Pre-war Somalia In Pictures

[ATTACH=full]25685[/ATTACH]
Once upon a time before the war when there were opportunities within Somalia for men and women. It’s sad to see how a lot of the progress that was accomplished post independence has been completely wiped out in the past two decades. Hoping for a better future in this new year.[ATTACH=full]25686[/ATTACH]
1960s at the National Theatre. Love the elegance and unity
[ATTACH=full]25687[/ATTACH]
Somali Airlines pilot and cabin crew from before the civil war

[ATTACH=full]25688[/ATTACH]
Famous Somali musicians in front of Somali Airlines. Somali musicians would often travel throughout Africa for performances.

[ATTACH=full]25689[/ATTACH]

Fanta was pretty popular alongside Coca-Cola as a choice of soft drink for get togethers and for serving guests in many households in Somalia throughtout that interesting pre 1991 era in Somalia
[ATTACH=full]25690[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]25692[/ATTACH]
Mogadishu, Somalia 1984 at a photography studio. Some of the photos on the wall are of Somali celebrities of that era.
[ATTACH=full]25693[/ATTACH]

A young Somali Women at a Trade Fair in Milan, Italy in 1964 showcasing a Somali made product

[ATTACH=full]25695[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]25696[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]25697[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]25698[/ATTACH]

Waaberi Band - means Dawn Players

Established by Radio Artist Association. They were Somalia’s foremost musical group. Waaberi spawned many popular artists who would go onto enjoy successful individual musical careers and shape the face of Somali music for years to come.

nice

After the war music suddenly became haram and women had to hide their beautiful faces/hair/bodies.

Vita sio uji bana.

Do you think Somalia would have been more prosperous than Kenya were it not for the civil strife?

I also believe they would have been more prosperous than us by far should they have enjoyed the stability we had in the 1990s

Apple for apple, no chance in the world (anyways, what was there GDP vs Kenya GDP before war

If corruption was minimal in Kenya, I don’t think, Somali would have beaten us.
Why do u think So

Somalis are very enterprising, if it was not for the war, they would be the leading economic force in East and central Africa…look at how they have transformed Eastleigh and now they are the dominant business people in Luthuli avenue and area around Jamia mosque…we have hosted refugees from different countries but none have shown the kind of business acumen seen with somalis

It could be we hear of countries which were below us in matters economy and now are flourishing

If they weren’t more prosperous than us before the 90s then I don’t think the situation would be any different today,

This is beautiful!!!

How so, what are some of their trade practices, have the Somali thrived in Kenya due to corruption or not.

[SIZE=2]Pesa ya hijacking meli:p[/SIZE]

Hii kitu ambieni watu wa punda amechoka movement, sijui kenyan spring, mawingu yametanda…

I don’t have statistics, but I won’t be suprised if Somalis make it to the top of the list of kenya tax evaders.
Lastly,I assume the creme dela creme of the Somali Nation settled in Kenya, just to mention a few, top businessman, lawyers, lectures, engineers, Doctors, Architectures and other Professionals.
And all they. Have done is start shops! Because of tax evasion and smuggling of goods.
No road construction company, no light manufacturing industry, no law firms, no medical practice, no brokerage firms, no Architectural firm, No Nothing.
Somalis are a joke. SOMALI WITHOUT WAR WOULD JUST BE ANOTHER SHITHOLE.
LET’S TALK ABOUT THE CHINESE.

Lakini hii katiba mpaka ibadilishwe… ni kunoma

110 bps thought process…:smiley:

Most of them evade tax and use illegal routes to get their products here.