private solutions to social challenges

i think we are encouraging the social divide in kenya. The other day sakaja was ranting that arboretum access road, a private entity has decided to erect a security barrier on a public road to screen the public accessing a public facility .
in Kenya every social challenge is address by private solution. in my neighborhood, we erected 2 gates on a public road to keep off the boda boda guys and also make the general public to trek far to access their homes in the name of improving security. sahi the government is building a toll road from airport to Westland’s and the middleclass are head over heals about it yet improving mass transport for the greater public will have sort the traffic issue.
most cars on the road are private vehicles yet matatus are blamed for causing traffic jams.

last week as we were closing the online classes ,the principal confidently told us that they are working closely with ministry of education so that our kids can transition to the next class come January 4th since we’ve covered the whole syllabus for that level. They are looking for exemption yet the ministry has set July as the transition date for the greater public. Am not sure if they’ll hack it but it got me thinking, what about those who couldn’t not access? not because they can’t afford it but rather there are no facilities i.e fiber etc. why could the folks in MED not give internet connectivity to all public schools by liaising with ICT ministry after all we’re in the information age.

why can’t the middle class champion improvement of social challenges? sahi folks in ruai , kitengela and utawala are self financing themselves to grade public roads yet they are paying taxes but not holding the government to account .
public schools were run down by the same folks operating or taking their kids to private schools. Most private security consultants were not doing their job properly while in public security .
granted middle class and other classes can never be the same but they all face the same social challenges, insecurity will rise as long as these issues are never addressed, but funny thing is that we’re turning a blind eye, sahi more public roads are being closed to the public in the name of insecurity , how many roads will be closed till security improves? public hospitals were run down also so that folks can go to private hospitals, yet our leaders fly out to be treated in public hospitals of other countries.

Hiyo road ya kuenda Arboretum arif wangu na wife wake walikalishwa kwa floor na wezi as they were walking home at 7 P.M. Wacha ifungwe kama imefungwa. The government will not help you, help yourself.

The government cannot do everything for everyone

iza buda, lakini why not address the cause of insecurity,how many roads will need to be closed? sikuhizi mtu akijenga mansion in some areas pia inabidi uweke grills hadi milango za bedroom

sure boss, but social challenges affect everyone, that’s why we pay taxes to address them , otherwise tungekuwa tuki jisort

Well wacha zikuwe solved, but in the meantime they are at least trying to defend themselves. Ama ni better waendelee kuibiwa as they wait for something to be done?

Patia access these boda boda guys uone Ile uwizi itakuja kwa estate yenu. All estates worth their salt have banned boda boda guys for a reason.

Nwy Middle class si watu wa kulia lia serikali saidia like watu wa Kibera, they try to do what they can to make their lives better. You dont expect some manager in a private organisation questioning the govt mbona haijaeka lami, he will be fired immediately. Thats why itabidi anyenyekee kama kondoo aeke tu shocks mpya na arudi kwa nyumba to watch Netflix. Its called maintaining the status quo

You have just defined what a failed state is. Its counterintuitive to expect any kind of meaningful solutions from a failed state.

It’s ok, but taxes and government cannot deal with all social challenges. For example, you buy a plot in the middle of no-where in Kitengela and expect the government to make you a road, provide water, electricity and security. This means other tax payers have to subsidize your move because your taxes are puny compared to the needs. So it means you have to take up the task yourself and your neighbours and grow yourselves, don’t wait for government.

Sasa wewe ume confess vile mmefunga a public road inconveniencing the people and you are here admonishing the government asking middle class to be louder in championing social causes.
The problem starts with you. Fungulia wananchi gate and deal with police/neighbourhood vigilante to control and deal with your boda boda/security issues.

Should the government allow subdivision and titling for settlement without services? This government is too lazy. The main condition for subdivision should be provision of services by whoever wants to sell residential plots. And this should be enforced…

Tanzania na Uganda na Somalia hakuna shida kama izo.

Where I live the public roads have been restricted to residents over two years ago and we haven’t had issues with theft since. Waiting for gava is not proactive.

The middle class has learned to fend for itself since the people who get the govts attention come election time are the peasants who are the majority population. Thats why guys like sonko are in office and its why the middle class wants to seperate themselves from people who vote with their stomachs and have little to lose.

hehehe hatuwezi fungua coz bodaboda are a big menace and it should be handled at policy level from the government , they affect everyone in Kenya. Insecurity pia is not a local problem, it is a national problem , so many factors contribute to it. when cops start demanding fuel to address to your emergency calls you know you are in shit.

you’ve described it perfectly well, tunapenda kunyenyeka and turn the other way as we use money to sort social challenges, kuna ile video ya juzi a motorist alikuwa ana chapwa na boda boda gang as other motorists drove by and went home to vent on twitter vile IG should do something.

The conditions for subdivision are nice but cost money. Not all of us can afford serviced plots so we buy remote unserviced plots huko Joska Kamulu and struggle to build the services over time. The upside of this is that the cost of the plots appreciate rapidly in value so you can nukisha kitunguu if you sell.

The middle class is paying a very high cost thinking they are wise. The rich have state security, the poor are protected by God, middle class mtalipia security private na hospitali private hadi lini?

Yes. Most of us have benefitted from these remote plots. But i keep asking myself, why do people get there before the government?

Until they are rich enough to join the elite…otherwise there isn’t an alternative.