planned internet censorship in Kenya

I came across this article…why it’s not trending in the tech community

http://www.cio.co.ke/news/main-stories/ca-boss-wangusi-cautions-website-owners-disseminating-adult-content

Watu wa “ngwati” be very afraid…
The essence of the internet is that it is free …it starts as blocking adult content , then they will say terrorism related material , then "anti government " etc etc before you know it Twitter will be blocked for national security purposes eg in Thailand
We are going down a slipery slope Wangusi hear is testing the waters to see how far he can …porn is always a low lying fruit…no one can admit he watches it publicly and if it for protecting our children kudos …good work …but then once you give an inch they will take a mile

@admin take not @webdev and @highschooler my tech people how can this be done …do we have only one gateway…
Watu wa torrents they will come for you next

BE VERY AFRAID

What the fuck. But they would rather not touch the youth(consumers) and their votes. That’s the difference.

The threat to freedom of expression is very real …you have alm seen the numerous law suits against alai and nyakundi on charges of “causing personal annoyance by a telecom channel” laugh now but this it the biggest threat to democracy as we know it …by next year it will be impossible to criticize anyone in a position of authority…look at what the Good Governor of Machakos has worked his county folks against discussing him on whatssup
[ATTACH=full]25022[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]25023[/ATTACH]

The time is now rise up on your social media and fight against this stupid laws…your tweets count …you may hate Alai but tommorow Safaricom will be taking you to court against something you said about Bob

but i agree with you @msalame grace . This is turning into a dictatorship. Its most visible signature is censorship of communication.
I saw this shit becoming real when that student was jailed for saying something quite moderate. During Kibaki’s time nobody would have bothered.
I also expect that the government will want to stay in power for the next term by any means. probably a plan for the next few decades.

People should ask themselves. Why is the government concerned with jailing people who say offensive things(quite a minor offense) than any other people. But when the leader of opposition, and a very significant opposition for that matter, is threatened with jail, be sure somethings cooking.

I would also like to advise people. Dont mention names!!! Talk shit but dont mention names!!!
If you ever listened to politicians and lawyers, they dont mention names at all. The thing is that the libel and defamation suits require a name to have been mentioned.
ndio unaskianga mtu wa nusu mikate na watu wa mashamba.

idiota gorvenment…:mad: :mad:

@admin should give an oath here that he/she would never divulge user info to the authorities…YES…if you think you can hide behind a fancy username name and fake gmail address…and now you anonymous…WELL you are being NAIVE …you will be tracked down to the exact phone model you are using and 100 meters of your exact location…and all other devices you used to access this site…
so @admin Uko na homework Hapa

And if you are also ignorant about technology. Your pseudonym here is a very thin veil. The police can have you in the cooler by tomorrow if they wanted. @admin can hardly protect himself so he isnt a very good fallback.

Social media made it possible for people to revolt against the strong men of Africa Ben Ali of Tunisia, The Mubaraks of Egypt ,Ghadaffi of Libya …the bring down the fees protests in SA…black lives matter in US …all this made possible because of social media…our local example is the Guru of devolution(do you think she would hv quit I’d it was not for the sustained pressure )and now Eurobond is on the news everyday bacause of Social Media…everyone knows it’s power and what destruction it can do

True they say mtu wa Mkate nusu…Arap mashamba etc etc and we cheer and laugh

If they can get hold of social media and television broadcasters, be sure its a dictatorship. Those two are a stumbling block to an indefinite hold on power.

alarmist everywhere.
if muthama can abuse the country’d ceo on national karabisheni who are we not to?

you see they will first pick on one to set an example.

@admin is powerless…Cyber crime bill passed in 2014

PART V—PROCEDURES AND INVESTIGATIONS
Powers of access,
search and
seizure
24. (1) Where a court is satisfied on the basis of an
application by a Police officer or lawful authority supported by
information on oath that there are reasonable grounds to believe
that there may be in a place a thing or computer data—
(a) that may be material as evidence in proving an offence; or
(b) that has been acquired by a person as a result of an offence.
(2)On the basis of an application made under subsection (1), the
court may issue a warrant authorizing a police Officer or lawful
authority, to enter any premises to access, search and seize the
thing or computer data including—
(i) a computer system or part of it and computer data stored
therein; and
(ii) a computer-data storage medium in which computer data may
be stored in the territory of the country.
(3) Where a police officer or lawful authority acting under a
warrant issued under subsection (2) has grounds to believe that
the data sought is stored in another computer system or part of it
in its territory, and such data is lawfully accessible from or
available to the initial system, the police officer or lawful
authority must expeditiously extend the search or access to the
other system.
(4) A Police Officer or lawful authority undertaking a search
under this section is empowered to seize or secure data
accessed.

And the example will not be a wealthy politician it will be a mwananchi wa kawaida …thut guy wadi was wa test case when we didn’t complain Sasa imekuwa ni kawaida

Wangusi has failed Kenyans. He cannot rein in on telcom and other technology or broadcast service providers who constantly fleece Kenyans.

There is a thin line between excising one’s freedom of expression and slandering, that is the line that should be taken care by legislation. We can not allow our cyber space to be a ‘wild wild west’ where by your business adversary or whoever throws a few cents at the so called big wig scums (nyakundis and alais) and then they post a false wild alarmist allegations on your business and before you know it KOT in their classic herd mentality take it up retweet and tweet about it, it trends, and as they say if you repeat a lie often enough it becomes the truth, ultimately your business suffers an irrecoverable damage. This should not be allowed to happen.

Alarmists all over. The existence of a law doesn’t mean you will be fall victim to it unless of course you go ahead and perpetrate the crime.