Precious GemStones

Hii mambo ni moto wa kuotea mbali… enough said

no way that is an emerald. Do emeralds come in any colour other than green?
could be tsavorite… sapphire? probable but highly unlikely.

@Atheismo what is it?

emeralds

emeralds are usually green…
thats in the class of blue sapphire
the ruby is pink to blood-red colored

Sema uko idhaa ya marketing your calligraphy skills

It’s amethyst.

Fucking knew it. Its a nice stone…get it set in platinum or gold (white/yellow) for a pendant, it comes out very nice.

naona elders washamwambia anagongwa.
he shouldnt even bother with this any more.
as @mabenda4 have said unless wewe ni rockfeller having a kg of gemstones is just unfathomable.
what they have if they have any is COLOURED GLASS. Mabenda wacha aweke picha ya red garnet one kg nimtafute nimwonyeshe soko.

kiyana gemstones are extremely rare and that makes them precious. these quantities you are mentioning labda ikuwe ndarugo ama kiganjo stones

hehehe

Diamonds arent rare. They are quite common actually. Its just that diamonds are controlled by a small group that sets the prices, and supply. The De Beers Company among others head this cartel. Infact most gems have no intrinsic value other than the one we arbitrarily place on them.

i beg to differ.
have you ever held a diamond in your hand?
in africa how many diamond mines are there?
if they were lying all over the place they wouldnt be rare and the prices wont be what they are today.

Exactly bro. Other than their hues and glitter, they have absolutely no value. De beers on the other hand are so power ful the even start and bankroll wars to continue shafting poor countries rich in diamond.

The pricing is just a sham. Diamond industry if liberalized would see the value plument. Thats why its cartel controlled

Yes i have held diamonds in my hands. Bought them too.
Contrary to belief, russia is the biggest source of diamonds. Has some of the biggest diamond mines too. If you control the supply, you can make them as rare as you want.
Besides, what other use do diamonds have apart from jewellery? Any diamonds used for drill bits can be made in a lab and even those are not in any way different from the ones you dig up.

what @mabenda4 and @nairobilay you are failing to make me understand is how diamond doesnt obey the “cartel” laws of demand and supply. so how much diamonds do we have available in nature?

Sounds like wale watu wa kamiti…how much should I send you to get a cut

@mabenda4 please for all your “kidneys”(that’s how we attempted our kikuyu English worked many many moons ago) kindly give this guy that hekaya about chupa ya sprite na green garnet… You might just save a life…

There are plenty of them. What is rare are those huge diamonds…like those of the crown jewels for England…ama zile za huyo cucu wa titanic.
The only thing is that they are concentrated in particular areas. So, no, you will not find them everywhere, but that does not make them rare.

@kawambui read through this. Gives a good breakdown about diamonds
https://www.gemsociety.org/article/are-diamonds-really-rare/

very illuminating article but can you vouch for it authenicity and factualness?
With a hardness of 10, diamonds are the
hardest substance in nature. Harder
substances have been created in the
laboratory, but they are extremely brittle
and have no practical use. If a harder
substance is ever found that does not
break down so quickly, it will greatly
reduce the time needed to cut diamonds.
Diamonds have a refractive index of 2.41,
which is very high. Being as they form in
the isometric system, they do not have
any birefringence or pleochroism. They