hizo vitu zinakuwa controlled. Ukiona imefika Uganda imekuwa directed huko.
If this thing doesn’t bring us cheap reliable internet why the hype. On the other hand won’t this kill many smaller ISPs??
I believe its possible. But it will significantly increase the weight and cost. Propulsion engine for station-keeping, fuel, etc.
In fa
In fact geostationary orbits are the worst for telecommunications. That orbit is 36k km above the equator na ni moja pekee. This means there can only be a specific no of geostationary satellites. Internet and voice are highly sensitive to latency.
Even at the speed of light a signal round trip of 72000km requires 240 milliseconds. So this orbit is best for weather forecasting and sattelite tv. Low earth orbits are best for internet but you will need multiple relay sattelites. Check out project starlink by elon.
Yeah, I know about Musk’s project, but even at the lowest satellites roughly 300km,that latency will be a major problem for high speed internet. Maybe ok for simple browsing. I believe that Google wouldn’t have had balloon ideas if a satellite was a viable option.
Well. It can be combined with localized caches… eg. The locally hosted youtube cache here in kenya. Nowonder youtube frequently works even with relatively poor bandwidth
But your concern is valid. sattelite requires direct LOS and also affected by cloud cover. So it can be used as a supplementary or even for redundancy