Hi People. Please help me understand something about PEV. The government has been trying to re-settle the victims for many years by searching for land. My question is: why aren’t they being re-settled on their land before they were evicted? Does it mean they were squatters to begin with? or have the aggressors acquired it & are recognized by the law? Or the government cannot guarantee the returnees security? Kindly explain to me.
Somehow the land from which they were evicted is occupied. So far only one guy managed to have his land back after a long court battle with some senior government official.
Otherwise @Wakanyama can shed some light on this issue.
Nobody answered that question because resettling the PEV victims was another cash cow…both for those in charge of the exercise and the nomadic “victims”
Let me pre-empt the usual
Raila.
Eldoret is a town so just like Nairobi city it has millions of residents but FEW land owners the same applies to Naivasha.So most IDPs except from Burnt forest were tenants.
Kaa ngumu hadi upewe shamba na serikali ingawa hukuwa na shamba anywhere previously.
Kuna wale waliprefer kukula kwao rather that resettling where your immediate neighbour slashed and looted your life.
Good logic man but in Kenya, anything good is bad for the “people”
I know someone who got dramatically rich through the relocations, moved his family from town to the camps to pose as victims.
Actually, this is a genuine question, the answer to which most Jubilee supporters do not like to hear.
Here’s what happened.
-
80 per cent of IDPs were actually small-scale traders who were renting. They did not have land. By becoming IDPs, they got an opportunity to own land and decided to move from the volatile North Rift.
-
Of the 20 per cent that owned land, the overwhelming majority got their land back, BUT because they had experienced repeated cycles of political violence, went back and sold it. Then they posed as IDPs and got more money/land as compensation and bought land elsewhere in Central and Nairobi. If you remember, land prices in Nairobi and Central Kenya exploded when these ‘IDPs’ started buying land. In Ndeiya, a well-placed acre of land went up from Sh200,000 to Sh600,000 overnight.
So in short, in true Kenyan style, most IDPs took advantage of their situation to make a killing, which is why the government would empty one camp and the following week the same camp would be full of other IDPs. Some buggers like one Kariuki even became mirrionaires in the fraud.
And that’s even before you got to the gava bigwigs…
True, @Riva!
hawakuwa na land anywhere,walikula mali ya bure,meffi hao
He he he, unaita ndugu zako meffi?
tukubali tuu wakale walifukuzaa wasapere na wakawaambia wasionekane tena huko kwa zile villages walikuwa wanaita small kiambu , nyeri . wakale hawapendi wasap thats a fact .
Look… Behold here are the true [ATTACH=full]62103[/ATTACH]
Tribalists and myopic Kenyans
Who are you refering to?
NV, very important question.
The pain my wife’s family went through during PEV made me almost lose my mind.
People got ruthlessly uprooted from where they were born and a home was turned into a field.
Luckily the land remains theirs and there was intervention before things turned fatal.
I took her back there after four years to see a bush thriving where she grew up.
May Kenya never go back there.
Na mtu akichochea vita yeye ni meffi… Brarre fwakkin sieet ya ukweli.
hakuna vile mutaiba shamba muwache locals landless
Quadrey saa zingine wewe huniangusha sanaaa…
Diep.
heheheh pole , during the violence i was in Mumias and we used to go to bars to drink free beer (nilikuwa nalewa from monday to sunday since hatukuwa tunaenda job ) since the bars were being looted na the owners had rushed to Bungoma which is near and peacefull (wabukusu hatunanga hio violence , infact wajaluo na wakale walijaribu kuleta violence walinyoroshwa wakatulia ) unlike kakamega . Hao wa Wanga bana walikuwa na Hasira they practically torched all kikuyu businesses and houses .
mtu aanzishe thread ya 2007 post election violence experiences muone zile hekaya tuko nazo