I decided to outsource some work to a family member who has started this company that is in line with what I needed done and seemed hungry.
I explained very clearly what I wanted and how much the payment would be.
They presented something that was waaaaaaay below what I wanted and asked for changes to be done. What was done was so miniscule mpaka nikashangaa WTH!!! Keep on saying this can’t be done because of this, can’t be done because of that oooooh mara that is impossible to do within that budget I need to add more cash for it to be done. Some things are common sense but they have been skipped too.
Wondering do I even pay, and what am I paying for really, or should I just pay because its family and never touch them with a 10 foot pole again because that work will have to be done again.
I keep on getting hussled to pay and what I need done hasn’t been implemented.
Lesson learnt to never repeat the same mistake
From my own experience
Doing business with family is a bad idea, always remember if you have a business level misunderstanding because one party under delivered, it will always propagate down to a family level misunderstanding.
And then everything else just goes south from there
so you returned cooked mandazis to be redone? ama ni mimi nimeelewa vibaya
you hired family members as academic writers for your uvocorp account
So did you end up paying to maintain relations?
bana alifanya madathi iungue @LowRider dont.do.that
Is there anything you ever understand or you measure up everything with your deek?
NIAJE MTU WA HIGH STANDARDS?
POA SANA, HANA HIGH STANDARDS KWA KAZI JAMENI
No i did not pay, i told him to go jump off a cliff, i wasn’t going to give him preferential treatment because he was a relative, bad feelings or not, its just business, even i have to make a living. but that means i have a some cousins and an uncle whom we don’t see eye to eye. (and the hate started propagating and becoming a family Feud)
What i can tell you is, is you decide to dig in and not pay be ready to hear things like, anaringa na magari kubwa kumbe hana pesa ya kilipa akifanyiwa kazi. because when they are telling the story to any busy body with free time, they will never ever acknowledge that they did a shoddy job, its always going to be “I did some work for XYZ na hajawai lipa”, and i tell them i had to get someone else to re-do it from scratch and i have supporting documents and contracts
Pro tip for those starting out. As a young and small company serve and work to delight your customers even if you will have to go an extra mile, that’s how you will get loyalty and referrals from existing customers and nothing is as strong as someone talking about you positively, your customer becomes your ambassador, and that is priceless
What do you @Gio ?
“You can do zilch about it besides ranting”
Thinking the same, its a company expense that will have to be justified and will have hell explaining what I paid for during audit
Sorry I meant to ask what do you do?
in business the easiest part is getting customers, on the other hand, retaining them is the hard part and your success is determined by how many customers your retain because this has a direct impact on your books
Gio… what line are you in ? Niko na cousin hapa nataka afunzwe Kazi, I also want to take him back to school. he did certificate in mechanical engineering so want to upgrade him to diploma, after that ajisort.
ukijibiwa in a definite and not vague manner utueleze pia
Why are people responding so seriously to a ‘problem’ from a formerly fake master chef?
Notice how vague the nature of work is, and also the patchy details of the alleged failure of the said relative.
Halafu, how foolish would one have to be not to have known that blood and serious work do not mix?
I usually avoid doing business with family members because most of the times someone will end up on the losing end, blood isn’t always thicker than water. Despite the best of intentions and the highest of hopes, what starts out as a seemingly “safe,” mutually-beneficial project or interaction can turn into anything from a minor embarrassment to a major nightmare. If things go south, you cannot give them the matching orders because you will be met by the full force of the family.