Post 8/8 Preparations

Guantanamo bay maybe.

Traditional hotspots za election violence will be peaceful. Eldoret, Kuresoi, Turbo, molo, nakuru etc all will be well. Where we’re sure will burn are Kondele, kibira, mathare valley, chemelil, kilifi and maybe cherengany. But it’s important to note that it wouldn’t be burning as such but will be more of venting after a loss. Police will easily handle the chaos

Jubilee is preaching peace every chance they get. Even ending any speech with either Mungu awabariki,Mungu awalinde Mungu aibariki Kenya or God Bless You God Bless Kenya.

It has caught anaswa off-guard. The copycats don’t know what to say since they know 10 million strong is another term for violence. But I heard that they are improving and in between their hekayas n stupid dances,Kuna msemo Kama…hatutaki vuuuujo(funjo). Their goose is cooked.

have your Kisokorokwinyo free up her diary (and menses too :D) for the week following 8/8

Whatever the case let peace prevail

Nairobi CBD kata nuka, there will be demonstrations. Nation Center and Standard, wish these media offices zinge kua mbali na CBD

is it illegal to pwn a machette like this?
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRgBKUNhsZjjZmyTI6O28l5xrmeqSX650_c0PiYW3yx6ON8oDUZeA

And some kilunda
[ATTACH=full]103959[/ATTACH]

Standard complex iko way out on Mombasa Road.

Why would I need condoms if am holed up in my own home?

Ctrl c Ctrl v Effective on 11 July 2016 the amendment on Annex 7 changes the period of validity of the International Certificate of Yellow Fever Vaccine and the vaccine protection from ten (10) years to the life of the person (traveller) vaccinated, effective on both existing or new certificates. Revaccination or booster dosage cannot be required of the international travellers as condition of entry into a State Party, regardless of the date their international certificate of vaccination was initially issued.

[ol]
[li]A stranger may come looking for accommodation.[/li][li]The shop that sells pills may be vandalized[/li][/ol]

PEV 2008 a chick from Huruma a former colleague in college came to seek shelter in our home. Their parents had divided their children to their kin around Central. She went there and found others from Easteland had already camped at the homestead . She dialled the only number she knew of someone else in the area (read me) and that’s how we came to host her. I wouldn’t like another Pev to happen though

Hii hekaya haijaisha. Continue.

Rwanda is a whole different ball game my fren. Kagame ni ka saitan na si kidogo. Maisha ya mwarendese ni kama anaishi kwa matchbox

Lakini niwaulize, how do you expect there not to be any issues while you try very hard to ignore the underlying problems instead of facing them and solving them?

Did Rwanda and SA get over their issues by burying them and hoping for the best?

Shida number one ni yule jamaa anapendA watu wake wakiwa maskini

Hao wengine wenye hawapendi umaskini, wameinua wakenya tangu waingie serikalini, ama wamewarudisha chini zaidi hata kuliko Moi?

yes, I think life has generally improved. The interest rates cap is by and large a positive move and creation of jobs for the youth and women. so its a resounding YES!

True, by the way, and I do apologise. At least they are creating jobs…

[ATTACH=full]104036[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=6]Eveready finally shuts down due to heavy assault from cheap batteries[/SIZE]
Battery maker Eveready East Africa has closed down its dry cell plant in Nakuru after grappling with unrelenting competition from low-cost imports.

[I]https://www-nation-co-ke.cdn.ampproject.org/ii/w680/www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/2468984/medRes/840185/-/3rnedrz/-/DNNakuruEveready2305b.jpg
Battery maker Eveready East Africa will start selling off its factory equipment after getting approval from shareholders. PHOTO | SULEIMAN MBATIAH | NATION MEDIA GROUP

By RAMENYA GIBENDI

More by this Author

IN SUMMARY

[/I]

[LIST][li][SIZE=3]It will now import batteries from its affiliate in Egypt to sell locally.[/SIZE][/ul][/li][ul][li][SIZE=3]The closure is part of a five-year strategic plan meant to see the firm change its business model from manufacturing to a more commercial-oriented outfit that will still ride on the Eveready brand.[/SIZE][/ul][/li][ul][li][SIZE=3]Mr Mutua said the plan to import batteries from Energizer Egypt would cut costs of running the Nakuru factory and boost the firm’s competitiveness in terms of pricing.[/SIZE][/ul][/li][ul][li][SIZE=3]Its 20-acre plot will be used for a real estate development projected to be implemented by its subsidiary Flamingo (K) Limited.[/SIZE][/ul]
[/li][/LIST]

[SIZE=4]Hundreds to lose jobs as Sameer Africa shuts tyre factory[/SIZE]
By Dominic Omondi | Friday, Sep 2nd 2016 at 00:00

Share this story:

[I]Sameer Africa Chairman Erastus Mwongera (left) and Managing Director Allan Walmsley peruse through the group’s 2015 annual report during the firm’s AGM recently. [Photo: Wilberforce Okwiri/Standard]
https://www-standardmedia-co-ke.cdn.ampproject.org/ii/w680/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/images/thursday/zwpgvsjmb5bm57c8740a577c9.jpg
Sameer Africa Ltd, the makers of Yana tyres, is shutting down its Nairobi plant and sending home hundreds of workers. The manufacturer will from September 30 stop production of Yana brand tyres and allied products at the Sameer Africa factory in Nairobi in what is a big blow to Kenya’s efforts to boost its under-performing manufacturing sector.

Cheap imported tyres from China and India have heavily eaten into Yana tyres’ market share, leaving it will with little option but close shop. The manufacture will instead shift its production base to China and India as it seeks to navigate the country’s high cost of production.
[/I]

[SIZE=6]Cadbury to shut Nairobi factory at end of month[/SIZE]

http://mobile.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/2471892/medRes/841878/-/k4dwlv/-/bd-Cadbury1.jpg?format=xhtml
Cadbury Kenya has announced its intention to close down its manufacturing plant in Nairobi this month, in what it termed as part of a global transformation strategy to reinvent its supply chain. FILE PHOTO
http://mobile.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/2471922/medRes/563794/-/ujml49/-/JOHN+NJIRU.jpg?format=xhtml
[SIZE=4]By John Njiru[/SIZE]
More by this Author
[SIZE=3]IN SUMMARY[/SIZE]
[li]The company said it would cease all manufacturing operations in Kenya by the end of this month and only retain the marketing and distribution functions of the business.[/li][li]Its exit means that about 400 people will have lost their jobs in a week, factoring in the 99 employees of Eveready whose services have been terminated.[/li][li]“The decision has been taken after careful consideration and extensive due diligence, and allows Cadbury Kenya to invest in creating a more commercially focused business in East Africa, with Kenya as its hub,” said Ms Navisha Bechan-Sewkuran, the firm’s corporate and government affairs lead for Southern, Central and Eastern Africa.[/li][/ul]

[SIZE=6]Tata Chemicals to lay off 200 employees in Kenyan soda ash plant[/SIZE]
Heavy debt, high energy costs force Tata Chemicals to mothball plant

Pranav Nambiar
[I]https://www-livemint-com.cdn.ampproject.org/ii/w680/www.livemint.com/rf/Image-621x414/LiveMint/Period1/2014/07/16/Photos/tatachemfile--621x414.jpg
File photo of a Tata Chemicals plant. In 2013-14, the firm had reported a consolidated net loss of Rs.1,032 crore. Photo: Mint
New Delhi: Heavy debt and high energy costs have forced the world’s second-largest soda ash maker Tata Chemicals Ltd (TCL) to mothball its loss-making premium soda ash plant at Magadi in Kenya. This will lead to 200 employees being laid off, the company said in a recent analyst call.

Mothballing refers to the preservation of a facility without using it for production, for possible restoration when conditions improve. Production at the standard ash plant in Magadi, though, will continue.
[/I]

According to KNBS, there are 2.2 million examples of how your leaders have created jobs for Kenyans. Even the online workers are finding it very easy to get jobs.

Also, life has generally improved…

[SIZE=4]Who’s inflating prices of milk?[/SIZE]
By Moses Michira | Wednesday, May 3rd 2017 at 22:28

Share this story:

[I]Milk on display at a supermarket. Photo: Titus Munala,Standard
https://www-standardmedia-co-ke.cdn.ampproject.org/ii/w680/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/images/wednesday/fqnsfkp7hydczc6kx590a2f34065c3.jpg
Milk prices hit a new high this week with a half-litre pouch retailing at Sh70, raising new concerns of super profits by processors.

A top retailer says processors are earning twice as much as farmers in April when prices were lower.

Two of the biggest processing firms have blamed the price hike on short supply, a claim bitterly contested by dairy farmers.

“These companies are benefiting at the expense of farmers and consumers,” said Joshua Bungei, the chief executive of a network of farmers known as Lelbren.[/I]

[SIZE=6]Kenya: Millers Say No Unga Price Relief Until July[/SIZE]
Tagged:
[li]Agribusiness[/li][li]Business[/li][li]East Africa[/li][li]Kenya[/li][/ul]

Tweet
The Nation
Farmers weigh maize at a National Cereals and Produce Board depot in Elburgon, Molo. Millers say they are running out of stock (file photo).
By Gerald Andae
Maize flour (unga) prices are unlikely to come down until July when the stock of grain available locally is expected to meet the country’s needs, millers said, setting up consumers for two and half more months of pain at the shop.

Industry lobby, the Cereal Millers Association (CMA), said in a statement that the steep rise in the staple’s prices is the result of a severe scarcity that is unlikely to be resolved until enough imported stocks land in the country.

The CMA said the consignment of maize expected to land in Mombasa today is not sufficient to stop ongoing price inflation.

[SIZE=6]Petrol and kerosene prices go up[/SIZE]
May. 15, 2017, 1:00 am
By CYNTHIA ILAKO @ladykanyali
A shell petrol attendance fuel a car in Nairobi on June 16,2016. Photo/Enos Teche.
[li]FACEBOOK[/li][/ul]

[SIZE=6]Traders in Kenya feel the pinch as commodity prices rise[/SIZE]
April 7, 2017 Agri-Economics, Finance, Latest News

Kenyan traders are feeling the pinch of rising commodity prices as consumers keep off a number of basic goods, which are slowly becoming a luxury.

From food to clothes to fuel, prices of most basic items have hit an all-time high pushing thousands of families to the edge.

The cost of maize flour, for instance, stands at a record high of 1.5 U.S. dollars for a 2kg pack, the highest ever in the history of the produce in the country.

On the other hand, a 500ml packet of milk is currently going for 0.6 dollars, a 6 percent rise from a similar period last year.

The price of kerosene has risen by 21 percent to 0.68 dollars a litre, coriander 60 percent to 1.1 dollars for a kilo, sugar 17 percent, potatoes 30 percent, dry maize 30 percent and spinach 30 percent, among others.

Kenyans are very encouraged by such happenings, they are lining up to kiss your leaders’ feet.

So in your opinion all this happened in the course of the last 4.5yrs? Like really? These are the problems the jubilee administration has been trying to solve.

Why haven’t you mentioned the reviving of the webuye paper mills?, the kenyan made automobile, the bringing in of VW and pugot vehicle assembly plants, the effort in reducing the cost of energy by supplementing/adding of new power generating plants…the expansion of the ports.

Your negativity towards Kenya makes you blind to the lovely things that are happening right infront of your eyes!