I am pleased to have officially opened the M-Pesa Foundation Academy in Thika. It is important that we provide quality education to our young people. My government will continue to support all institutions and organizations within the education sector to promote excellence and credibility. We appreciate the fact that our children have different strengths & talents. And for this reason, I encourage all students to do their best, leverage on their different strengths to be who they want to become and remain people of integrity.
I don’t think its a school for paying school fees. Mpesa foundation covers everything. They enroll bright kids from all 47 counties here since its a boarding school.
Mpesa foundation was an agreement by CBK and Safaricom. All unused mpesa balances fund it. After a year of dormant account, the amount is held by Safaricom. After 3 years and its not claimed or owner isn’t reachable it moves to Asset recovery setup by Treasury. After 5 years the amount is released from Asset Recovery to Mpesa foundation. Mpesa foundation is run by a separate board not Safaricom. They decide where in the country and which CSR projects to undertake. Safaricom, Vodafone and other stakeholders are also free to contribute to this venture and they do. That way those unclaimed cash goes to good use for all Kenyans.
Then like everything in Kenya the devil in details is how to come up with the brightest from the counties!!! Hio itakua compromised and undeserving kids of the connected will flood it thereby loosing it’s own intention!
Mpesa foundation advertise all their programs and projects. Go to their website or office and find them. Go take part in their public participation excise to verify what they are doing. That’s where you can assist not here. Besides all their projects and activities are audited by KPMG. However tuonge tu kama kawaida. This reminds me how people ignored this years public participation excise for Nairobi County. Then in a year they will be here ranting.
[ATTACH=full]203811[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]203812[/ATTACH]
Ni vire @spear amesema hapo juu, "carefully vetted, extremely needy, bright, gifted and talented students admitted with ALL expenses paid for.
I have visited the MPFA and can authoritatively clarify that its not just another average academy. Its one of the the best social corporate initiative in the country.
The guys who head Safaricom projects are thugs , they will engage you get all the ideas and implement without a dime coming your way.
They will always push for the best but offer cents for it.I remember being engaged in March 2015 and then came 47 in 1 .Bure kabisa.
Actually one of the board members is former Starehe Girls’ Centre Director, Its right, the admission criteria and modalities is borrowed from Griffins manual,…that place’s infrastructure is on another level,.
Hope they go the equity way where the local branch manager has a say by ensuring that they personally accept application from their areas of jurisdiction!!! I have no interest in the school but merely from the information purposes only
Starehe doesn’t own the concept of helping the bright children from less fortunate circumstances; I’d say they have definitely replicated the same here on another level.
For me, this is a good thing; if more large corporate and other entities got into this we would do so much to help the youth benefit from a well-rounded education.