Paul Kobia & Steve Mbogo, the game of gold where Kshs. 100 million is peanuts. A Standard Exclusive.

[SIZE=7]The Game of Gold: Where anything below Sh100 million is left for lowlifes[/SIZE]
The Nairobian By David Odongo 4 days ago
Share this Story
[li]Share on Facebook[/li][li]Share on Twitter[/li][li]Share on Google Plus[/li][li]Share on Telegram[/li][li]Share on Whatsapp[/li][/ul]
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/saturday/dabqprkdijcbifw8s5c8cc155340a0.jpg[Photo: Courtesy]
On July 30, 2018, at 11:14 am, a middle-aged man stood In the dock before chief magistrate Francis Andayi at the Milimani Law Courts.
The accused wore a crisp dark designer suit, sharply contrasted by a white shirt. A heavy gold watch gleamed from his left hand. His face was composed and not moved by the prosecution’s attempt to have the court deny him bail.

Roy Shirekuli was one of the five people accused of defrauding a Brazilian national of Sh23 million in a fake gold deal. He denied the charges.
Police said Shirekuli conspired with four others; Philip Aroko, lawyer Munzala Rumili, Sikanda Abdala Saleh, and Ugandan national Kayombya Gorman alias Timothy Mureithi, to defraud Brazillian Samir Entorno at their company Avaals Metals offices between May 15 and June 9, 2018.
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/saturday/xibs0wnihgp7z1dwf5c8cc1b49fe1e.jpgGold [Photo: Courtesy]
In a sworn affidavit, DCI detective Gerald Kamwaro stated that Aroko and Ismael were habitual offenders who had several active cases in Kibera Law Courts and Milimani Law Courts respectively. They were each released on Sh500,000 cash bail which they paid on the spot.
In an investigation that has taken months, The Nairobian looks into ‘the game of gold’, and some of those police accuse of being active participants. According to police, it’s the biggest fraud, where anything below Sh100 million is left for lowlifes.
The Nairobian sought Steve Mbogo, the man who unsuccessfully sought the Starehe Constituency seat on an ODM ticket in 2018. Mbogo’s name keeps popping up whenever gold is mentioned and is known to portray himself as a successful businessman with interests in aviation.

I met him at a city hotel for this interview.
I am a legit businessman. You can visit my office and my accountant will show how I make my money,” he told me when I asked about how he made his money.
Mbogo has a few alleged fraud cases pending in court, the latest being January 23, when he was charged before Milimani senior principal magistrate Peter Ooko of defrauding Sayeed Mohammed Altaf of Sh100 million.
The office he speaks of, which I visited, is a double room affair in Westlands. He prefers to meet people in the restaurant in the same office block.
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/saturday/uvokto6qpori5c8cc2209b6b2.jpgMbogo [Photo: Courtesy]
On March 3, 2011, then Congolese President Joseph Kabila came to Nairobi and held a one-hour closed-door meeting with President Mwai Kibaki. This was a trip he had to make in person because Sh8 billion was at stake.
Kabila’s mission was to recover 400 kilos of gold he claimed was stolen from him by Kenyan businessman Paul Kobia, accusations the latter vehemently denied.
The Congolese president had presented a 392-page report, drafted by United Nations investigators, fingering Kobia as the mastermind of the gold heist.

Kibaki ordered police and the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) to constitute a team to probe the matter. The team led by Joseph Cheptarus, then KRA’s Assistant Commissioner for Investigations and Enforcement, raided Kobia’s warehouse at the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) but found no gold.
Less than 24 hours after the raid, Cheptarus was accosted by four gunmen outside his South C home at around 1 am and shot dead in February 2011.
That was after the killers had taken the guards hostage and for three hours, ushered in motorists into the estate, pretending to be the watchmen while waiting for Cheptarus. He was shot four times at close range.
Official records from Ministry of Mining released a report which disputed Kabila’s claims that his gold had been stolen by Kobia and exported through Kenya.
This year, on January 18, I met Kobia for the second time. The first time I met him was on August 14, 2013, also for an interview.
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/saturday/tanapglilotu65c8cc255d2c8a.jpgPaul Kobia [Photo: Elvis Ogina]
I sat in the well-manicured backyard of his seven-bedroom Riverside Drive office, sandwiched between two palatial homes housing diplomatic missions. He surprisingly remembered me and dismissed my question whether he stole Kabila’s gold.
He is dressed in a pinstriped, blue suit and his tie is perfectly knotted below his neck, even though it is 10:15 in the night.
“I didn’t steal Kabila’s gold. I got the gold from that man’s gold mine,” he said, pointing at a frail old man wearing a Muslim cap. The old man joined our table and introduced himself as Ettiene from Congo. He harbours, presidential ambitions, he told me.
Something unusual then happened. One of his guys informed him that a group of white investors he had been expecting were at the gate.
He talked into a walkie talkie and barked: “Command centre, hello! Bring the guests here, na wawache simu na takataka yote huko nje. Over!” A cackled reply then came through, “Received, over and out.”
Seconds later, the guests trooped to the backyard. Their phones had been confiscated at the gate.
As they held their meeting, and I sat on a verandah watching them and within earshot. At one point, Kobia stood up and answered his phone. ‘The President,’ he said as he pointed to the phone. His guests leave the table to give him some privacy. The phone call lasted less than a minute, during which time he punctuated his response with, ‘Yes Your Excellency, I will do so, Your Excellency, Consider it done Your Excellency”.
He came back to the table and meeting continued for a while. “Take my guests back to their hotel,” he instructs one of his aides.

too long

i thought money buys looks…[ATTACH=full]230221[/ATTACH]

Masters of exageration to dupe potential victims…

[SIZE=7]I am not showy, I am a billionaire - Steve Mbogo[/SIZE]
The Nairobian By Nairobian reporter 1 year ago
Share this Story
[li]Share on Facebook[/li][li]Share on Twitter[/li][li]Share on Google Plus[/li][li]Share on Telegram[/li][li]Share on Whatsapp[/li][/ul]
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/thursday/gpc5vqlobcza5a323b492abd0.jpgMy house in Karen sits on five acres
The difference between old and new money usually has nothing to do with cash, but rather how money makes people behave.
Well, how they spend it also tells a lot about their class.

Steve Mbogo laughs at such description, arguing that, “I don’t like the term ‘new money’ being used in reference to myself.”
He says that “Steve Mbogo and money have been best friends for more than a decade. I made my first million at 18 years, selling scrap metal.

By 22, I had bought my own house and was driving the first AMG Mercedes Benz S class in Kenya.”
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/thursday/ijsnuxuvexedurafuxu5a32400d19038.jpg
Mbogo caused an online frenzy when he once claimed to have spent Sh40 million in a single weekend watching Formula One in Dubai.

“I am not showy…” he continues, “I just live life to the fullest. What is wrong with working hard, and having the best things in life?” he asks while reclining on the lounge of an upmarket hotel where we met, a shisha pipe in one hand and an iPhone in the other.
In Dubai, Mbogo reportedly spent the money on hiring a yacht and partying. Hiring a yacht ranges from Sh27, 000 an hour for a 12-capacity boat to Sh100,000 an hour for a 40-guest vessel.
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/thursday/ybsj47bs2gnwtgdml5a32407353904.jpg
“Yes, I did spend that amount. Getting the correct business networks is an expensive affair. I can’t sit in a kibanda in Westlands and expect to meet a someone who will help me make Sh20 million profit from a business deal,” says Mbogo, whose riches have been put under scrutiny with some quarters making wild allegations concerning his actual source of wealth.
“I own an aviation company with 16 planes. I do commodities trading and I am in real estate.
I also have two mining concessions in Kenya, one in DRC and another in Tanzania,” he says. But when pressed about the name of the aviation company, or the commodities he trades in, Mbogo says, that he “can’t reveal since his partners are uncomfortable with publicity.”
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/thursday/czsxqkduhy8s2c8sj5a3241b24b934.jpg

Our interview with Mbogo is perpetually interrupted by people coming to see him and phone calls. He answers questions in between the interview, as he enjoys his shisha and blows smoke in the air.
“This is the only vice I indulge in. I don’t drink alcohol, but I do know how to throw a party,” he says.
Mbogo laughs off claims that he pays Sh350, 000 in rent.
“My house in Karen sits on five acres. Where in Nairobi can you rent a house sitting on five acres for such a small amount? I bought the house two years ago for Sh500 million,” he says as he crosses his leg over a knee and reveal black leather shoes.
“My shoes are Louis Vuitton. I bought them for $2,000 (Sh200, 000),” he offers.
He casually adds that the most expensive gift he has ever bought for someone was a Sh30 million house he gifted one of his girlfriends for her birthday.
But large scale gold selling and buying website, Zengold.com, claims Mbogo is a gold scammer, who cons foreigners, while enjoying protection from authorities.
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/thursday/hybavgpatyla25a324240887b0.jpg
One Asian businessman, H Lee, claims on Zengold that he and his associates lost “over $1,000,000 (Sh100 million) to him and his associates trying to do legitimate gold deals. All beware.”
Unfazed by these allegations, Mbogo told The Nairobian that, “People write all kinds of things online. Why do they do it anonymously? If I have ever conned someone, why can’t they come out, go to the police and have me arrested and arraigned in court?”
Mbogo, who claims to hold a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Cairo University School of Business says he makes his money from several businesses, but refused to divulge their names, citing privacy concerns by his partners.
“I can’t tell you the names of my companies because I have partnered with others, and we have a clause on publicity regarding the company.
https://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/thursday/hczml5j9lwt10w6yfu5a3244704d01e.jpg
I may be in the (news) papers in my personal capacity, but not the companies’” which he claims have employed more than 3,000 people and not just in Kenya.
The Nairobian could not verify with Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) why Mbogo is not in the large taxpayers’ list though.
Mbogo however claims that his company only employs 300 locals with and the rest are spread all over the world.
Though he insists that he graduated in 2012 with a Masters of Business Administration from the University of South Australia, his name was conspicuously missing from the university’s 2012 graduands’ list.
He claims that his net worth is way above a billion shillings, and that he can account for every single shilling he has ever earned.
“If you have time, I can sit you down with my accountant and you can trace how I made my money, from 10 years ago,” he offered.
Mbogo says he is the ultimate Mercedes Benz collector. “I have four Benzes; the oldest is a two-year old E class.
I have three Land Cruisers VX… a Rolls Royce Phantom is the pride of my car collection,” he says animatedly, before showing me a photo on his phone of a Mercedes S500 that reportedly cost him Sh13 million.

it would have been a bad choice to send such a man kwa bunge.and he was very close to achieving that.starehe tumeshabwa tunaomba Bonface aingilie kati

Oh he’ll get there alright. Kenyans are impressed by money, the show of wealth.

In the other kobia thread, Kobia says he knew Sonko when they were both hustlers na si Sonko mwishowe alifika?

Babu Owino si pia amefika? And that MP for Mathare. And Kabogo. So mpatie Mbogo time awadanganye vilivyo mwuingie box.

In fact kukuwa a Kenyan leader na hauna Prado kadhaa, Mercedes, helicopters utakuwa umejaribu sana.

We wered wowed by Uhuru in 2017 with his msafara of prados. That’s what impresses the Kenyan voter.

Watu wancheza na kifo.

Enda Facebook ama Twitter basi

Kwani he’s not handsome enough for you?

so sisi wa thirdwayalliance ni kura tutapoza ama?

mzae umeamua ni sweeps tu…:smiley:

Wewe simama mwenyewe kama unataka kuchange Kenya na sio wizi unataka. Hata thirdway ni wezi tu. Didn’t you see Aukot trying tu pita kati kati at Bomas in 2017?

So hungry and thirsty hoping Rao or Uhuru will love him. Leo anasema the election had problems kesho anasema election was free and fair… funny chap.

Alilengwa na wote and back he went to his NGO cocoon of sucking white man penis for $$$

Sasa unateta nini na wewe ni wakili… kwani hizo ma-mavi-dafits na other legal reference materials haziwangi 100.000 pages plus long documents :smiley:

haukuambiwa na mamako usome NKT

:D:D:D:D wakili wa ruto

ngombe hii

Wa Ruto ndo nini… Mike Mbuzi ka wewe :smiley:

pesa muhimu nugu hii:D:D

Sawa mwizi wa mali ya uma