I can afford to eat what I want; ALLAH’s providence that I cannot take it for granted.
Sometimes people like me don’t see issues that really do matter. This is succumbing to human weakness. Issues that affect a large proportion of Kenyans.
A couple of months ago, a bale of corn flour went for 890shs. Since last month, it now sets the shopkeeper back Ksh. 1,500. This high cost has justifiably been passed on to the mwananchi. The cheapest kg of Unga is now 85shs, and on the rise.
When I saw two young people on the posters back in '13, I saw promise and capability. What else, while I had been blinded to believe that 50 is young & youth? They had swag and their tongues knew nothing but sweet words …in retrospect, those must have been fangs of the proverbial deceptive serpent.
In the lessons I have learnt in this mess of a term is that, young people or any pretender to youthfulness should not be given a leadership position. Kenya is safer and better with older people. Heck, Moi should run with Kibaki as the running mate to fix this mess. A kg of cornflour will tip over a liter of petrol in 2 weeks; now they are at par
Seems you only have political opinions more than even clue about climate change. We are currently experiencing drought and price of food will still go higher.
What you should be asking is the integrity of the government when it comes to such situations - food security. In the modern times we shouldn’t be experiencing shortage of water leave alone food. What we have improved on is just drilling boreholes but what of large pastoral communities?
Our kenyan Universities should be researching on more of sustainability projects and government should be funding the shit and not waiting for white man to sell his technology to cultivate the savanna. Maybe even petty solutions like how to construct dams for flood water collection etc should be exhausted first.
Its sad that when rains come, we will forget and act like it’s normal while those problems have been experienced from the first government to the current.
Farmers are crying they want their maize to be bought at higher prices, consumers are crying they want the price of processed flour to go down. jameni mnataka tufanye nini?
PS. in my hood, a woman who was selling boiled maize at the street corner stopped and now sells samosa. I asked why she stopped selling maize she said their is a shortage of green maize and prices are high in the market.