Poor Customer Reception in Kenya- Is it True?

JKUAT:
I remember that day just like my birthday when I went to apply for a course in the university. The receptionist was busy doing things as I waited. She didn’t even look at me when she said,[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)] “wewe kaa hapo tu, siku itaisha na nitakuacha hapo!” It was painful but I had to humble and look foolish coz they defined it clearly that I need them and not the other way.

[li][SIZE=5][COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]In customer service, who speaks first? The customer or the Service provider?[/SIZE][/li][/ul]

KRA Enquires:

This week I was in a queue waiting to be served at the KRA support centre and something was not right. As much as the guy at the enquires was informed about KRA policies, the guy lacked simple customer service ethics. When the server was down ( I don’t know why this happens all the time in Kenya) the guy was swinging with the chair, chewing gum and responding to questions while busy browsing his phone- no eye contact.

[li][COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)][SIZE=5]What does it cost to inform people that the server is down and walking to the customers to identify their problems? Guys just wait for the server to come back so that they can solve the problem hence entertaining long queues.[/SIZE][/li][li][COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)][SIZE=5][COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)][SIZE=5]Does it mean that the Government and public institutions do not invest in customer service training? [/SIZE][/SIZE][/li][li][COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)][SIZE=5][COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)][SIZE=5]When was the last time you used the suggestion box or called the customer service number to make a complaint?[/SIZE][/SIZE][/li][/ul]

[CENTER][COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)][SIZE=5][COLOR=rgb(65, 168, 95)][SIZE=6] Share Your Experience![/SIZE][/SIZE][/CENTER]

Umenikumbusha a story my old mzee told me one time on a Christmas day.

Mzee was an architect (now retired) and he had a Luo friend who they used to hustle together. For those in this field are aware of many county councils document needed. So they used to struggle together for the documents in those offices.

One time he found the friend employed in one of the office (funny) . Now, you can imagine how my dad was overwhelmed and more than happy. He went with a big smile to great him just to be palm faced with the word " sema chenye kimekuleta mzee". Astonished by that, he thought it was a mistaken identity, the buddy alijifanya hajai muona:D

Hehehe ata jina alisahau, hiyo tone inaweza kufanya uonekane corrupt :D:D:D

I have so many experiences similar to this. You enter an establishment and you get treated like a beggar na kumbe huyo time you are paying to be treated like a beggar.

It is sad, really, that customers sometimes get very nasty experiences at the front office; which actually should be the opposite. i have noticed shida kubwa ni kwamba the customer care job, not being a high paying, is never advertised for competitive recruitment. in the end unakuta the girl/guy at reception in nephew/niece wa HR, MD na wengineo wenye ushawishi mkubwa and she would rather be doing something else…such as nodding to the music flowing into her head through the earphones…

Work quality in Kenya is very poor, extremely below standard. Visit the middle East and Asia, not India, and see how those Thai, Filipinos have customer service in restaurants and hotels .

Every worker in Kenya needs some attitude adjustment. They’re soo entitled, always thinking they’re overworked and underpaid.
In other countries, especially Asian, one person can easily do the same job that would take 5 Kenyans, for half the pay. Mtu ana cabro pave barabara mzima peke yake, jioni anachukua rwabe yake na anakuambia asante mara thao, alafu anaenda nyumbani akismile.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPNyH5mYLO0

Bado sijapatana na ya headphones, but am sure it exists in Kenya

Thats a nice clip. Watu wangekuwa wakituserve na hiyo passion I believe tutapunguza magonjwa mengi Kenya.

I have had it easy in many government and public establishments im favored that’s what I think… So one time we were in Westlands (my dad and I) we needed a couple signatures and documents at the chiefs office… The chief was like Oooh this is not the right time I’m busy… Mind you he was just seated doing nothing alone in the office. Dad has zero chills akamwambia najua unataka kitu kidogo. Ungesema mapema uache story mingi…
Chief alisema hachukuangi hongo:D:D
My dad was like, hata sikuwa nakupea. I dont do things like that and we lefted

In Kenya because of the economic system of capitalism which is really exploitative and has slavery tendencies the junior employees are not appreciated and consequently are not well renumerated. The motivation is low the energy is low.
“They pretend to pay us, we pretend to work.”
It’s all in Human Resource Management course…3rd year manenos

10yrs ago i was also a junior employee na sikua na hii maneno. I was actually happy to do all the photocopying, typing, and brewing coffee for the big bosses na kuwabebea files tukienda meetings

They were lucky to have you

A few months ago I was lucky to be in a team mandated by our parliament to do some research on all government offices…yaani we covered all ministry hqs, all parastatals and all independent offices in the country and I noted one thing…most parastatals have very good receptionists…they will always almost offer you something to drink on arrival…energy sector and tourism ones were the best. Independent offices are great…some had a culture that is so alien to kenya…you dig deeper and you realise they hired only the best, no noticeable tribalism or nepotism and a number of employees have had exposure to other environments,yaani worked in other countries for a while…
Lakini enda mahali kama immigration,land ama some ministries I won’t mention and you are quickly reminded you are back in kenya…‘hautanifundisha kufanya kazi’ is a common retort

Now I understand, ministries zinakamua wakenya zinahitaji vichwa ngumu! Ministries that serve the common mwananchi are prone to poor customer services.