I don’t have a problem with internships infact they are best suited for one to grow his/her career. The problem I have with internships is that companies take it as a way to get cheap or free labour. Companies are quick to hire interns but when it comes to paying them they pull the ‘career growth’ crap. They hire an intern but when the interns request to be given a stipend they don’t want to give it out and as an intern you must cover some costs such as transport and even airtime but niggas come blazing that if you don’t want the internship you can go home which to me is just utter bullshit.
I mean we are in 2018 the economy is tough you must be considerate for a time and the way people treat interns like donkeys. We ni intern ukienda kampuni mbuzi za watu zinakujazia files kwa desk yako. Ukienda kuongea unaskia wanakushow we ni intern sasa utafanya kitu unapewa hakuna maswali unafaa kuuliza. I mean you as an intern you don’t do anything different from the employees infact you do what the employees are doing and they are getting paid to do it you are not. e.g I am a HR graduate if i go for internship it means i will be doing what the HR Manager does and he will get paid for it I will not. Nothing like gaining experience thats how people lie to you, experience uliipata ukifanya attachment otherwise saa hii ni pesa unatafuta si experience.
Companies lie to interns that after they complete their internships they will hire them an intern will sweat it out for a year providing free services after which the managers of the organisations will promise him a job but days later they won’t be picking his calls. Others keep giving interns false hopes that they will hire them only to take them in circles and ultimately interns giving up. Its how the organizations work after which they hire other interns and do the same thing, lie, and discard them after they have achieved what they want. They are some companies that employ interns or pay them when on internship which is commendable but only a few companies do this. A higher percentage of organizations bank on graduates’ desperation. Some will pay but they will pay you peanuts you find an organization paying its interns 5k a month which is rarely enough.
Yesterday I went for an internship interview in some credit company in town. So basically being a credit company i knew this was a good chance to make some money. After the interview, the HR manager followed me to tell me that I was already hired since I had impressed during the interview and I was the last one to do the interview. I asked her
Me: Do you compensate your interns
Her: No we don’t, but this is an opportunity to grow you career.
Me: I have costs to cover how will I come to work if you can’t compensate me for my efforts
Her: Now that’s your problem. Is that what you care about?? Money??
Me: I am not saying that its about the money
Her: Does money matter that much to you?? Don’t you have passion for your career?
Me: For your information, money matters the economy is tough I mean all these employees are here because at the end of the month they will get a paycheck. Let me tell you the plain truth no one in here is passionate about the job because if you wake up today and tell them that you won’t be able to pay them then within hours they will be gone.
Her: Are you taking the opportunity or not?
Me: Not interested.
Her: You will get free tea here.
Me: (thinking emotionally) so this bitch thinks tea will bring me here
Ati mi nitoke home kila siku asubuhi juu ya chai ni kama sitapata chai kwetu. TF!!!
Shida yako ni instant gratification and entitlement that will take you nowhere unless unajuana. Go to an internship kama ushakubali that the company will never hire you nor compensate you for services offered. However, take it as a stepping stone to network, learn some few career tricks and identify other opportunities in an organization. I have a friend who tells me he learned to drive, talk to clients and seal deals from his internship that paid him zero and he worked for a whole year.
Fanya vile @Deorro amesema. Real life is damn hard, this is not the Instagram life. You young people are about to get the rudest awakening of your life. Ni lazima you make huge sacrifices while maintaining a happy face until you reach where you wanna go.
Fungua company yako ulipe interns vile unataka. In fact give them free paid vacations to exotic destinations every 3months. When will “youth” grow up? SMH.
A few years ago kuna nyang’au ilitaka nifanye internship for free, nikamwambia haiwesmake. He told me it seems am interested in money more than getting experience, I retorted back it seems he’s more interested in getting free labour. I wished him luck in his search for free labour na nikajitoa. 2 weeks later I found an entry level job paying something, hata kama haikuwa mingi, but at least it could cover my monthly expenses.
Mimi nilichapa internship miezi sita kazi kufanya photocopies na kutengenezea watu coffee na chai…if lucky natumwa treasury mara kumi kwa siku na sikuwai lipwa…yet I felt lucky!
How were you paying your rent and fare expenses?
Kama kwetu ni Nairobi and my parents can pay those then I can take such a role for the experience. Otherwise wacha tu ikae lemme search for another role hata kama salo ni 20k
:D:D:D endelea tarmaking pore pore. You aint seen nothing yet my friend. Ile siku utahisi kupiga interviewer two hot slaps and a sweep uje utupee hekaya.
That internship was very strategic…it was kind of an investment…sure enough they got me an unbelievable job offer after I finished…and a few months later they got me numerous scholarships to study abroad…right now all my current side hustles come from my former bosses…it was the best decision I ever made.